Symboles Anciens
Symboles Anciens
Symboles Alchimiques
Symboles Celtiques
Nœuds Celtiques
Symboles Chinois
Symboles Chrétiens
Symboles Égyptiens
Symboles de Chance
Symboles Grecs
Symboles Japonais
Symboles Maya
Symboles Amérindiens
Symboles Païens
Symboles Païens
Symboles Religieux
Symboles Romains
Symboles Géométrie Sacrée
Symboles de Force
Images Symboliques
Symboles de Tatouages Symboles Bouddhistes Symboles Irlandais Symboles Hindous Symboles dans l'Histoire Symboles d'Amitié Le Symbole Perdu Symboles de Puissance Symboles des Rêves Symboles d'Étoile Symboles de Maternité

Ressources Liées

Ancient Symbols (English)

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Antike Symbole (Deutsch)

Древние символы (Russian)

古代符号 (Chinese)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

 Symboles Alchimiques

Les symboles alchimiques, conçus à l'origine dans le cadre de la protoscience de l'alchimie, ont été utilisés pour dénoter certains éléments et certains composés jusqu'au 18ème siècle. Notez que même si une notation comme celle-ci était la plupart du temps standardisée, le style et les symboles variaient entre les alchimistes, donc cette page de symboles alchimiques énumère les plus communs.

L'art de l'alchimie a été transmis à travers les siècles depuis l'Égypte et l'Arabie jusqu'à la Grèce et Rome, et enfin jusqu'en Europe occidentale et centrale. Le mot est dérivé de l'expression arabe "al-kimia," qui fait référence à la préparation de la Pierre ou de l'Elixir par les Égyptiens. La racine arabe "kimia" vient du Copte "khem" qui faisait allusion au sol noir fertile du delta du Nil.




Voici quelques-uns des symboles alchimiques les plus communs :

antimony-symbol.gif (837 bytes)Antimoine-Le métal antimoine symbolise la nature animale ou l'esprit sauvage de l'homme et de la nature, et il était souvent symbolisé  par le loup. arsenic-symbol.gif (844 bytes)L'Arsenic était largement utilisé  par les premiers alchimistes et était aussi parfois représenté par l'image d'un cygne.
bismuth-symbol.gif (792 bytes)Bismuth-Bien que mentionné dans les textes alchimiques le rôle que jouait le Bismuth dans les processus alchimiques est incertain.
copper-symbol.gif (1150 bytes)Le Cuivre est l'un des sept métaux de l'alchimie (or, argent, mercure, cuivre, plomb, fer & étain).

Symboles Alchimiques

Par l'Artiste - David Weiztman et Ka Gold Jewelry

Alchemy Pendant
Alchemical Wedding Talisman
Seed of Life
Pendentif Alchimique
Talisman de Mariage Alchimique
Pendentif de la Graine de Vie

Délaration de l'Artiste
"Les symboles incarnés dans mes bijoux révèlent la vérité sur notre identité et la vraie nature de la réalité. Derière ces symboles sacrés il y a la connaissance qui nous permet de prendre complètement le contrôle de nos vies, nous sortant du chaos, de la peur et de la haine qui affectent tant d'entre nous".


gold-symbol.gif (1009 bytes)L'Or est l'un des sept métaux de l'alchimie (or, argent, mercure, cuivre, plomb, fer & étain). Pour l'alchimiste, il représentait la perfection de toute la matière à n'importe quel niveau, y compris celui de l'esprit, du mental et de l'âme. Le symbole de l'or pouvait aussi être utilisé pour représenter le soleil en astrologie. iron-symbol.gif (732 bytes)Le Fer est l'un des sept métaux de l'alchimie (or, argent, mercure, cuivre, plomb, fer & étain). Le symbole du fer pouvait aussi être utilisé pour représenter la planète Mars en astrologie.


lead-symbol.gif (661 bytes)Le Plomb est le premier et le plus ancien des sept métaux de l'alchimie (or, argent, mercure, cuivre, plomb, fer & étain). Le symbole du plomb était aussi utilisé pour représenter la planète  Saturne en astrologie. magnesium-symbol.gif (863 bytes)Magnesium- Les alchimistes utilisaient la 'Magnesia alba' (littéralement la "magnésie blanche") qui était du magnésium carbonate (MgCO3), également connu en tant que 'terre magnésienne douce'.
mercury-symbol.gif (816 bytes)Le Mercure, appelé vif-argent  par les anciens, était utilisé pour faire de l'oxyde de mercure rouge en chauffant l'élément dans une solution d'acide nitrique. La réaction de vif-argent dans l'acide nitrique est frappante car une épaisse vapeur rouge flotte au-dessus de la surface et des cristaux rouge vif se précipitent au fond. Les alchimistes étaient convaincus que le mercure transcendait à la fois les états solide et liquide, à la fois la terre et le ciel, à la fois la vie et la mort.
Le mercure est l'un des sept métaux de l'alchimie
(or, argent, mercure, cuivre, plomb, fer & étain). Le symbole du mercure pourrait aussi être utilisé pour représenter la planète du même nom en astrologie. Le métal est souvent également représenté par un serpent.
phosphorus-symbol.gif (633 bytes)Phosphore-Les alchimistes utilisaient souvent la lumière comme un symbole de l'esprit, par conséquent ils étaient particulièrement intéressés par la lumière qui semblait être piégée dans la matière telle que le phosphore.
platinum-symbol.gif (918 bytes)Platine-Les alchimistes croyaient que le platine était un amalgame d'or et d'argent. potassium-symbol.gif (413 bytes)La Potasse (potassium carbonate) était largement utilisée dans les processus alchimiques.
silver-symbol.gif (881 bytes)L'Argent Silver est l'un des sept métaux de l'alchimie (or, argent, mercure, cuivre, plomb, fer & étain). Le symbole de l'argent est aussi associé avec la lune en astrologie. sulfur-symbol.gif (723 bytes)Le Souffre est l'une des trois substances célestes (souffre, mercure & sel). Il était largement utilisé dans l'exercice de l'alchimie.
tin-symbol.gif (699 bytes)L'Étain est l'un des sept métaux de l'alchimie (or, argent, mercure, cuivre, plomb, fer & étain). Le symbole de l'étain pouvait aussi être utilisé pour représenter la planète Jupiter en astrologie. zinc-symbol.gif (619 bytes)Zinc-La laine des philosophes, ou nix alba (neige blanche) était l'oxyde de zinc créé en brulant du zinc dans de l'air.

 

Les Quatre Éléments de Base

Fire SymbolSymbole du Feu

Water SymbolSymbole de l'Eau

Earth symbolSymbole de la Terre

Air SymbolSymbole de l'Air

 


 Articles liés : Symbole alchimique


Share the Symbols on this page:




More Symbols:

Symboles Africains
Symboles Astrologiques
Symboles de Guérison
Symboles Juifs
Symboles de l'Amour
Symboles Maçonniques
Symboles Nordiques
Symboles Sacrés
Symboles Sumériens
Symboles du Tarot
Symboles des Couleurs






Copyright © 2014 Ancient-Symbols.com  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of Ancient-Symbols.com  is prohibited.

ancient symbols
Ancient Symbols
Alchemy Symbols
Celtic Symbols
Celtic Knots
Chinese Symbols
Zodiac Symbols
Christian Symbols
Egyptian Symbols
Good Luck Symbols
Greek Symbols
Japanese Symbols
Mayan Symbols
Native American Symbol
Pagan Symbols
Peace Symbols
Religious Symbols
Roman Symbols
Sacred Geometry Symbols
Strength Symbols
Symbolic Pictures
Tattoo Symbols Buddhist Symbols Irish Symbols Hindu Symbols Symbols Influence on History Friendship Symbols The Lost Symbol Power Symbols Dream Symbols Star Symbols Motherhood Symbols

Related Resources

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Antike Symbole (Deutsch)

Древние символы (Russian)

Symboles Anciens (French)

古代符号 (Chinese)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

 Alchemy Symbols

Alchemical symbols, originally devised as part of the protoscience of alchemy, were used to denote some elements and some compounds until the 18th century. Note that while notation like this was mostly standardized, style and symbol varied between alchemists, so this page of alchemy symbols lists the most common.




The art of alchemy was handed down through the centuries from Egypt and Arabia to Greece and Rome, and finally to western and central Europe. The word is derived from the Arabian phrase "al-kimia," which refers to the preparation of the Stone or Elixir by the Egyptians. The Arabic root "kimia" comes from the Coptic "khem" that alluded to the fertile black soil of the Nile delta.

Share the Symbols on this page:

Here are some of the most common alchemy symbols:

antimony-symbol.gif (837 bytes)Antimony-The metal antimony symbolizes the animal nature or wild spirit of man and nature, and it was often symbolized by the wolf. arsenic-symbol.gif (844 bytes)Arsenic was widely used by early alchemists and was also sometimes represented by the image of a swan.
bismuth-symbol.gif (792 bytes)Bismuth-Although mentioned in alchemical texts it is uncertain what role Bismuth played in alchemical processes.
copper-symbol.gif (1150 bytes)Copper is one of the seven metals of alchemy (gold, silver, mercury, copper, lead, iron & tin).

Alchemy Symbols

By the Artist - David Weiztman and Ka Gold Jewelry

Alchemy Pendant
Alchemical Wedding Talisman
Seed of Life
Alchemy Pendant
Alchemical Wedding Talisman
Seed of Life pendant

Artist's Statement
"The symbols embodied in my jewelry reveal the truth about our identity and the true nature of reality. Behind these sacred symbols is the knowledge that enables us to take complete control over our lives, taking us out of chaos, fear and hatred which affect so many of us."


gold-symbol.gif (1009 bytes)Gold is one of the seven metals of alchemy (gold, silver, mercury, copper, lead, iron & tin). For the alchemist, it represented the perfection of all matter on any level, including that of the mind, spirit, and soul. The symbol for gold could also be used to represent the sun in astrology. iron-symbol.gif (732 bytes)Iron is one of the seven metals of alchemy (gold, silver, mercury, copper, lead, iron & tin). The symbol for iron could also be used to represent the planet Mars in astrology.


lead-symbol.gif (661 bytes)Lead is the first and oldest of the seven metals of alchemy (gold, silver, mercury, copper, lead, iron & tin). The symbol for lead was also used to represent the planet Saturn in astrology. magnesium-symbol.gif (863 bytes)Magnesium- Alchemists used 'Magnesia alba' (literally "white magnesia") which was magnesium carbonate (MgCO3), also known as 'mild magnesian earth.'
mercury-symbol.gif (816 bytes)Mercury, called quicksilver by the ancients was used to make red mercuric oxide by heating the element in a solution of nitric acid. The reaction of quicksilver in nitric acid is striking as a thick red vapor hovers over the surface and bright red crystals precipitate to the bottom. Alchemists were convinced that mercury transcended both the solid and liquid states, both earth and heaven, both life and death.
Mercury is one of the seven metals of alchemy (gold, silver, mercury, copper, lead, iron & tin). The symbol for mercury could also be used to represent the planet of the same name in astrology. The metal is often also represented by a serpent or snake.
phosphorus-symbol.gif (633 bytes)Phosphorus-Alchemists often used light as a symbol of the spirit, therefore they were especially interested in light that seemed to be trapped in matter such as phosphorus.
platinum-symbol.gif (918 bytes)Platiunum-Alchemists believed platinum to be an amalgamation of gold and silver. potassium-symbol.gif (413 bytes)Potash (potassium carbonate) was widely used in alchemical processes.
silver-symbol.gif (881 bytes)Silver is one of the seven metals of alchemy (gold, silver, mercury, copper, lead, iron & tin). The symbol for silver is also associated wth the moon in astrology. sulfur-symbol.gif (723 bytes)Sulfur is one of the three heavenly substances (sulfur, mercury & salt). It was widely used in alchemical pratice.
tin-symbol.gif (699 bytes)Tin is one of the seven metals of alchemy (gold, silver, mercury, copper, lead, iron & tin). The symbol for tin could also be used to represent the planet Jupiter in astrology. zinc-symbol.gif (619 bytes)Zinc-Philosophers' wool, or nix alba (white snow) was zinc oxide made by burning zinc in air.
Salt.gif (699 bytes)Salt is the third heavenly substance in alchemy, the other two being Mercury and Sulphur. This mineral has been held sacred and been a prominent religious and social symbol since the very beginning of the human race. It is representative of friendship, brotherhood, incorruption and purity. It is symbolic of the good things in life and also represents wit and sarcasm.  


Diamond

Diamond Diamond is a powerful symbol that the alchemists have associated with refracting light. The shine and sparkle of the diamond is representative of vision, clarity, awareness, understanding and keen perception. As such, it denotes the journey that the human soul takes in the pursuit of the divine truth and attainment of higher enlightenment. The facets and angles of the diamond symbolize that this journey will involve walking along a labyrinth-like path that has a number of twists and turns. Everyone living with honorable intents will succeed in achieving the light or knowledge they seek.

 

The Four Basic Elements

Fire SymbolSymbol for Fire

Water SymbolSymbol for Water

Earth symbolSymbol for Earth

Air SymbolSymbol for Air

 


Related articles: Alchemy symbol



More Symbols:

African Symbols
Astrology Symbols
Healing Symbols
Jewish Symbols
Love Symbols
Masonic Symbols
Norse Symbols
Sacred Symbols
Sumerian Symbols
Tarot Symbols
Colors Symbols
Heart Symbols
Math Symbols
Islamic Symbols
Persian Symbols
Talismans Symbols
Metal Symbolism
Four Elements Symbolism
God Symbols
Dragon Symbolism
Archetypes
Occult Symbols
Solar & Lunar Symbols






Copyright © 2014 Ancient-Symbols.com  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of Ancient-Symbols.com  is prohibited.