ancient symbols
Ancient Symbols
Alchemy Symbols
Celtic Symbols
Celtic Knots
Chinese Symbols
Zodiac Symbols
Christian Symbols
Egyptian Symbols
Good Luck Symbols
Greek Symbols
Japanese Symbols
Mayan Symbols
Native American Symbol
Pagan Symbols
Peace Symbols
Religious Symbols
Roman Symbols
Sacred Geometry Symbols
Strength Symbols
Symbolic Pictures
Tattoo Symbols Buddhist Symbols Irish Symbols Hindu Symbols Symbols Influence on History Friendship Symbols The Lost Symbol Power Symbols Dream Symbols Star Symbols Motherhood Symbols

Related Resources

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Antike Symbole (Deutsch)

Древние символы (Russian)

Symboles Anciens (French)

古代符号 (Chinese)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

Symbols of the Kabbalah Demystified

Kabbalah is an ancient series of mystical teachings. Originally intended to clarify the true meaning of the Tanakh (Hebrew Bible) and demystify Jewish religious traditions, it has undergone various adaptations over the centuries: Jewish (both Karaite and rabbinic), Christian, New Age, and even Occultist. Today, Kabbalah is a trendy doctrine thanks to celebrities like Madonna, Demi Moore, and Gwyneth Paltrow.

Kabbalah teaches that God consists of 10 ‘emanations’, or sephirot. By studying them, one can get closer to the Ein Sof, or Infinite. Each of the symbols listed below represents some aspect or characteristic of these sephirot.

Kabbalah Symbols and their meanings

Tree of Life

(Etz haChayim in Hebrew): The Tree of Life, which represents the essence of Kabbalah, is one of its more recognized symbols. It features all 10 sephirot, which are grouped into four realms: Atziluth (the infinite), Beriah (the creative world), Yetsirah (creation / formation) and Assiah (the material world). Only the latter represents physical existence: the other three are ethereal creation mysteries that require intense study to be understood.

Kabbalah Tree of Life

Share the Symbols you Like Most:


This Kabbalah symbol looks like an extended hand. The name literally means ‘five’ and, according to some disciplines, represents the five books of the Torah.
The essence of Hamsa is peace and fellowship. Other, related, meanings derive from this interpretation: communal prayer, welcoming others, and both mental and physical healing. Those who display or wear Hamsa are required to continually pray for those who view it.

Star of David

The Star of David (Magen David in Hebrew) is the most widely recognized Jewish identity symbol. In Kabbalah, it has two meanings: a symbol of God’s rule over the universe in all six directions (Up, Down, North, South, East, West) and the dichotomies integral to human existence: good vs. evil, physical world vs. spiritual realms, etc.

Tradition states that the particular structure of the Star of David, which was inspired by King David’s hexagonal shield, attracts protection and good fortune.

Star of David

Star of David


The Zohar, which is the primary book of Kabbalah, indicates that when a Jew affixes a mezuzah to their door, God protects the home from harmful forces. It is a symbol of protection that warns messengers of evil that God is watching. The word mezuzoth is actually a blend of the two words maveth and zaz, which together mean “Death, remove thyself.”


In Hebrew, Chai (or Cha’i) means ‘alive’. The symbol, which consists of the Hebrew letters Chet Yod, represents charity, wealth, and longevity in traditional Judaism. Its gematric (numerical) value is 18, which is why Jews traditionally give out charity in multiples of 18. Kabbalistic texts indicate that the letter Chet is connected to the Tree of Life’s 18th path, which involves intelligence and influence. Chai


A three-dimensional representation of the Star of David, Merkabah releases positive energy that brings both blessings and protection when worn as a talisman. In traditional Kabbalah, meditating on Merkabah helps one access the spiritual plain and seek the eternal wisdom and knowledge of the universe. Its message in that there is more to human existence than the physical world alone

More Symbols:

African Symbols
Astrology Symbols
Healing Symbols
Jewish Symbols
Love Symbols
Masonic Symbols
Norse Symbols
Sacred Symbols
Sumerian Symbols
Tarot Symbols
Colors Symbols
Heart Symbols
Math Symbols
Islamic Symbols
Persian Symbols
Talismans Symbols
Metal Symbolism
Four Elements Symbolism
God Symbols
Dragon Symbolism
Occult Symbols
Solar & Lunar Symbols
Wiccan Symbols
Gauguin Symbolism
Atheist Symbols
Bird Symbols
Water Symbols
Mythological Symbols
Kabbalah Symbols
Lotus Flower
Tibetan Symbols
Aboriginal Symbols
Thelema Symbols
Sigil Symbols

Copyright © 2018  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of  is prohibited.