Stars can form into different images that astrologists interpret in several ways. Stars have also been converted into symbols and can be interpreted in different contexts. In this regard, it pays to look at the variety of star symbols and see where they are often used.

Star Symbols and their meanings


estoileThis is a six-pointed star with wavy rays. It can be placed on shields of mighty knights and usually forms part of emblems in a flag. A six-pointed estoile can also be an eight-pointed one in some cases. Altering straight and wavy lines are made to form this star symbol. It basically refers to a celestial star.


MulletRepresenting the rowel of a spur, a mullet is a five-pointed star. It can also be a six-pointed star at some points, depending on the number specified on the blazon. In German Nordic heraldry, though, a six-pointed star is used when the number is not specified. In Gallo-British heraldry, on the other hand, a five-pointed star is presumed when the blazon does not specify any number. This is commonly seen in hieroglyphs and paintings of Ancient Egypt.


HexagramOtherwise known as Sexagram in Latin, this is a 6-pointed star produced from two equilateral triangles. This is a symbol common to religion, history, and culture.  It has been a popular star for Jewish identity, Occultism, Hinduism, and Islam. It is also applied in mathematics to symbolize the G2 root system.




A symbol most popular to Pythagoreans (they have used it to identify each other), the Pentad is a five-pointed star that also means different things. It can represent the number five in many ways but can also be interpreted to mean invulnerability, power, and life. Nicomachus, the Greek Philosopher who studied the pentad and its relationship with the Pythagorean ideas, used to say that “Justice is five.”

Star of Life

Star of LifeThis is typically a six-pointed colored-blue star with white borders. The Rod of Asclepius can be found in its center. This symbol is popular in US logos, authenticating ambulances, paramedics, and all other Emergency Medical Services or EMS personnel. Similarly, one can also see an orange star of life used by search and rescue personnel.

Star of Lakshmi

Star of LaksmiThe star of Lakshmi is a complex star with eight points. Formed by two squares that are centred at 45-degree angles, this represents the eight forms known as Ashtalakshmi. The star is linked to the goddess Lakshmi and her kinds of wealth. This symbol appeared in the film “The Return of the Pink Panther.”



Red Star

Red StarIf the red star represents things, then that would be religion and ideology. From here, the symbol became famous for various purposes. It can be seen in flags, emblems, logos, ornaments, and monuments. It has also been a popular object in architecture, especially in creating stained-glass windows. It otherwise symbolizes heraldry, communism, and socialism.



Star and Crescent

Star and CrescentAlthough recognized widely as a symbol of Islam, the Star and Crescent do not actually have Muslim or Islamic origins. This symbol was used as insignia by the Ottoman Empire, a powerful Muslim power that ruled over an extensive area for a long time. For the Western world, the Ottomans represented Islam, and therefore, they started associating the Star and Crescent with Islam. In fact, these are believed to be celestial symbols that the ancient Siberians and Central Asians used to worship the Sky Gods, the Sun, and the Moon.



Nine-Pointed Star

Nine-Pointed StarIn Christian symbology, the nine-pointed star represents the nine Holy Spirit fruits listed in the Epistle to the Galatians. The symbol may be shown simply as a star or appear with Latin initials of all the fruits (Benignitas, Bonitus, Fides, Mansuetudo, Continentia, Charitas, Gaudium, pax, and Longanimitas) placed inside the star’s points.   The nine-pointed star symbol is also associated with the Baha’i Faith, which considers the number nine very significant and a symbol of completeness.