Symboles Anciens
Symboles Anciens
Symboles Alchimiques
Symboles Celtiques
Nœuds Celtiques
Symboles Chinois
Symboles Chrétiens
Symboles Égyptiens
Symboles de Chance
Symboles Grecs
Symboles Japonais
Symboles Maya
Symboles Amérindiens
Symboles Païens
Symboles Païens
Symboles Religieux
Symboles Romains
Symboles Géométrie Sacrée
Symboles de Force
Images Symboliques
Symboles de Tatouages Symboles Bouddhistes Symboles Irlandais Symboles Hindous Symboles dans l'Histoire Symboles d'Amitié Le Symbole Perdu Symboles de Puissance Symboles des Rêves Symboles d'Étoile Symboles de Maternité

Ressources Liées

Ancient Symbols (English)

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Antike Symbole (Deutsch)

Древние символы (Russian)

古代符号 (Chinese)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

 Symboles Celtes des temps anciens

Les symboles suivants sont inclus dans cette section. La triquetra, La Sheela-na-gig, La Croix Celtique, La Spirale, L'Homme Vert, Le Noeud Celtique, le symbole de la boucle continue.

Il y a très peu d'archives écrites sur la mythologie Celte. Le peu que l'on peut supposer sur les Celtes et leurs croyances et pratiques religieuses doit être reconstitué à partir de la mythologie survivante et à partir de l'abondance d'icônes et de symboles qu'ils ont si généreusement laissés pour que nous les déchiffrions. L'iconographie celtique abonde de symboles de l'esprit, d'emblèmes de dieux et de déesses, et d'images de contes mythologiques.

Voici quelques-uns des symboles celtiques les plus populaires.




La triquetra- Sa signification originale était simplement le "triangle" et elle a été utilisée pour faire référence à diverses formes à trois coins. De nos jours, elle en est venue à faire exclusivement référence à une certaine forme plus compliquée formée de trois vesicae piscis, parfois avec un cercle supplémentaire dedans ou autour. On trouve souvent la triquetra dans l'art insulaire, de manière plus notable dans le travail du métal et dans les manuscrits enluminés comme le Livre de Kells. Le fait que la triquetra apparaissait très rarement seule dans le moyen-âge celtique a jeté un doute raisonnable sur son utilisation en tant que symbole dans un contexte où elle était principalement utilisée pour remplir les espaces ou comme ornement dans des compositions beaucoup plus complexes. Mais l'art Celte survit à la fois en tant que tradition artistique folklorique vivante et à travers de nombreuses reprises. Voici quelques-unes des autres versions du Symbole de la Triquetra.
triquetra-vesica.jpg (4515 bytes)Triquetra composée exactement de trois symboles Vesica piscis se chevauchant.
blue-triquetra.jpg (6339 bytes)Triquetra en bleu faisant partie d'un symbole décoratif entrelacé chrétien trinitaire.

Bijouterie avec des Noeuds Liée

Par l'Artiste - David Weiztman et Ka Gold Jewelry

Gordian Knot
Gordian Knot Dragon Odins knot
Noeud Gordien
Pendentif Dragon
Noeud d'Odin



triquetra-trinity.jpg (6744 bytes)Triquetra entrelacée avec un cercle en tant que symbole Chrétien Trinitaire (un "noeud de la Trinité").
triquetraLa croix de triquetras ou Croix Carolingienne.
sheela-na-gig-pic.jpg (15688 bytes)La Sheela na Gig - Le nom a été publié pour la première fois dans Proceedings of the Royal Irish Academy 1840-44, en tant que nom local pour une sculpture présente à l'époque sur le mur d'un pignon d'une église à Rochestown, dans le Conté de Tipperary, en Irlande ; le nom a aussi été archivé en 1840 par John O'Donovan, un officiel de l'Ordnance Survey of Ireland, faisant référence à une figure sur une église à Kiltinane, dans le Conté de Tipperary. Il y a une controverse concernant l'origine et la signification du nom, car le nom n'est pas directement traduisible en irlandais. On peut parfois rencontrer des orthographes alternatives de "Sheela" ; elles comprennent Sheila, Síle et Síla. Le nom "Seán-na-Gig" a été inventé par Jack Roberts pour l'homologue masculin ithyphallique de la Sheela qui est assez rare en Irlande mais qui est bien plus commun sur le continent. La Sheela na Gig est un symbole de fertilité.
celtic-cross-12.jpg (7745 bytes)Une croix Celtique est un symbole qui combine une croix avec un anneau entourant l'intersection. Le symbole est associé avec la Chrétienté Celte, bien qu'elle ait des origines plus anciennes, pré-Chrétiennes. De telles croix forment une majeure partie de l'art Celtique. Une croix Celtique autoportée, faite de pierre et souvent richement décorée, est appelée une haute croix ou une Croix Irlandaise. Les croix Celtes ont peut-être eu des origines dans les débuts de l'église Copte.
En Irelande, c'est un mythe populaire que la croix Celte a été introduite par Saint Patrick ou éventuellement Saint Declan durant la conversion des payens irlandais.
celtic_triple-spiral.jpg (5943 bytes)La spirale triple ou triskel est un symbole Celtique et pré-Celtique trouvé sur un certain nombre de sites Mégalithiques et Néolithiques Irlandais, plus particulièrement dans la tombe de passage de Newgrange, sur la pierre d'entrée et sur certaines des margelles entourant le monticule.

Considérée par beaucoup comme un symbole ancien des croyances pré-Celtiques et Celtiques, la spirale triple apparait sous diverses formes dans l'art pré-Celtique et Celtique, avec les premiers symboles sculptés sur des monuments en pierre pré-Celtiques, et des exemples plus tardifs trouvés dans les manuscrits enluminés Chrétiens Celtes de l'art Insulaire. La spirale triple serait éventuellement le précurseur du design ultérieur du triskel trouvé dans les manuscrits.
green man celticL'Homme Vert est souvent perçu comme un ancien symbole Celte. Dans la mythologie Celte, c'est un dieu du printemps et de l'été. Il disparait et revient année après année, siècle après siècle, adoptant les thèmes de la mort et de la résurrection, le flux et le reflux de la vie et de la créativité. La légende Arthurienne de Sir Gauvain, Le Chevalier Vert, est une image notable de l'Homme Vert du Moyen-Âge. Gauvain avait un casque vert, une armure verte, un bouclier vert... même un cheval vert. Quand il était décapité, il continuait à vivre.
celtic knotLe Noeud Celtique - Les noeuds Celtiques sont une variété de noeuds (pour la plupart sans fin) et de représentations graphiques stylisées de noeuds utilisés pour la décoration, adoptés par les anciens Celtes. Ces noeuds sont plus connus pour leur adaptation pour l'utilisation dans l'ornementation des monuments et des manuscrits Chrétiens comme le Livre de Kells et les Évangiles de Lindisfarne du 8ème siècle.
Il n'y a pas de preuve pour indiquer qu'un noeud avait une signification philosophique ou religieuse au-delà de la plus évidente, qui est la capacité de complexité dans le travail des humains, elle-même reflétant la complexité des formes Naturelles.

data celtic knotNoeud Celtique Dara -

La signification du mot 'Dara' peut être remontée jusqu'à un mot irlandais, doire qui signifie 'chêne'. Le noeud Celtique Dara est associé avec le système de racines des chênes. Les Celtes, et en particulier les Druides, considéraient le chêne comme sacré. Ils avaient l'habitude de faire découler du langage des arbres des messages significatifs applicables dans la vie quotidienne. Le chêne est le symbole de la destiné, de la puissance, de la force, de la sagesse, de l'aptitude à diriger et de l'endurance. Par conséquent tous ces attributs ont été associés avec le noeud Celtique Dara. Les racines du chêne représentées sous la forme d'un noeud Celtique Dara sont symboliques de la grande source de la force intérieure ou des ressources divines que nous possédons.

quaternary knotNoeud Celtique Quaternaire - La tâche de retracer la signification exacte des symboles Celtiques est difficile en raison du manque de preuves concrètes ou d'écrits. Dans de nombreux cas, on doit s'appuyer sur l'interprétation de l'artiste d'un symbole particulier. Le symbole du noeud quaternaire pourrait ainsi désigner ou indiquer quatre directions (Est, Ouest, Nord et Sud). Le symbole pourrait aussi signifier les quatre éléments de la nature c'est à dire la Terre, le Feu, l'Eau et l'Air. Les festivals du feu des Celtes c'est à dire Samhain, Beltane, Imbolc et Lughnasadh pourraient aussi être une interprétation du symbole quaternaire. Le symbole quaternaire pourrait aussi être une indication des trésors de Tuatha.

eternity knotLe Noeud d'Éternité - pourrait être n'importe lequel des motifs de design de noeud celtique ayant une trajectoire fermée. Cela signifie que de tels noeuds Celtiques n'ont ni début début ni fin. George Bain, un professeur d'art Celtique d'Écosse attribuait cette signification au noeud d'éternité.

five fold symbolSymbole aux Cinq cercles - Comme l'arwen, le symbole à cinq cercles représentait aussi un équilibre de la nature humaine. De nombreux experts qui ont étudié les symboles et significations Celtiques prétendent que ce symbole représente les cinq éléments de base de l'univers, le feu, l'eau, le soleil, la terre et l'air. Certains experts, toutefois, pensent que le cercle du milieu est l'univers, qui est entouré par le feu, l'eau, la terre et l'air.

arwen symbolArwen - L'arwen, également connu en tant que symbole des trois rayons, était un symbole de l'équilibre entre l'énergie masculine et féminine. L'arwen, avec trois rayons qui étaient parallèles entre eux, était souvent utilisé en bijouterie. Le premier et le dernier rayon signifiaient respectivement les puissances 'masculine' et 'féminine'. Le rayon du milieu signifiait l'équilibre et l'égalité des autres rayons. La plupart des experts des symboles et significations Celtes ont interprété que l'arwen est un symbole qui suggère l'équilibre entre deux pouvoirs opposés de l'univers.

single spiralSpirale Unique - La spirale unique est l'un des symboles les plus communs de la culture Celte. La spirale était en fait la figure qui avait la spirale qui se déroule sur la même ligne. Ce symbole représente la radiation de l'énergie éthérée. Il y a toutefois de nombreuses significations différentes à la spirale unique. Certaines des plus importantes sont la naissance, la croissance et la mort, ou l'expansion de la conscience, sa persévérance et sa connaissance.

triskelion symbolTriskelion - Le triskelion, était un symbole Celtique important qui représentait le concept d'achèvement et de progression. Le symbole ressemblait à une roue à trois jambes. Selon les premiers dérivés de la signification, le triskelion représente les actions, les cycles, la progression, la révolution et la compétition. Dans l'ensemble, le triskelion était une représentation d'un sens d'avancement.

circular knotNoeuds Circulaires - Comme le nom le suggère, ces noeuds ont une forme circulaire soulignant la continuité de la vie ou de l'éternité. Certains l'interprètent comme une représentation de la qualité infinie d'un certain objet ou attribut, tandis que d'autres considèrent qu'il souligne la qualité 'sans fin'. C'est pour cette raison que ce noeud Celtique est très communément vu sur les alliances ou sur d'autres cadeaux échangés entre les amants qui soulignent la nature sans fin de leurs émotions l'un pour l'autre.

 

celtic cross

Croix Celtique - Une croix Celtique est un symbole qui combine une croix avec un anneau entourant l'intersection. Dans le monde Chrétien Celte elle était combinée avec la croix Chrétienne et ce  design était souvent utilisé pour les hautes croix - une croix autoportante faite de pierre et souvent richement décorée. Avec le Renouveau Celtique la forme, habituellement décorée avec un entrelacement et d'autres motifs de l'art Insulaire, devint populaire pour les monuments funéraires et autres usages, et l'est restée, se diffusant bien au-delà des Îles Britanniques.

En Irlande, la légende populaire dit que la croix Catholique Celtique a été introduite par Saint Patrick ou éventuellement Saint Declan durant la conversion des païens Irlandais, bien qu'aucun exemple de cette période précoce n'ait survécu. Il a souvent été prétendu que Patrick combinait le symbole de la Chrétienté avec la croix du soleil, pour donner aux païens (paganistes) une idée de l'importance de la croix en la liant avec l'idée des propriétés de don de vie du soleil. Toutefois cette théorie est maintenant supposée comme peu vraisemblable par la plupart des historiens de l'art, qui pensent qu'une origine issue des croix portant une couronne de vainqueur est plus probable. On trouve une telle croix à l'arrière du médaillon de Liudhard de Canterbury en Angleterre dans les années 590.

sheela na gigLes Sheela na Gigs sont des sculptures figuratives de femmes nues montrant une vulve exagérée. On les trouve sur les églises, les châteaux et autres bâtiments, en particulier en Irlande et en Grande-Bretagne, parfois avec des figures masculines. Les Sheelas étaient utilisées comme des objets protecteurs et étaient considérées comme portant chance. L'un des meilleurs exemples peut être trouvé sur la Tour Ronde à Rattoo, dans le Conté de Kerry, Irlande. Une réplique se situe dans le Musée du Conté dans le ville de Tralee. Un autre exemple bien connu peut être vu à Kilpeck dans le Herefordshire, en Angleterre.

Il y a une controverse par rapport à la source des figures. Une perspective, proposée par James Jerman et Anthony Weir, est que les Sheelas étaient d'abord sculptées en France et en Espagne au 11ème siècle ; le motif atteignit ensuite la Grande-Bretagne et puis l'Irlande au12ème siècle.

L'idée que les Sheela na Gigs représentent une déesse païenne (paganiste) est une théorie plus populaire parmi le public ; ce n'est, toutefois, en général pas accepté par les académiciens. La déesse en question est habituellement identifiée comme Celte, la figure ressemblant à la sorcière Cailleach de la mythologie Irlandaise et Écossaise.

green man

Un Homme Vert est une sculpture, un dessin, ou une autre représentation d'un visage entouré ou formé par des feuilles. Des branches ou des vignes peuvent germer du nez, de la bouche, des narines ou d'autres parties du visage et ces pousses peuvent porter des fleurs ou des fruits. Communément utilisé comme un ornement architectural décoratif, on trouve fréquemment les Hommes Verts sur des sculptures dans des églises et autres bâtiments (à la fois séculiers et ecclésiastiques). "L'Homme Vert" est aussi un nom populaire pour les tavernes anglaises et diverses interprétations du nom apparaissent sur les panneaux des auberges, qui montrent parfois une silhouette entière plutôt que juste la tête.

Le motif de l'Homme Vert a de nombreuses variations. Trouvé dans beaucoup de cultures du monde entier, l'Homme Vert est souvent relié aux déités végétales naturelles jaillissant dans différentes cultures à travers les âges. Il est principalement interprété comme un symbole de "renaissance",  représentant le cycle de croissance à chaque printemps. Certains spéculent que la mythologie de l'Homme Vert se développa indépendamment dans les traditions de cultures anciennes individuelles et qu'il évolua vers la large diversité d'exemples trouvés tout au long de l'histoire.


Share the Symbols on this page:




More Symbols:

Symboles Africains
Symboles Astrologiques
Symboles de Guérison
Symboles Juifs
Symboles de l'Amour
Symboles Maçonniques
Symboles Nordiques
Symboles Sacrés
Symboles Sumériens
Symboles du Tarot
Symboles des Couleurs






Copyright © 2014 Ancient-Symbols.com  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of Ancient-Symbols.com  is prohibited.

ancient symbols
Ancient Symbols
Alchemy Symbols
Celtic Symbols
Celtic Knots
Chinese Symbols
Zodiac Symbols
Christian Symbols
Egyptian Symbols
Good Luck Symbols
Greek Symbols
Japanese Symbols
Mayan Symbols
Native American Symbol
Pagan Symbols
Peace Symbols
Religious Symbols
Roman Symbols
Sacred Geometry Symbols
Strength Symbols
Symbolic Pictures
Tattoo Symbols Buddhist Symbols Irish Symbols Hindu Symbols Symbols Influence on History Friendship Symbols The Lost Symbol Power Symbols Dream Symbols Star Symbols Motherhood Symbols

Related Resources

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Antike Symbole (Deutsch)

Древние символы (Russian)

Symboles Anciens (French)

古代符号 (Chinese)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

 Celtic Symbols from ancient times

The following symbols are included in this section. The triquetra, The Sheela-na-gig, The Celtic Cross, The Spiral, The Green Man, The Celtic Knot, Continuuing looping symbol.

There are very few written records of Celtic mythology. The little that can be surmised about the Celts and their religious beliefs and practices must be pieced together from the surviving mythology and from the abundance of icons and symbols they so generously left behind for us to decipher. Celtic iconography abounds with symbols of spirit, emblems of gods and goddesses, and images from mythological tales.

Here are some of the more popular celtic symbols.




The triquetra- Its original meaning was simply "triangle" and it has been used to refer to various three-cornered shapes. Nowadays, it has come to refer exclusively to a certain more complicated shape formed of three vesicae piscis, sometimes with an added circle in or around it. Its original meaning was simply "triangle" and it has been used to refer to various three-cornered shapes. Nowadays, it has come to refer exclusively to a certain more complicated shape formed of three vesicae piscis, sometimes with an added circle in or around it. The triquetra is often found in Insular art, most notably metal work and in illuminated manuscripts like the Book of Kells. The fact that the triquetra very rarely stood alone in medieval Celtic has cast a reasonable doubt on its use as a symbol in context where it was used primarily as a space filler or ornament in much more complex compositions. But Celtic art lives on as both a living folk art tradition and through several revivals. Here are some other versions of the Triquetra Symbol.

Share the Symbols on this page:

triquetra-vesica.jpg (4515 bytes)Triquetra composed exactly of three overlapping Vesica piscis symbols.
blue-triquetra.jpg (6339 bytes)Triquetra in blue as part of an interlaced Christian Trinitarian decorative symbol.

Related Knots Jewelry

By the Artist - David Weiztman and Ka Gold Jewelry

Gordian Knot
Gordian Knot Dragon Odins knot
Gordian Knot
Dragon Pendant
Odin's knot



triquetra-trinity.jpg (6744 bytes)Triquetra interlaced with circle as Christian Trinitarian symbol (a "Trinity knot").
triquetraThe cross of triquetras or Carolingian Cross.
sheela-na-gig-pic.jpg (15688 bytes)The Sheela na Gig - The name was first published in the Proceedings of the Royal Irish Academy 1840-44, as a local name for a carving once present on a church gable wall in Rochestown, County Tipperary, Ireland; the name was also recorded in 1840 by John O'Donovan, an official of the Ordnance Survey of Ireland, referring to a figure on a church in Kiltinane, County Tipperary. There is controversy regarding the origin and meaning of the name, as the name is not directly translatable into Irish. Alternative spellings of "Sheela" may sometimes be encountered; they include Sheila, Síle and Síla. The name "Seán-na-Gig" was coined by Jack Roberts for the ithyphallic male counterpart of the Sheela which is fairly rare in Ireland but is much more common on the continent. The Sheela na Gig is a fertility figure.
celtic-cross-12.jpg (7745 bytes)A Celtic cross is a symbol that combines a cross with a ring surrounding the intersection. The symbol is associated with Celtic Christianity, although it has older, pre-Christian origins. Such crosses form a major part of Celtic art. A standing Celtic cross, made of stone and often richly ornamented, is called a high cross or Irish Cross. Celtic crosses may have had origins in the early Coptic church.
In Ireland, it is a popular myth that the Celtic cross was introduced by Saint Patrick or possibly Saint Declan during his time converting the pagan Irish.

celtic_triple-spiral.jpg (5943 bytes)The triple spiral or triskele is a Celtic and pre-Celtic symbol found on a number of Irish Megalithic and Neolithic sites, most notably inside the Newgrange passage tomb, on the entrance stone, and on some of the curbstones surrounding the mound.

Believed by many to be an ancient symbol of pre-Celtic and Celtic beliefs, the triple spiral appears in various forms in pre-Celtic and Celtic art, with the earliest examples having been carved on pre-Celtic stone monuments, and later examples found in the Celtic Christian illuminated manuscripts of Insular art. The triple spiral was possibly the precursor to the later triskele design found in the manuscripts.

green man celticThe Green Man is often perceived as an ancient Celtic symbol. In Celtic mythology, he is a god of spring and summer. He disappears and returns year after year, century after century, enacting themes of death and resurrection, the ebb and flow of life and creativity. The Arthurian legend of Sir Gawain, The Green Knight, is a notable image of the Green Man from the Middle Ages. Gawain had a green helmet, green armor, green shield... even a green horse. When he was decapitated, he continued to live.
celtic knotThe Celtic Knot - Celtic knots are a variety of (mostly endless) knots and stylized graphical representations of knots used for decoration, adopted by the ancient Celts. These knots are most known for their adaptation for use in the ornamentation of Christian monuments and manuscripts like the 8th century Book of Kells and the Lindisfarne Gospels.
There is no evidence to indicate that a knot had any specific philosophical or religious significance beyond perhaps the most obvious, that being the intricacy capable in the work of humans, itself reflective of the intricacy of Natural forms.


data celtic knotDara Celtic Knot -

The meaning of the word, 'Dara' can be traced to an Irish word, doire which means 'oak tree'. The Dara Celtic knot is associated with the root system of oak trees. The Celtics and especially, Druids considered the oak tree as sacred. They used to derive meaningful messages applicable in day-to-day life through the language of trees. Oak tree is the symbol of destiny, power, strength, wisdom, leadership and endurance. All these attributes therefore, got associated with the Dara Celtic knot. Roots of the oak tree represented in the form of Dara Celtic knot are symbolic of the great source of inner strength or divine resources we possess.


quaternary knotQuaternary Celtic Knot - The task of tracking down the exact meaning of Celtic symbols is difficult due to the lack of concrete proofs or writings. In many cases, one has to rely on the artist's interpretation of a particular symbol. The quaternary knot symbol could thus, depict or indicate four directions (East, West, North and South). The symbol could also mean four elements of nature i.e. Earth, Fire, Water and Air. The fire festivals of Celts i.e. Samhain, Beltane, Imbolc and Lughnasadh could also be an interpretation of the quaternary symbol. The quaternary symbol could also be an indication of the treasures of Tuatha.


eternity knotThe Eternity Knot - could be any of the celtic knot design patterns that has a closed path. It means that such Celtic knots neither have a beginning, nor an end. George Bain, a Celtic art teacher from Scotland attributed this meaning to the eternity knot.


five fold symbolFive Fold Symbol - Like the arwen, the five fold symbol also represented a balance of the human nature. Many experts who have studied Celtic symbols and meanings, claim that this symbol represents the five basic elements of the universe, fire, water, sun, earth and air. Some experts however, believe that the middle fold is the universe, which is surrounded by fire, water, earth and air.

arwen symbolArwen - The arwen, also known as the symbol of three rays, was a symbol of the balance between male and female energy. The arwen, with three rays that were parallel to each other, was often used in jewelery. The first and last rays signified the powers of the 'male' and 'female' respectively. The middle ray signified the balance and equality of the other rays. Most of the experts of Celtic symbols and meanings, have interpreted that the arwen is a symbol that implies balance, between two opposing powers in the universe.


single spiralSingle Spiral - The single spiral is one of the most common symbols of the Celtic culture. The spiral was actually the figure that had the spiral folds of the same line. This symbol stood for the radiation of ethereal energy. There are however many different meanings of the single spiral. Some of the most prominent ones are, birth, growth and death, or expansion of the consciousness, its perseverance and knowledge.


triskelion symbolTriskelion - The triskelion, was a prominent Celtic symbol that represented the the concept of completion and progress. The symbol looked like a three legged wheel. According to the first derivation of the meaning, the triskelion, represents actions, cycles, progress, revolution and competition. In all, the triskelion was a representation of a sense of advancement.

circular knotCircular Knots - As the name suggests, these knots are in circular shape emphasizing the continuity of life or eternity. Some interpret it as standing for infinite quality of some object or attribute, whereas others consider it as emphasizing the 'endless' quality. It is for this reason that this Celtic knot is very commonly seen in wedding rings or other gifts exchanged between lovers that emphasizes the endless nature of their emotions for each other.


 

celtic cross

Celtic Cross - A Celtic cross is a symbol that combines a cross with a ring surrounding the intersection. In the Celtic Christian world it was combined with the Christian cross and this design was often used for high crosses - a free-standing cross made of stone and often richly decorated. With the Celtic Revival the shape, usually decorated with interlace and other motifs from Insular art, became popular for funerary monuments and other uses, and has remained so, spreading well beyond the British Isles.

In Ireland, it is a popular legend that the Celtic Catholic cross was introduced by Saint Patrick or possibly Saint Declan during his time converting the pagan Irish, though no examples survive from this early period. It has often been claimed that Patrick combined the symbol of Christianity with the sun cross, to give pagan followers an idea of the importance of the cross by linking it with the idea of the life-giving properties of the sun. However this theory is now thought unlikely by most art historians, who think an origin from crosses carrying a victor's wreath around their intersection is more likely. Such a cross is found on the reverse of the Liudhard medalet from Canterbury in England in the 590s.


sheela na gigSheela na Gigs are figurative carvings of naked women displaying an exaggerated vulva. They are found on churches, castles and other buildings, particularly in Ireland and Britain, sometimes together with male figures. The Sheelas were used as protective devices and were considered lucky. One of the best examples may be found in the Round Tower at Rattoo, in County Kerry, Ireland. A replica is located in the County Museum in Tralee town. Another well-known example can be seen at Kilpeck in Herefordshire, England.

There is controversy regarding the source of the figures. One perspective, by James Jerman and Anthony Weir, is that the Sheelas were first carved in France and Spain in the 11th century; the motif eventually reached Britain and then Ireland in the 12th century.

The idea that Sheela na Gigs represent a pagan goddess is a most popular theory with the public; it is, however, not generally accepted by academics. The goddess in question is usually identified as Celtic, the hag-like Cailleach figure of Irish and Scottish mythology.


green man

A Green Man is a sculpture, drawing, or other representation of a face surrounded by or made from leaves. Branches or vines may sprout from the nose, mouth, nostrils or other parts of the face and these shoots may bear flowers or fruit. Commonly used as a decorative architectural ornament, Green Men are frequently found on carvings in churches and other buildings (both secular and ecclesiastical). "The Green Man" is also a popular name for English public houses and various interpretations of the name appear on inn signs, which sometimes show a full figure rather than just the head.

The Green Man motif has many variations. Found in many cultures around the world, the Green Man is often related to natural vegetative deities springing up in different cultures throughout the ages. Primarily it is interpreted as a symbol of rebirth, or "renaissance," representing the cycle of growth each spring. Some speculate that the mythology of the Green Man developed independently in the traditions of separate ancient cultures and evolved into the wide variety of examples found throughout history.


Ailm

Ailm is the Celtic symbol of purity that is found in the Ogham. A primeval form of communication in the Celtic culture, the Ogham is a realm of trees that were believed to lend knowledge and wisdom to the seeker. Ailm symbolizes pure energy, integrity, objectivity, clarity, strength and good health.

Its symbol represents the branches of the fir tree which is one of the 9 sacred woods used for sabbat fire. This evergreen tree that grows tall & straight and survives through challenging conditions is representative of strength, resilience, endurance, longevity, friendship, honesty, truth and perceptiveness.

The circle in the Ailm symbol is a Celtic sign that denotes the wholeness, intactness and purity of the soul.


Shamrock

Shamrock - Found growing abundantly throughout the hillsides of Ireland, the Shamrock or Clover is arguably the most famous symbol of the country. It is closely associated with St. Patrick who used it to teach people the Christian concept of the Holy Trinity of the Father, the Son and the Holy Ghost. So, the Shamrock came to be highly revered by the ancient Celtics as a symbol of Christianity, faith, hope, love and spiritual development. Due to its prolific growth, it is considered to be representative of abundance, nurturing, fertility, productivity and stability. The Shamrock is credited with mystic powers as its petals stand up when a storm is approaching, warning people of the impending danger. Therefore, it is also used as a charm for bringing good luck and warding off evil.



More Symbols:

African Symbols
Astrology Symbols
Healing Symbols
Jewish Symbols
Love Symbols
Masonic Symbols
Norse Symbols
Sacred Symbols
Sumerian Symbols
Tarot Symbols
Colors Symbols
Heart Symbols
Math Symbols
Islamic Symbols
Persian Symbols
Talismans Symbols
Metal Symbolism
Four Elements Symbolism
God Symbols
Dragon Symbolism
Archetypes
Occult Symbols
Solar & Lunar Symbols






Copyright © 2014 Ancient-Symbols.com  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of Ancient-Symbols.com  is prohibited.