ancient symbols
Ancient Symbols
Alchemy Symbols
Celtic Symbols
Celtic Knots
Chinese Symbols
Zodiac Symbols
Christian Symbols
Egyptian Symbols
Good Luck Symbols
Greek Symbols
Japanese Symbols
Mayan Symbols
Native American Symbol
Pagan Symbols
Peace Symbols
Religious Symbols
Roman Symbols
Sacred Geometry Symbols
Strength Symbols
Symbolic Pictures
Tattoo Symbols Buddhist Symbols Irish Symbols Hindu Symbols Symbols Influence on History Friendship Symbols The Lost Symbol Power Symbols Dream Symbols Star Symbols Motherhood Symbols

Related Resources

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Antike Symbole (Deutsch)

Древние символы (Russian)

Symboles Anciens (French)

古代符号 (Chinese)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

God Symbols

Share the Symbols you Like Most:

Belief in God, faith in a superior being is ingrained in the human nature. Throughout the ages, man has submitted to the unknown power that has been credited with the creation of this world. Various Gods and Goddesses believed to control different aspects of our existence have been worshipped in some form or the other by all civilizations flourishing across the world. To keep these Gods happy and turn people into good and caring human beings, different religions blossomed, all propagating selfless and righteous living.
Over time, symbols came to be employed by the believers in different Gods and faiths to represent their particular religion’s beliefs. Given below are some of the popular God Symbols:

God Symbols and their meanings

Christian CrossChristian Cross : Symbolizing Christianity, the cross memorializes Jesus Christ’s crucifixion. It symbolizes the victory of Jesus over death and serves as a reminder to the Christians of God’s love for humanity for which he sacrificed his own son.Ichthys (Fish)Ichthys (Fish) : This symbol resembling a fish is an early Christian representation that stands for Jesus Christ, God’s Son, Savior.



Star of David :Star of David : Named after King David, the Star of David represents the Jewish faith. Known as Magen David or Shield of David in Hebrew, the six-pointed symbol is said to be derived from the shape of the star on King David’s shield. processes.
Menorah :

Menorah :Symbolic of the Jewish faith, this six-branched, seven lamp candle-stand stands for universal enlightenment. The central lamp represents light of God, while the other lamps denote different aspects of human knowledge. The Menorah is also seen as a symbol of creation in 7 days.

Khanda :Khanda :This Sikh symbol includes a double-edged sword in the middle that stands for faith in one God; a chakkar (circle) that signifies that God is eternal and has no beginning or end; the two swords on both the sides indicate that spiritual and political powers go hand in hand and one must be ready to fight for what is true as well as what is right.

Ik OankaarIk Oankaar : It is the sacred symbol of the Sikhs and denotes the Universal God. It represents the basic Sikh religious tenet that there exists only one Supreme Reality or Power.



Nine-Pointed StarNine-Pointed Star :The nine-pointed star symbolizes the Bahai faith. The number 9 holds great significance for the Bahai people. This religion is considered by its followers to fulfill the expectations of the different prior religions. The digit 9 denotes completeness and fulfillment. As such, it is seen to be the perfect Bahai symbol. 


Wheel  of DharmaWheel of Dharma : A prominent Buddhist symbol, the 8-spoke Wheel of Dharma is representative of the noble 8-fold path advocated by Lord Buddha. It symbolizes the endlessness of life and rebirth. The hub of the wheel is symbolic of moral discipline that is required to stabilize the mind, and the spokes stand for wisdom. The rim symbolizes mental concentration that is a must for holding everything together.
Om (Aum)Om (Aum) : The most important of all Hindu symbols, Om represents the 3 major Hindu Gods. It is also representative of the 3 worlds – earth, atmosphere, heaven. When said out aloud, Om is a considered a mystical and sacred sound, the greatest mantra.


SwastikaSwastika :A cross with its 4 arms bent or branched at 90 degrees, Swastika is a Hindu symbol that is related to auspiciousness and good fortune. It is considered by many as a symbol representing Lord Ganesha. The word 'Swastika' is derived from the Sanskrit language and is interpreted as 'to be good' and 'to be with the higher self'.
The Star and CrescentThe Star and Crescent :The symbol of Star and Crescent has come to be associated with Islam, although the religion is supposed to be against using holy symbols.

Allah (Calligraphic)Allah (Calligraphic) Written in the Arabic script, the word ‘Allah’ means God and is considered a visual representation of the Islam religion.


Taiji (Yin and Yang)Taiji (Yin and Yang):This Taoist symbol of a circle that contains 2 swirling sections, white and black is representative of flawless harmonic balance. It denotes that the interdependence and inter-connectivity of the opposite forces of the world, which are in fact complementary.


Torii GateTorii Gate : A symbol of the Japanese religion of Shintoism, the Torri Gate represents the transition from the finite world to the infinite. It marks the entrance into a sacred space.




Ahimsa HandAhimsa Hand : This symbol of Jainism represents the vow of non-violence (Ahimsa) that is the pivotal Jain doctrine. The wheel on the human palm symbolizes the dharmachakra that involves seeking truth for halting the reincarnation cycle.. Five-Pointed StarFive-Pointed Star : The five-pointed star is an ancient Christian symbol that represents the birth and reincarnation of Jesus Christ. It is also known as the Epiphany Star and the Star of Bethlehem. The star is a very popular decorative item used for church decoration during festive seasons. The Christian five-pointed star should not be confused with the Wiccan and Pagan ‘Pentagram’, which is a star formed by five intersecting lines.

The various God symbols such as those given above help keep the followers close to their God by appealing to their emotions as well as intellect.


More Symbols:

African Symbols
Astrology Symbols
Healing Symbols
Jewish Symbols
Love Symbols
Masonic Symbols
Norse Symbols
Sacred Symbols
Sumerian Symbols
Tarot Symbols
Colors Symbols
Heart Symbols
Math Symbols
Islamic Symbols
Persian Symbols
Talismans Symbols
Metal Symbolism
Four Elements Symbolism
God Symbols
Dragon Symbolism
Occult Symbols
Solar & Lunar Symbols
Wiccan Symbols
Gauguin Symbolism
Atheist Symbols
Bird Symbols
Water Symbols
Mythological Symbols
Kabbalah Symbols
Lotus Flower
Tibetan Symbols
Aboriginal Symbols
Thelema Symbols
Sigil Symbols

Copyright © 2018  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of  is prohibited.