A Beacon from the Viking Age

The Vegvísir, often referred to as the Viking or Runic compass, is a symbol of guidance and assurance from the ancient Norse culture. This emblem, characterized by its intricate design of runic staves, has been a source of fascination and study for historians and enthusiasts alike.

‘Vegvísir’ originates from the Icelandic language, translating to ‘Wayfinder’ or ‘signpost.’ The symbol comprises eight Viking runes, each pointing in a different cardinal direction, signifying the ability to find one’s way through rough and uncertain terrains.

The Vegvísir is deeply rooted in Norse mythology and Viking seafaring tradition. It was believed that the bearer of this symbol would never lose their way, even when the path was unknown or the destination unclear. This belief was especially significant for the Vikings, renowned seafarers, who often embarked on long and perilous journeys across the unpredictable seas.

The Vegvísir
The Vegvísir

Despite its ancient origins, the Vegvísir continues to captivate modern audiences. It is frequently seen in contemporary art, jewelry, and tattoo designs, symbolizing guidance, exploration, and resilience. The Vegvísir, with its rich historical significance and profound symbolism, remains a timeless beacon from the Viking Age, guiding us through life’s various journeys.

The Vegvísir, however, extends beyond physical navigation. It also symbolizes spiritual and emotional guidance. It serves as a reminder to stay true to one’s path and values, even in the face of adversity or uncertainty.

Symbols Menu:

» Amulet

» Ajna

» Arsenic

» Merkaba

» Hung

» bindi

» Khanda

» Halo

» jiahu

» Tau

» Uraeus

» Menorah

» Tilaka

» Taijitu

» Vajra

» Chai

» Chi Rho

» Bagua

» Dragon

» Ichthus

» Hedjet

» Lauburu

» Om

» Ankh

» Chalice

» Maat

» Ogham

» Mandala

» Kartika

» Khamsa

» Heart

» Labrys

» Raven

» Scarab

» Dove

» Hanukia

» Anubis

» Durga

» Mezuzah

» Geruda

» Kinnara

» Quito

» Condor

» Falcon

» Makara

» Rosary

» Uluru

» Apsaras

» Hanuman

» Serpent

» Mercury

» Apex

» Vestra

» Yoni

» Astarte

» dakini

» Rebis

» Typhon