ancient symbols
Ancient Symbols
Alchemy Symbols
Celtic Symbols
Celtic Knots
Chinese Symbols
Christian Symbols
Egyptian Symbols
Good Luck Symbols
Greek Symbols
Japanese Symbols
Mayan Symbols
Native American Symbol
Pagan Symbols
Peace Symbols
Religious Symbols
Roman Symbols
Sacred Geometry Symbols
Strength Symbols
Symbolic Pictures
Tattoo Symbols Buddhist Symbols Irish Symbols Hindu Symbols Symbols Influence on History Friendship Symbols The Lost Symbol Power Symbols Dream Symbols Star Symbols Motherhood Symbols

Related Resources

Ancient Symbols (English)

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Antike Symbole (Deutsch)

Древние символы (Russian)

Symboles Anciens (French)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

 来自远古时代的凯尔特符号

本节包括以下符号。三角形图案装饰,Sheela-na-gig,凯尔特十字架,复活之路,绿人,凯尔特结,连续的循环符号。

凯尔特神话很少有书面记录。小 人物们可以被推测为凯尔特人,并且他们的宗教信仰和习俗必须被拼凑在一起,这些宗教信仰和习俗来自他们如此慷慨地为我们留下神话以及丰富的图标和符号的译 码。凯尔特人肖像研究充满了精神符号,神和女神的象征符号,以及来自神话故事的图像。

下面是一些比较流行的凯尔特符 号。




 

三角形图案装饰-它的本义是简单的“三角”,并且它已被用来指代各种三角形状。如今,它已 经专指一些更复杂的形状,有时在其里面或周围添加一个圆圈。它的本义是简单的“三角”,并且它已被用来指各种三角形状。如今,它 已经专指一些更复杂的形状,有时在其里面或周围添加一个圆圈。三角形图案装饰经常在海岛艺术,最显着的金属作品和手抄本如凯尔斯书中被发现。事实上,三角 形图案装饰在中世纪的凯尔特人独一无二,并且对其在在上下文中作为一个符号已经蒙上了合理怀疑,在那里它主要作为更复杂的成分用于空间填充或装饰物。但凯 尔特人的艺术生活既是一种生活的民间艺术传统,也贯穿了一些复兴。这里有一些三角形图案装饰符号的 其他版本。

三角形图案装饰.jpg (4515 字节)

三角形图案装饰正 是由三个重叠的椭圆形光轮符号组成。

蓝色-三角形图案装饰.jpg (6339 字节)

三角形图案装饰作 为隔行基督教三位一体装饰符号的一部分是蓝色的。


相关的节珠宝

由艺术家 David Weiztman 和灵魂金饰设计

伊尔迪之结
龙形吊坠 欧丁神之结
伊 尔迪之结
龙 形吊坠
欧 丁神之结



三位一体结.jpg (6744 字节)

三角形图案装饰交 错的圆圈作为基督教三位一体的符号(“三位一体结”)。

法国卡洛琳王朝十字架

三角形图案装饰十 字架或法国卡洛琳王朝十字架。

sheela-na-gig-图案.jpg (15688 字节)

The Sheela na Gig这个名字首次发表在皇家爱 尔兰学院18401844年的诉讼中,作为一个当地的雕刻名 字,曾经出现在爱尔兰罗氏镇的一座教堂山墙上;这个名字也在1840年由一位爱尔兰官员John O'Donovan记录,涉及到蒂珀雷里县Kiltinane教堂的一个数字。 关于这个名字的起源和意义存在着争议,因为这个名字没有直接翻译成爱尔兰语。有时,可能会遇到"Sheela"的替代拼写,它们包括Sheila, Síle Síla。名字"Seán-na-Gig"Jack Roberts杜撰,这在爱尔兰 是相当罕见的,但在大陆更为常见。Sheela na Gig是一个生育图。

凯尔特十字架-12.jpg (7745 bytes)

凯尔特十字架是一 个符号,它将十字架和周围的十字路口相结合。这个符号与凯尔特基督教相关,虽然它比较古老,但是它是前基督教的起源。这样的十字架形成了凯尔特艺术的主要 组成部分。一个直立的凯尔特十字架由石头制作而成,并且往往雕梁画栋,被称为空中横转或爱尔兰十字架。凯尔特十字架有可能起源于早期的科普特教堂。

在爱尔兰,它有一个流 行的神话,这个神话讲述了凯尔特十字架是由圣帕特里克节或可能是Saint Declan在他成为爱尔兰异教 徒的那段时间里引进的。
三曲腿图.jpg (5943 bytes)

三重螺旋或三曲腿 图符号是凯尔特人和前凯尔特人在一些爱尔兰巨石和新石器时代遗址中发现的,在纽格兰奇长廊式墓室的内部,入口石头上和坟堆周围的一些路边缘石最显着。

 

被许多人认为它是 一个古老的前凯尔特人和凯尔特人信仰的象征,三重螺旋在前凯尔特人和凯尔特艺术中以各种形式出现,最早的例子是被前凯尔特人刻在石碑上,随后的例子是在凯 尔特基督教岛屿艺术的手抄本上发现它们。三重螺旋可能是后来在手稿中发现的设计的三重螺旋的先驱。

绿人凯尔特

绿人通常被认为是 一个古老的凯尔特符号。在凯尔特神话中,他是一个春季和夏季的神。他年复一年,一世纪又一世纪地消失和返回,制定死亡和复活,生命的潮起潮落和创造力的主 题。高文爵士的亚瑟王传奇,绿色骑士,是来自中世纪的绿人的一个显着的形象。高文有一个绿色的头盔,绿色铠甲,绿色盾牌...甚至有一匹绿色的马。当他被斩首时, 他会继续活着。

凯尔特结

凯尔特结 - 凯尔特节是各种各样的(大多是无穷 无尽的)节和用于装饰的程式化图形表示的结,被古老的凯尔特人采用。这些节在基督教古迹的装饰物和手稿如8世纪的凯尔斯书和林迪斯福音书中使用最为 出名。

目前没有证据表明 这个结有任何具体的哲学或宗教意义,超越也许是最明显的,即能在人类的作品中存在,本身体现自然形式的错综复杂。


达拉凯尔特结

达拉凯尔特结 -

 

“达 拉”这个词的含义可以追溯到一个爱尔兰单词doire,它意味着 “ 栎树”。达拉凯尔特结与栎树的根系统有关。凯尔特人,尤其是德鲁伊视栎树为神物。他们常常通过这些树木的语言来获得有意义的信息,以适应一天 又一天的生活。栎树是命运,权力,力量,智慧,领导力和耐力的象征。因此,所有的这些属性与达拉凯尔特结相关。栎树的根以凯尔特结达拉的形式表现出来,是 内在的力量的重要来源或我们拥有的神圣的资源的象征。

四元凯尔特结

四元凯尔特结 -追查凯尔特符号的确切含义的任务是困难 的,因为缺乏具体的证据或文字。在很多情况下,一个人需要依靠艺术家对一个特定的符号的解释。因此,四元结的象征可以,描绘或说明4个方向(东,西,南,北)。这个符号也意 味着自然的四大要素,即大地,火,水和空气。凯尔特人的火节日即夏末节,五月节,依博克和星期四也可以是四元凯尔特结符号的解释。四元凯尔特结符号,也可 以是Tuatha宝 藏的象征。

永恒结

永恒结 - 可以是任何有一个封闭路径的凯尔特 结设计模式。这意味着,这样的凯尔特节既没有开端,也没有末端。来自苏格兰凯尔特人的艺术老师George Bain将这个意义上归于永恒结。

五折叠符号

五折叠符号 就像arwen一样,这个五折叠符号也代表了人性的平衡。许多研究过凯尔特人的象征和意义的专家声称这个符号代表 了宇宙的五个基本要素,即火,水,太阳,地球和空气。然而,一些专家认为,中间折叠的是宇宙,它是由火,水,地球和空气包围的。



arwen符号

Arwen - arwen也被称为三种射线的象征,是一个 平衡男性和女性之间能量的象征。arwen具有三个彼此平行的射线,并且经 常在珠宝饰物中使用。第一条和最后一条射线分别象征着“男性”和“女性”的力量。中间的一条射线象征着 其他射线的平衡和平等。大多数研究凯尔特人符号和意义方面的专家认为arwen宇宙中两股相对力量平衡的象征。

单螺旋

单螺旋 - 单螺旋是最常见的凯尔特文化的符号 之一。这个螺旋实际上是螺旋重叠在同一行上的图形。这个符号代表着空灵的能量辐射。然而,单螺旋有许多不同的含义。最突出的含义是出生,成长和死亡,或意 识和其毅力以及知识的扩张。

三曲腿图符号

三曲腿图-三曲腿图是一个著名的凯尔特符号,它表示 完成和进步的概念。这个符号看起来就像一个三条腿的车轮。根据一阶导数的含义,三曲腿图表示动作,周期,进步,革命和竞争。总之,三曲腿图代表进步感。

圆形结

圆形结 - 正如它的名字所暗示的,这些结是圆 形的,强调生命和永恒的连续性。有人把它解释为代表一些对象或属性的无限品质,而其他人认为这是强调“永无止境”的品质。正是出 于这个原因,这个凯尔特结在恋人之间交换的结婚戒指或其他礼品中十分常见,它强调彼此之间的感情永无止境。

 

凯尔特十字架

凯尔特十字架 - 凯尔特十字架是一个符号,它将十字 架和周围十字路口相结合。在凯尔特基督教世界中,它与基督教的十字架结合,并且这种设计通常用于空中横转 一个由石头做成的独立的十字 架,并且通常充满装饰物。具有凯尔特复兴的形状,通常装饰来自岛屿艺术 的隔行扫描和其他图案,在陪葬古迹和其他用途中十分流行,并一直保持这样的状态,远远蔓延出了英伦三岛。

在爱尔兰一个著名 的传说,据说凯尔特天主教十字架是由Saint PatrickSaint Declan可能在他成为爱尔兰异教徒的那段时间里引进的,虽然在这个早期阶段没有实例存在。经常有人声称帕特 里克将基督教的象征与太阳十字架相结合,通过与太阳赋予生命的特性的想法联系起来,告诉异教追随者十字架上的重要性。然而,现在这一理论被大多数艺术史学 家认为是不可能的,他们认为十字架将胜利者的财富带到他们的十字路口附近是更有可能的。这种十字架在590年代英国坎特伯的Liudhard 小奖章的背面可以看到。

sheela na gig

Sheela na Gigs是裸体女人显示夸张的外阴的形象雕刻。可以在教堂,城堡和其它建筑,尤其是在爱尔兰和英国看见它 们,有时还会连同男性人物一起。Sheelas被用作保护装置,并且被认为是幸运的。一个最好的例子可以在爱尔兰凯里郡Rattoo圆塔中发现。复制品位于特拉利 镇县博物馆。另一个著名的例子可以在在英格兰赫里福德郡Kilpeck中看到。

关于这个图像来源 存在争议。从一个角度来看,Sheelas11世纪第一次在法国和西班牙分别被James JermanAnthony Weir雕刻;这个图形最终到达英国,然后于12世纪到达爱尔兰。

 

Sheela na Gigs代表了异教女神的想法是公众中最流行的一个理论,但是,它不被普遍的专业学者接受。处于讨论中的女 神通常被确认为凯尔特人,类似于爱尔兰女巫Cailleach图像和苏格兰神话中的人物。

绿人

绿人是一个雕塑, 绘画,或其他脸部被树叶包围或制造而成的表象。分行或葡萄藤可能会从鼻子,嘴,鼻孔或脸部的其他部分萌芽,并且这些嫩枝可能会开花或结果。通常作为装潢建 筑装饰使用,绿色的男人经常会在教堂和其他建筑物(包括世俗和宗教)中被发现。 “绿人”也是英国一个著名的酒吧的名 字,并且名字的不同解读出现在客栈的招牌上,有时会显示出一个完整的图像,而不是仅仅只有一个头部。

绿人的图形有许多 变化。在世界各地的许多文化中可以找到绿人,其往往涉及到天然营养神灵,如雨后春笋般出现在不同的文化中。首先,它被作为重生,或“复兴 ”的象征,代表每个春天的发展周期。一些人猜测绿人的神话在分开的古老文化的传统中独立发展,并且在整个历史过程中可以发现其演变成各种各样 的实例。



More Symbols:

非洲符号
占星术符号
治愈符号
犹太符号
爱的符号
共济会会员符号
挪威符号
神圣的符号
闪族人符号
塔罗符号
颜色符号
心形符号
数学符号
伊斯兰符号
波斯符号
附身符符号
金属符号
四大元素符号






Copyright © 2014 Ancient-Symbols.com  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of Ancient-Symbols.com  is prohibited.

ancient symbols
Ancient Symbols
Alchemy Symbols
Celtic Symbols
Celtic Knots
Chinese Symbols
Zodiac Symbols
Christian Symbols
Egyptian Symbols
Good Luck Symbols
Greek Symbols
Japanese Symbols
Mayan Symbols
Native American Symbol
Pagan Symbols
Peace Symbols
Religious Symbols
Roman Symbols
Sacred Geometry Symbols
Strength Symbols
Symbolic Pictures
Tattoo Symbols Buddhist Symbols Irish Symbols Hindu Symbols Symbols Influence on History Friendship Symbols The Lost Symbol Power Symbols Dream Symbols Star Symbols Motherhood Symbols

Related Resources

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Antike Symbole (Deutsch)

Древние символы (Russian)

Symboles Anciens (French)

古代符号 (Chinese)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

 Celtic Symbols from ancient times

The following symbols are included in this section. The triquetra, The Sheela-na-gig, The Celtic Cross, The Spiral, The Green Man, The Celtic Knot, Continuuing looping symbol.

There are very few written records of Celtic mythology. The little that can be surmised about the Celts and their religious beliefs and practices must be pieced together from the surviving mythology and from the abundance of icons and symbols they so generously left behind for us to decipher. Celtic iconography abounds with symbols of spirit, emblems of gods and goddesses, and images from mythological tales.

Here are some of the more popular celtic symbols.




The triquetra- Its original meaning was simply "triangle" and it has been used to refer to various three-cornered shapes. Nowadays, it has come to refer exclusively to a certain more complicated shape formed of three vesicae piscis, sometimes with an added circle in or around it. Its original meaning was simply "triangle" and it has been used to refer to various three-cornered shapes. Nowadays, it has come to refer exclusively to a certain more complicated shape formed of three vesicae piscis, sometimes with an added circle in or around it. The triquetra is often found in Insular art, most notably metal work and in illuminated manuscripts like the Book of Kells. The fact that the triquetra very rarely stood alone in medieval Celtic has cast a reasonable doubt on its use as a symbol in context where it was used primarily as a space filler or ornament in much more complex compositions. But Celtic art lives on as both a living folk art tradition and through several revivals. Here are some other versions of the Triquetra Symbol.

Share the Symbols on this page:

triquetra-vesica.jpg (4515 bytes)Triquetra composed exactly of three overlapping Vesica piscis symbols.
blue-triquetra.jpg (6339 bytes)Triquetra in blue as part of an interlaced Christian Trinitarian decorative symbol.

Related Knots Jewelry

By the Artist - David Weiztman and Ka Gold Jewelry

Gordian Knot
Gordian Knot Dragon Odins knot
Gordian Knot
Dragon Pendant
Odin's knot



triquetra-trinity.jpg (6744 bytes)Triquetra interlaced with circle as Christian Trinitarian symbol (a "Trinity knot").
triquetraThe cross of triquetras or Carolingian Cross.
sheela-na-gig-pic.jpg (15688 bytes)The Sheela na Gig - The name was first published in the Proceedings of the Royal Irish Academy 1840-44, as a local name for a carving once present on a church gable wall in Rochestown, County Tipperary, Ireland; the name was also recorded in 1840 by John O'Donovan, an official of the Ordnance Survey of Ireland, referring to a figure on a church in Kiltinane, County Tipperary. There is controversy regarding the origin and meaning of the name, as the name is not directly translatable into Irish. Alternative spellings of "Sheela" may sometimes be encountered; they include Sheila, Síle and Síla. The name "Seán-na-Gig" was coined by Jack Roberts for the ithyphallic male counterpart of the Sheela which is fairly rare in Ireland but is much more common on the continent. The Sheela na Gig is a fertility figure.
celtic-cross-12.jpg (7745 bytes)A Celtic cross is a symbol that combines a cross with a ring surrounding the intersection. The symbol is associated with Celtic Christianity, although it has older, pre-Christian origins. Such crosses form a major part of Celtic art. A standing Celtic cross, made of stone and often richly ornamented, is called a high cross or Irish Cross. Celtic crosses may have had origins in the early Coptic church.
In Ireland, it is a popular myth that the Celtic cross was introduced by Saint Patrick or possibly Saint Declan during his time converting the pagan Irish.

celtic_triple-spiral.jpg (5943 bytes)The triple spiral or triskele is a Celtic and pre-Celtic symbol found on a number of Irish Megalithic and Neolithic sites, most notably inside the Newgrange passage tomb, on the entrance stone, and on some of the curbstones surrounding the mound.

Believed by many to be an ancient symbol of pre-Celtic and Celtic beliefs, the triple spiral appears in various forms in pre-Celtic and Celtic art, with the earliest examples having been carved on pre-Celtic stone monuments, and later examples found in the Celtic Christian illuminated manuscripts of Insular art. The triple spiral was possibly the precursor to the later triskele design found in the manuscripts.

green man celticThe Green Man is often perceived as an ancient Celtic symbol. In Celtic mythology, he is a god of spring and summer. He disappears and returns year after year, century after century, enacting themes of death and resurrection, the ebb and flow of life and creativity. The Arthurian legend of Sir Gawain, The Green Knight, is a notable image of the Green Man from the Middle Ages. Gawain had a green helmet, green armor, green shield... even a green horse. When he was decapitated, he continued to live.
celtic knotThe Celtic Knot - Celtic knots are a variety of (mostly endless) knots and stylized graphical representations of knots used for decoration, adopted by the ancient Celts. These knots are most known for their adaptation for use in the ornamentation of Christian monuments and manuscripts like the 8th century Book of Kells and the Lindisfarne Gospels.
There is no evidence to indicate that a knot had any specific philosophical or religious significance beyond perhaps the most obvious, that being the intricacy capable in the work of humans, itself reflective of the intricacy of Natural forms.


data celtic knotDara Celtic Knot -

The meaning of the word, 'Dara' can be traced to an Irish word, doire which means 'oak tree'. The Dara Celtic knot is associated with the root system of oak trees. The Celtics and especially, Druids considered the oak tree as sacred. They used to derive meaningful messages applicable in day-to-day life through the language of trees. Oak tree is the symbol of destiny, power, strength, wisdom, leadership and endurance. All these attributes therefore, got associated with the Dara Celtic knot. Roots of the oak tree represented in the form of Dara Celtic knot are symbolic of the great source of inner strength or divine resources we possess.


quaternary knotQuaternary Celtic Knot - The task of tracking down the exact meaning of Celtic symbols is difficult due to the lack of concrete proofs or writings. In many cases, one has to rely on the artist's interpretation of a particular symbol. The quaternary knot symbol could thus, depict or indicate four directions (East, West, North and South). The symbol could also mean four elements of nature i.e. Earth, Fire, Water and Air. The fire festivals of Celts i.e. Samhain, Beltane, Imbolc and Lughnasadh could also be an interpretation of the quaternary symbol. The quaternary symbol could also be an indication of the treasures of Tuatha.


eternity knotThe Eternity Knot - could be any of the celtic knot design patterns that has a closed path. It means that such Celtic knots neither have a beginning, nor an end. George Bain, a Celtic art teacher from Scotland attributed this meaning to the eternity knot.


five fold symbolFive Fold Symbol - Like the arwen, the five fold symbol also represented a balance of the human nature. Many experts who have studied Celtic symbols and meanings, claim that this symbol represents the five basic elements of the universe, fire, water, sun, earth and air. Some experts however, believe that the middle fold is the universe, which is surrounded by fire, water, earth and air.

arwen symbolArwen - The arwen, also known as the symbol of three rays, was a symbol of the balance between male and female energy. The arwen, with three rays that were parallel to each other, was often used in jewelery. The first and last rays signified the powers of the 'male' and 'female' respectively. The middle ray signified the balance and equality of the other rays. Most of the experts of Celtic symbols and meanings, have interpreted that the arwen is a symbol that implies balance, between two opposing powers in the universe.


single spiralSingle Spiral - The single spiral is one of the most common symbols of the Celtic culture. The spiral was actually the figure that had the spiral folds of the same line. This symbol stood for the radiation of ethereal energy. There are however many different meanings of the single spiral. Some of the most prominent ones are, birth, growth and death, or expansion of the consciousness, its perseverance and knowledge.


triskelion symbolTriskelion - The triskelion, was a prominent Celtic symbol that represented the the concept of completion and progress. The symbol looked like a three legged wheel. According to the first derivation of the meaning, the triskelion, represents actions, cycles, progress, revolution and competition. In all, the triskelion was a representation of a sense of advancement.

circular knotCircular Knots - As the name suggests, these knots are in circular shape emphasizing the continuity of life or eternity. Some interpret it as standing for infinite quality of some object or attribute, whereas others consider it as emphasizing the 'endless' quality. It is for this reason that this Celtic knot is very commonly seen in wedding rings or other gifts exchanged between lovers that emphasizes the endless nature of their emotions for each other.


 

celtic cross

Celtic Cross - A Celtic cross is a symbol that combines a cross with a ring surrounding the intersection. In the Celtic Christian world it was combined with the Christian cross and this design was often used for high crosses - a free-standing cross made of stone and often richly decorated. With the Celtic Revival the shape, usually decorated with interlace and other motifs from Insular art, became popular for funerary monuments and other uses, and has remained so, spreading well beyond the British Isles.

In Ireland, it is a popular legend that the Celtic Catholic cross was introduced by Saint Patrick or possibly Saint Declan during his time converting the pagan Irish, though no examples survive from this early period. It has often been claimed that Patrick combined the symbol of Christianity with the sun cross, to give pagan followers an idea of the importance of the cross by linking it with the idea of the life-giving properties of the sun. However this theory is now thought unlikely by most art historians, who think an origin from crosses carrying a victor's wreath around their intersection is more likely. Such a cross is found on the reverse of the Liudhard medalet from Canterbury in England in the 590s.


sheela na gigSheela na Gigs are figurative carvings of naked women displaying an exaggerated vulva. They are found on churches, castles and other buildings, particularly in Ireland and Britain, sometimes together with male figures. The Sheelas were used as protective devices and were considered lucky. One of the best examples may be found in the Round Tower at Rattoo, in County Kerry, Ireland. A replica is located in the County Museum in Tralee town. Another well-known example can be seen at Kilpeck in Herefordshire, England.

There is controversy regarding the source of the figures. One perspective, by James Jerman and Anthony Weir, is that the Sheelas were first carved in France and Spain in the 11th century; the motif eventually reached Britain and then Ireland in the 12th century.

The idea that Sheela na Gigs represent a pagan goddess is a most popular theory with the public; it is, however, not generally accepted by academics. The goddess in question is usually identified as Celtic, the hag-like Cailleach figure of Irish and Scottish mythology.


green man

A Green Man is a sculpture, drawing, or other representation of a face surrounded by or made from leaves. Branches or vines may sprout from the nose, mouth, nostrils or other parts of the face and these shoots may bear flowers or fruit. Commonly used as a decorative architectural ornament, Green Men are frequently found on carvings in churches and other buildings (both secular and ecclesiastical). "The Green Man" is also a popular name for English public houses and various interpretations of the name appear on inn signs, which sometimes show a full figure rather than just the head.

The Green Man motif has many variations. Found in many cultures around the world, the Green Man is often related to natural vegetative deities springing up in different cultures throughout the ages. Primarily it is interpreted as a symbol of rebirth, or "renaissance," representing the cycle of growth each spring. Some speculate that the mythology of the Green Man developed independently in the traditions of separate ancient cultures and evolved into the wide variety of examples found throughout history.


Ailm

Ailm is the Celtic symbol of purity that is found in the Ogham. A primeval form of communication in the Celtic culture, the Ogham is a realm of trees that were believed to lend knowledge and wisdom to the seeker. Ailm symbolizes pure energy, integrity, objectivity, clarity, strength and good health.

Its symbol represents the branches of the fir tree which is one of the 9 sacred woods used for sabbat fire. This evergreen tree that grows tall & straight and survives through challenging conditions is representative of strength, resilience, endurance, longevity, friendship, honesty, truth and perceptiveness.

The circle in the Ailm symbol is a Celtic sign that denotes the wholeness, intactness and purity of the soul.


Shamrock

Shamrock - Found growing abundantly throughout the hillsides of Ireland, the Shamrock or Clover is arguably the most famous symbol of the country. It is closely associated with St. Patrick who used it to teach people the Christian concept of the Holy Trinity of the Father, the Son and the Holy Ghost. So, the Shamrock came to be highly revered by the ancient Celtics as a symbol of Christianity, faith, hope, love and spiritual development. Due to its prolific growth, it is considered to be representative of abundance, nurturing, fertility, productivity and stability. The Shamrock is credited with mystic powers as its petals stand up when a storm is approaching, warning people of the impending danger. Therefore, it is also used as a charm for bringing good luck and warding off evil.



More Symbols:

African Symbols
Astrology Symbols
Healing Symbols
Jewish Symbols
Love Symbols
Masonic Symbols
Norse Symbols
Sacred Symbols
Sumerian Symbols
Tarot Symbols
Colors Symbols
Heart Symbols
Math Symbols
Islamic Symbols
Persian Symbols
Talismans Symbols
Metal Symbolism
Four Elements Symbolism
God Symbols
Dragon Symbolism
Archetypes
Occult Symbols
Solar & Lunar Symbols






Copyright © 2014 Ancient-Symbols.com  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of Ancient-Symbols.com  is prohibited.