Symboles Anciens
Symboles Anciens
Symboles Alchimiques
Symboles Celtiques
Nœuds Celtiques
Symboles Chinois
Symboles Chrétiens
Symboles Égyptiens
Symboles de Chance
Symboles Grecs
Symboles Japonais
Symboles Maya
Symboles Amérindiens
Symboles Païens
Symboles Païens
Symboles Religieux
Symboles Romains
Symboles Géométrie Sacrée
Symboles de Force
Images Symboliques
Symboles de Tatouages Symboles Bouddhistes Symboles Irlandais Symboles Hindous Symboles dans l'Histoire Symboles d'Amitié Le Symbole Perdu Symboles de Puissance Symboles des Rêves Symboles d'Étoile Symboles de Maternité

Ressources Liées

Ancient Symbols (English)

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Antike Symbole (Deutsch)

Древние символы (Russian)

古代符号 (Chinese)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

 Symboles Chrétiens et leur Signification

Le symbolisme chrétien investit des objets ou des actions avec un sens profond exprimant des idées Chrétiennes. Le Christianisme a emprunté à la réserve commune de symboles significatifs connus de la plupart des périodes et de toutes les régions du monde. Le symbolisme religieux est efficace quand il en appelle à la fois à l'intellect et aux émotions. Le choix des actes et des objets appropriés pour le symbolisme est tellement étroit qu'il ne serait pas facile d'éviter l'apparition d'une imitation d'autres traditions, même s'il y avait eu une tentative délibérée d'inventer un rituel entièrement nouveau.

Les symboles élémentaux ont été largement utilisés par l'Église primitives. L'eau a une signification symbolique particulière pour les chrétiens. En dehors du baptême, l'eau peut représenter le nettoyage ou la pureté. Le feu, en particulier sous la forme d'une flamme de bougie, représente à la fois le Saint-Esprit et la lumière. Les sources de ces symboles dérivent de la Bible, par exemple à partir des langues de feu qui symbolisent l'Esprit Saint à la Pentecôte, et à partir de la description de Jésus à propos de ses disciples comme étant la lumière du monde, ou Dieu est un feu consumant qu'on trouve dans Hébreux12. La croix, qui est aujourd'hui l'un des symboles les plus largement reconnus dans le monde, a été utilisée comme un symbole depuis les premiers temps.




Parmi les symboles employés par les premiers Chrétiens, celui du poisson semble avoir le premier rang en importance. En effet, à partir de sources monumentales telles que des tombes nous savons que le poisson symbolique était familier aux Chrétiens des premiers temps. On peut le voir dans des monuments romains tels que la Capella Greca et les Chapelles du Sacrement de la catacombe de St Callistus. Le poisson a été désigné comme un symbole Chrétien dans les premières décennies du 2ème siècle.

Les anciens croyaient que la chair d'un paon ne se décomposait pas après la mort, et il est ainsi devenu un symbole d'immortalité. Ce symbolisme a été adopté par les débuts de la Chrétienté, et ainsi de nombreuses peintures et mosaïques du début du Christianisme montrent le paon. Le paon est toujours utilisé lors de la saison de Pâques en particulier à l'Est.

Voici quelques-uns des symboles Chrétiens les plus populaires.


chi-rho.jpg (1134 bytes)Le Chi Rho est l'un des premiers symboles cruciformes utilisés par les Chrétiens. Il est formé en superposant les deux premières lettres du mot "Christ" en Grec, chi = ch et rho = r. Bien que n'étant pas techniquement une croix, le Chi Rho évoque la crucifixion de Jésus et symbolise de même son statut en tant que Christ. La plus ancienne preuve du symbole du Chi Rho est son utilisation par Constantin sur le labarum, le standard impérial, au début du 4ème siècle de notre ère. Lactantius, un apologiste Chrétien du  4ème siècle, rapporte qu'à la veille de la Bataille du Pont Milvius en 312, Constantin eu une vision de Dieu dans laquelle on lui a commandé de marquer le bouclier de ses hommes avec le symbole du Chi Rho. Après le succès de Constantin au pont Milvius, le Chi Rho devint l'insigne impérial officiel. Les archéologues ont découvert une preuve démontrant que le Chi Rho était blasonné sur le casque et le bouclier de Constantin ainsi que sur ceux de ses soldats. Des pièces et des médaillons  frappés durant le règne de Constantin portaient aussi le Chi Rho. En l'an 350 de notre ère, le Chi Rho commença à être utilisé sur les sarcophages et les  fresques Chrétiennes. [A.E.M.] flaming-chalice.jpg (2740 bytes)Le philosophe A.N. Whitehead disait que les vrais symboles ont le pouvoir de changer l'histoire. L'histoire du symbole du calice est significative. Elle commença en représentant le courage religieux de Jan Hus, un prêtre tchèque du 15e siècle, qui fut martyrisé pour avoir offert la communion à ses fidèles au mépris de l'église Romaine, qui réservait le partage du vin uniquement aux prêtres. Il a été brûlé sur le bûcher pour cet acte, et les Unitariens ont aussi une histoire de persécution pour des actes innovants et démocratiques dans la religion.

Bijouterie Chrétienne Liée

Par l'Artiste - David Weiztman et Ka Gold Jewelry
Cliquez sur l'image pour aller au produit
Gods word silver
Vesica Pisces Seed of Life pendant
Article Parole de Dieu
Article Vesica Pisces
Article Graine de Vie



ichthus.jpg (2229 bytes)Ichthus (ikh-thoos) ou ichthys est le mot Grec signifiant simplement “poisson”.
L'orthographe Grecque pour ichthus est -- Iota, Chi, Theta, Upsilon et Sigma. La traduction est IXOYE. Les cinq lettres Grecques représentent les mots signifiant “Jésus Christ, Fil de Dieu, Sauveur”. Le rendu Grec est “Iesous Christos, Theou Uios, Soter”.
Ce symbole a été principalement utilisé parmi les Chrétiens de l'église primitive (1er et 2ème siècle après J.-C.). Le symbole a été introduit à partir d'Alexandrie, en Égypte, qui à l'époque était un port très densément peuplé. C'était le port dans lequel de nombreux biens étaient apportés depuis le continent européen. Pour cette raison, il a été d'abord utilisé par les peuples de la mer comme un symbole d'une divinité familière, dans ce cas, Jésus-Christ.
taucross.jpg (872 bytes)Après sa commission au pied de la Croix Saint-Damien, Saint-François a choisi un symbole plus ancien de la rédemption pour son standard : la croix de Tau.

En commentant les écritures d'Israël, les premiers écrivains Chrétiens utilisèrent sa traduction Grecque, la Septante, dans laquelle la dernière lettre de l'alphabet Hébreu, le tau, a été transcrite par un «T» en Grec. Préfigurée dans la dernière lettre de l'alphabet Hébreu, la croix de Tau stylisée en est alors venue à représenter le moyen par lequel le Christ inversa la désobéissance du vieil Adam et devint notre Sauveur en tant que «Nouvel Adam». 
latin-cross.gif (1018 bytes)La Crois Latine, également connue en tant que Croix Protestante et  Croix Latine Occidentale.
La croix Latine (crux ordinaria) est un symbole de Chrétienté même si elle était utilisée comme un symbole païen pendant des millénaires avant la fondation de l'Église Chrétienne.
Elle a été découverte en Chine et en Afrique. Elle apparaît sur des pierres de l'Âge du Bronze
Scandinaves représentant le marteau de Thor, leur dieu du tonnerre et de la guerre. Elle était considérée comme un symbole magique. Elle portait bonheur et détournait le mal. Certaines personnes interprètent les gravures rupestres de la croix comme un symbole solaire, ou un symbole de la Terre avec ses points représentant le nord, le sud, l'est et l'ouest. D'autres disent qu'elle représente la forme humaine.

lamb-of-god.gif (4924 bytes)Agneau : symbole du Christ en tant qu'Agneau Pascal et aussi symbole pour les Chrétiens (comme le Christ est notre Berger et on a dit à Pierre de nourrir Son mouton). L'agneau est aussi un symbole de Sainte-Agnès (dont la fête est le 21 Janvier), vierge martyre de l'Église primitive.
dove1.gif (5479 bytes)Colombe : symbole du Saint-Esprit et utilisée en particulier dans les représentations du Baptême de notre Seigneur et de la Pentecôte. Elle symbolise également la libération de l'âme dans la mort, et  est utilisée pour rappeler la colombe de Noé, porteuse d'espoir. rose49.jpg (6237 bytes)Rose : la Sainte Foi, Notre-Dame, le martyre, le secret de la pénitence. Cinq roses regroupées ensemble symbolisent les 5 plaies du Christ.
anchor1.gif (2927 bytes)Ancre : trouvée dans le cimetière du premier siècle de Sainte-Domitille, sur les épitaphes des deuxième et troisième siècles des catacombes, et en particulier dans les parties les plus anciennes des cimetières de Sainte Priscilla (environ 70 exemples rien que dans ce cimetière), Domitilla, Calixte et au Coemetarium majus. Voir Hébreux 6:19. jerusalemcross2.jpg (2984 bytes)Croix de Jérusalem : aussi appelée «Croix des Croisés», elle est composée de 5 Croix Grecques qui sont censés symboliser a) les 5 plaies du Christ, et/ou b) les 4 Évangiles et les 4 coins de la terre (les 4 plus petites croix) et le Christ Lui-même (la grande croix). Cette Croix était un symbole commun utilisé pendant les guerres contre l'agression Islamique.
baptism1.gif (2218 bytes)Crois de Baptême : constituée de la Croix Grecque avec la lettre grecque "X", la première initiale du titre de «Christ», cette Croix est un symbole de régénération, d'où son association avec le Baptême
peterscross.gif (984 bytes)Croix de Pierre : car quand Pierre fut martyrisé il choisit d'être crucifié la tête en bas par respect pour le Christ, la Croix Latine à l'envers est devenue son symbole et, par conséquent, un symbole de la papauté. Malheureusement, cette croix a été récupérée par les Satanistes dont le but d'"inverser" le Christianisme (par exemple dans leurs 'Messes' noires) est exprimée en prenant la Croix Latine du Christ et en l'inversant.



CandleLe Feu, en particulier sous la forme de la flamme d'une bougie,  représente à la fois le Saint Esprit et la lumière.
christian crossCroix Chrétienne -

La croix chrétienne, vue comme une représentation de l'instrument de la crucifixion de Jésus-Christ, est le symbole religieux le mieux connu de la Chrétienté. Elle est liée au crucifix (une croix qui comprend une représentation habituellement en trois dimensions du corps de Jésus) et à la famille plus générale des symboles de croix.

Le signe en forme de croix, représenté dans sa forme la plus simple par un croisement de deux lignes à angles droits, est très antérieure, à la fois en Orient et en Occident, à l'introduction du Christianisme. Elle remonte à une époque très reculée de la civilisation humaine. On suppose qu'elle a été utilisée non seulement pour sa valeur ornementale, mais aussi avec une signification religieuse.
La Croix Chrétienne prend de nombreuses formes différentes. Voici quelques-unes des différentes formes de la Croix Chrétienne.

Croix Latine

latin cross

Nouvelle Croix Copte

new coptic cross

crucifixCrucifix - croix avec une représentation du corps de Jésus accroché à elle. Il est principalement utilisé dans les églises Catholiques, Anglicanes, Luthériennes et Orthodoxes Orientales (où la figure est peinte), et il met l'accent sur le sacrifice du Christ - sa mort par crucifixion.

 

 

Croix Patriarcale

Une croix double, avec les deux barres de la croix près du sommet. Celle du haut est plus courte, représentant la plaque clouée à la croix de Jésus.

patriarchal cross

cross crossletCroix Crosslet

Cette croix héraldique est composée de quatre Croix Latines placées à angle droit les unes à côtés des autres, avec leurs sommets pointant au nord, au sud, à l'est et à l'ouest, on pensait traditionnellement qu'elles représentaient le message de la croix allant aux quatre coins de la terre. La Croix Crosslet, comme la Croix de Jérusalem, est un symbole pour l'évangélisation du monde des Évangiles, qui lui donne un autre nom : la Croix-Mission. Une autre interprétation commune est qu'elle représente les quatre évangélistes : Matthieu, Marc, Luc et Jean.

christian trinityLes Anneaux de Borromée représentent la trinité.
Il y a de nombreux symboles de la Trinité dans le Christianisme. Les Anneaux de Borromée sont trois cercles imbriqués qui symbolisent la trinité Chrétienne. Le mot «trinité» vient du nom Latin "trinitas" qui signifie "trois sont un". La trinité représente la croyance que Dieu est un Être composé de trois Personnes distinctes qui existent dans la
communion co-égale et co-éternelle du Père, du Fils et du Saint Esprit.
star of davidÉtoile de David - L'Étoile de David est une étoile à six branches formée de deux triangles entrelacés, l'un pointant vers le haut, l'autre pointant vers le bas. Son nom vient du Roi David et elle apparaît sur le drapeau d'Israël. Bien que principalement reconnue comme un symbole du Judaïsme et d'Israël, de nombreux Chrétiens s'identifient également avec l'Étoile de David.
L'étoile à cinq branches est aussi un symbole de la Chrétienté associée à la naissance du Sauveur, Jésus-Christ.
bread and winePain et Vin - Le pain et le vin représentent le corps et le sang du Christ. Souvent les gens associent le fait de boire du vin ou de manger du pain avec le fait d'être saint ou de faire quelque chose de semblable avec Dieu ou Jésus.
bible symbolSainte Bible - La Sainte Bible est la Parole de Dieu.
christian circleLe cercle Chrétien représente l'éternité

Share the Symbols on this page:




More Symbols:

Symboles Africains
Symboles Astrologiques
Symboles de Guérison
Symboles Juifs
Symboles de l'Amour
Symboles Maçonniques
Symboles Nordiques
Symboles Sacrés
Symboles Sumériens
Symboles du Tarot
Symboles des Couleurs






Copyright © 2014 Ancient-Symbols.com  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of Ancient-Symbols.com  is prohibited.

ancient symbols
Ancient Symbols
Alchemy Symbols
Celtic Symbols
Celtic Knots
Chinese Symbols
Zodiac Symbols
Christian Symbols
Egyptian Symbols
Good Luck Symbols
Greek Symbols
Japanese Symbols
Mayan Symbols
Native American Symbol
Pagan Symbols
Peace Symbols
Religious Symbols
Roman Symbols
Sacred Geometry Symbols
Strength Symbols
Symbolic Pictures
Tattoo Symbols Buddhist Symbols Irish Symbols Hindu Symbols Symbols Influence on History Friendship Symbols The Lost Symbol Power Symbols Dream Symbols Star Symbols Motherhood Symbols

Related Resources

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Antike Symbole (Deutsch)

Древние символы (Russian)

Symboles Anciens (French)

古代符号 (Chinese)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

 Christian symbols and their Meaning

Christian symbolism invests objects or actions with an inner meaning expressing Christian ideas. Christianity has borrowed from the common stock of significant symbols known to most periods and to all regions of the world. Religious symbolism is effective when it appeals to both the intellect and the emotions. The choice of suitable acts and objects for symbolism is narrow enough that it would not be easy to avoid the appearance of an imitation of other traditions, even if there had been a deliberate attempt to invent an entirely new ritual.




Elemental symbols were widely used by the early Church. Water has specific symbolic significance for Christians. Outside of baptism, water may represent cleansing or purity. Fire, especially in the form of a candle flame, represents both the Holy Spirit and light. The sources of these symbols derive from the Bible; for example from the tongues of fire that symbolized the Holy Spirit at Pentecost, and from Jesus' description of his followers as the light of the world; or God is a consuming fire found in Hebrews 12. The cross, which is today one of the most widely recognised symbols in the world, was used as a symbol from the earliest times.

Share the Symbols on this page:

Among the symbols employed by the early Christians, that of the fish seems to have ranked first in importance. Indeed, from monumental sources such as tombs we know that the symbolic fish was familiar to Christians from the earliest times. It can be seen in such Roman monuments as the Capella Greca and the Sacrament Chapels of the catacomb of St Callistus. The fish was depicted as a Christian symbol in the first decades of the 2nd century.

Ancient people believed that the flesh of a peafowl did not decay after death, and it so became a symbol of immortality. This symbolism was adopted by early Christianity, and thus many early Christian paintings and mosaics show the peacock. The peacock is still used in the Easter season especially in the east.

Here are some of the most popular christian symbols.


chi-rho.jpg (1134 bytes)The Chi Rho is one of the earliest cruciform symbols used by Christians. It is formed by superimposing the first two letters of the word "Christ" in Greek, chi = ch and rho = r. Although not technically a cross, the Chi Rho invokes the crucifixion of Jesus as well as symbolizing his status as the Christ. The earliest evidence of the Chi Rho symbol is Constantine's use of it on the labarum, the imperial standard, in the early 4th century CE. Lactantius, a 4th century Christian apologist, reports that on the eve of the Battle of the Milvian Bridge in 312 CE, Constantine had a vision of God in which he was commanded to mark his men's shields with the Chi Rho symbol. After Constantine's success at the Milvian bridge, the Chi Rho became the official imperial insignia. Archaeologists have uncovered evidence demonstrating that the Chi Rho was emblazoned on the helmet and shield of Constantine as well as those of all of his soldiers. Coins and medallions minted during Constantine's reign also bore the Chi Rho. By the year 350 CE, the Chi Rho began to be used on Christian sarcophagi and frescoes. [A.E.M.] flaming-chalice.jpg (2740 bytes)The philosopher A.N. Whitehead said that real symbols have the power to change history. The history of the chalice symbol is significant. It began by representing the religious courage of Jan Hus, a 15th century Czech priest, who was martyred for offering communion to his congregants in defiance of the Roman church, which reserved the sharing of wine to priests only. He was burnt at the stake for this act, and Unitarians too have a history of being persecuted for innovative and democratic deeds in religion.

Related Christian Jewelry

By the Artist - David Weiztman and Ka Gold Jewelry
Click on the image to go to product
Gods word silver
Vesica Pisces Seed of Life pendant
Gods word article
Vesica Pisces article
Seed of Life article



ichthus.jpg (2229 bytes)Ichthus (ikh-thoos) or ichthys is the Greek word simply meaning “fish”.
The Greek spelling for ichthus is -- Iota, Chi, Theta, Upsilon, and Sigma. The English translation is IXOYE. The five Greek letters stand for the words meaning, “Jesus Christ, Son of God, Savior.” The Greek rendering is, “Iesous Christos, Theou Uios, Soter”.
This symbol was used primarily amongst Christians of the early church years (1st and 2nd century A.D.) The symbol was introduced from Alexandria, Egypt; which at the time, was a very heavily populated seaport. It was the port in which many goods were brought over from the European continent. Because of this, it was first used by the peoples of the sea as a symbol of a familiar deity, in this case, Jesus Christ.
taucross.jpg (872 bytes)After his commission at the foot of the San Damiano Cross, Saint Francis chose a more ancient symbol of redemption as his standard: the Tau cross.

In commenting on the scriptures of Israel, the early Christian writers used its Greek translation, the Septuagint, in which the last letter of the Hebrew alphabet, the tau, was transcribed as a “T” in Greek. Prefigured in the last letter of the Hebrew alphabet, then, the stylized Tau cross came to represent the means by which Christ reversed the disobedience of the old Adam and became our Savior as the “New Adam.”
latin-cross.gif (1018 bytes)The Latin Cross, also know as the Protestant Cross and Western Cross Latin cross.
The Latin cross (crux ordinaria) is a symbol of Christianity even though it was used as a pagan symbol for millennia before the foundation of the Christian Church.
It has been found in China and Africa. It appears on Scandinavian Bronze Age stones depicting the hammer of Thor, their god of thunder and war. It was regarded as a magical symbol. It brought good luck and diverted evil. Some people interpret rock carvings of the cross as a solar symbol, or a symbol of Earth with its points representing north, south, east, and west. Others say it represents the human form.


lamb-of-god.gif (4924 bytes)Lamb: symbol of Christ as the Paschal Lamb and also a symbol for Christians (as Christ is our Shepherd and Peter was told to feed His sheep). The lamb is also a symbol for St. Agnes (Feast Day 21 January), virgin martyr of the early Church.
dove1.gif (5479 bytes)Dove: symbol of the Holy Ghost and used especially in representations of our Lord's Baptism and the Pentecost. It also symbolizes the release of the soul in death, and is used to recall Noah's dove, a harbinger of hope. rose49.jpg (6237 bytes)Rose: the Holy Faith, Our Lady, martyrdom, the secrecy of penance. Five roses grouped together symbolize the 5 Wounds of Christ.
anchor1.gif (2927 bytes)Anchor: found in the first century cemetery of St. Domitilla, the second and third century epitaphs of the catacombs, and especially in the oldest parts of the cemeteries of Sts. Priscilla (about 70 examples in this cemetery alone), Domitilla, Calixtus, and the Coemetarium majus. See Hebrews 6:19. jerusalemcross2.jpg (2984 bytes)Jerusalem Cross: also called the "Crusaders' Cross," it is made up of 5 Greek Crosses which are said to symbolize a) the 5 Wounds of Christ; and/or b) the 4 Gospels and the 4 corners of the earth (the 4 smaller crosses) and Christ Himself (the large Cross). This Cross was a common symbol used during the wars against Islamic aggression.
baptism1.gif (2218 bytes)Baptismal Cross: consisting of the Greek Cross with the Greek letter "X", the first initial of the title "Christ," this Cross is a symbol of regeneration, hence, its association with Baptism peterscross.gif (984 bytes)Peter's Cross: because when Peter was to be martyred he chose to be crucified upside-down out of respect for Christ, the upside-down Latin Cross has become his symbol and, thereby, a symbol of the papacy. Sadly, this cross has been co-opted by Satanists whose purpose of "inverting" Christianity (e.g. as in their Black 'Masses') is expressed by taking the Latin Cross of Christ and inverting it.



CandleFire, especially in the form of a candle flame, represents both the Holy Spirit and light.
christian crossChristian Cross -

The Christian cross, seen as a representation of the instrument of the crucifixion of Jesus Christ, is the best-known religious symbol of Christianity. It is related to the crucifix (a cross that includes a usually three-dimensional representation of Jesus' body) and to the more general family of cross symbols.

The cross-shaped sign, represented in its simplest form by a crossing of two lines at right angles, greatly antedates, in both East and West, the introduction of Christianity. It goes back to a very remote period of human civilization. It is supposed to have been used not just for its ornamental value, but also with religious significance.
The Christian Cross comes in many different forms. Here are a few of the different forms of the Christian Cross.

Latin Cross

latin cross

New Coptic Cross

new coptic cross

crucifixCrucifix - cross with a representation of Jesus' body hanging from it. It is primarily used in Catholic, Anglican, Lutheran, and Eastern Orthodox churches (where the figure is painted), and it emphasizes Christ's sacrifice - his death by crucifixion.

 

 

Patriarchal Cross

A double cross, with the two crossbars near the top. The upper one is shorter, representing the plaque nailed to Jesus' cross.

patriarchal cross

cross crossletCross Crosslet

This heraldic cross is made from four Latin Crosses arranged at right-angles to each other, with their tops pointing north, south, east and west, traditionally thought to represent the message of the cross going out to the four corners of the earth. The Cross crosslet, like the Jerusalem Cross, is a symbol for world evangelism of the Gospels, which gives an alternative name: Mission Cross. Another common interpretation is that it represents the four evangelists: Matthew, Mark, Luke and John.

christian trinityThe Borromean Rings represent the trinity.
There are many symbols of the trinity in Christianity. The Borromean Rings are three interlocking circles that symbolize the Christian trinity. The word "trinity" comes from the Latin noun "trinitas" meaning "three are one." The trinity represents the belief that God is one Being made up of three distinct Persons who exist in co-equal, co-eternal communion as the Father, Son and Holy Spirit.
star of davidStar of David - The Star of David is a six-pointed star formed by two interlocking triangles, one pointing up, one pointing down. It is named after King David and appears on the flag of Israel. While predominately recognized as a symbol of Judaism and Israel, many Christians identify with the Star of David as well.
The five-pointed star is also a symbol of Christianity associated with the birth of the Savior, Jesus Christ.
bread and wineBread and Wine - The bread and wine represent the body and blood of Christ. Often times people associate drinking wine or eating bread with being holy or doing something akin with God or Jesus.
bible symbolHoly Bible - The Holy Bible is the Word of God.
christian circleThe Christian circle represents eternity
HornThe Horn - This Christian symbol represents God's power. Being the principal means of defense as well as attack that most animals are endowed with, the horn is symbolic of dominion, power, triumph, fierceness, strength, intelligence, dignity, prosperity and glory. A horn with oil is representative of David being anointed as the King and the seven horns of the Ram stand for the conquering of Jericho (Joshua) by the Israelites.

The word is also used in several popular expressions whose meanings have religious connotations. For instance, the phrase 'horn of plenty' denotes the Almighty's generosity; and 'horn of salvation' refers to Jesus Christ and is representative of a strong savior.
Pelican Pelican
The Pelican is an exclusive Christian symbol that denotes the sacrifice of Jesus Christ and is representative of atonement and redemption. The pelican is said to pierce its breast to feed its young ones with its blood and save them from starvation. As the embodiment of self-sacrifice, the bird came to be likened to Christ readily giving up his life and blood for the spiritual nourishment of other people and thus, became the ideal symbol for reparation and salvation. The magnanimous of the pelican has also made it a symbol of charity, generosity, nurturing, resourcefulness, responsibility, humility and camaraderie.


More Symbols:

African Symbols
Astrology Symbols
Healing Symbols
Jewish Symbols
Love Symbols
Masonic Symbols
Norse Symbols
Sacred Symbols
Sumerian Symbols
Tarot Symbols
Colors Symbols
Heart Symbols
Math Symbols
Islamic Symbols
Persian Symbols
Talismans Symbols
Metal Symbolism
Four Elements Symbolism
God Symbols
Dragon Symbolism
Archetypes
Occult Symbols
Solar & Lunar Symbols
Wiccan Symbols






Copyright © 2014 Ancient-Symbols.com  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of Ancient-Symbols.com  is prohibited.