Symboles Anciens
Symboles Anciens
Symboles Alchimiques
Symboles Celtiques
Nœuds Celtiques
Symboles Chinois
Symboles Chrétiens
Symboles Égyptiens
Symboles de Chance
Symboles Grecs
Symboles Japonais
Symboles Maya
Symboles Amérindiens
Symboles Païens
Symboles Païens
Symboles Religieux
Symboles Romains
Symboles Géométrie Sacrée
Symboles de Force
Images Symboliques
Symboles de Tatouages Symboles Bouddhistes Symboles Irlandais Symboles Hindous Symboles dans l'Histoire Symboles d'Amitié Le Symbole Perdu Symboles de Puissance Symboles des Rêves Symboles d'Étoile Symboles de Maternité

Ressources Liées

Ancient Symbols (English)

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Antike Symbole (Deutsch)

Древние символы (Russian)

古代符号 (Chinese)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

 Symboles Irlandais



La civilisation Irlandaise (ou le peuple Celtique) est ancienne, remontant jusqu'à 8000 avant J.-C. Ce n'est pas une surprise, en conséquence le pays a un riche héritage et de très vieilles traditions et symboles. Depuis les leprechauns jusqu'aux trèfles et des Claddaghs jusqu'à la Croix Celtique, les symboles Irlandais parlent pour un peuple créatif et charmant. Il y a ci-dessous quelques-uns des symboles Irlandais ou Celtes les plus populaires qui ont fait leur chemin à travers l'histoire, les mythes, les légendes et les  contes.
 




Le Claddagh

The Claddagh
Ce symbole romantique est composé de deux mains tenant un cœur couronné. Le symbole du  Claddagh est utilisé pour montrer les liens d'amour, d'amitié et de loyauté. Certains croient que la main droite du symbole représente le père des Dieux Celtes, appelé Dagda, tandis que la main gauche représente la déesse mère, Anu. On pense que l'esprit Celte mystique et universel Beathauile est la couronne. La version Chrétienne de cette légende dit que le cœur couronné est un symbole de Dieu le Père et les deux mains sont son fils Jésus-Christ et le Saint-Esprit.
 

Le trèfle

The shamrock
Quiconque voit cette plante à trois feuilles pense automatiquement à l'Irlande. Le shamrock est un trèfle à trois feuilles qui croit abondamment en Irlande. Certains disent que St. Patrick, le saint patron de l'Irlande, utilisa le trèfle pour répandre le Christianisme en Irlande, car les trois feuilles de la plante pouvaient représenter la Sainte Trinité. D'autres gens pensent que le trèfle et le chiffre trois étaient considérés comme magiques dans la tradition Celte, donc on croyait que cette plante portait chance.


Bijouterie Irlandaise Liée

Par l'Artiste - David Weiztman et Ka Gold Jewelry

Gordian Knot
Irish Wit Ring
Inlaid Victory Ring
Noeud Gordien
Bague de Sagesse Irlandaise
Bague de Victoire Incrustée




La Croix Celtique

The Celtic Cross
Ce symbole est une variante de la croix Chrétienne traditionnelle. Le cercle qui fait le tour de l'intersection de la croix est souvent considéré comme représentant une fusion des anciennes méthodes et des nouvelles. On dit que Saint Patrick combina la croix Chrétienne avec la croix solaire qui est utilisée par les Païens. De nombreux historiens, cependant, disent que les moines Irlandais utilisaient déjà les croix Celtiques faites en pierre dès le 7ème siècle.


Le Leprechaun

The Leprechaun
La légende du leprechaun et de son trésor sont connus par de nombreuses personnes partout dans le monde. Un leprechaun est un être féerique du folklore Irlandais traditionnel. Habillé en vert, le leprechaun est souvent représenté comme un vieil homme barbu aux proportions de  nain. On dit aussi qu'il aime les méfaits et les farces de toutes sortes.


La Harpe Irlandaise

The Irish Harp
Les Irlandais aimaient divertir les invités en utilisant une harpe pendant les périodes Gaéliques. Depuis lors, cela a toujours été un symbole bien-aimé de l'Irlande. La harpe était utilisée dans des documents écrits par des moines bénédictins au 8ème siècle. Elle était aussi montrée sur les pièces faites au cours des années 1500. Elle était également placée sur les bannières qui étaient brandies lors des funérailles de la Reine Elizabeth 1ère. La harpe figurait aussi en bonne place dans la Rébellion Irlandaise de 1798, et fit partie du drapeau national de l'Irlande du 18ème au 19ème siècle.


Le Drapeau Tricolore de l'Irlande

The Tricolor Flag of Ireland
L'actuel drapeau de l'Irlande a trois couleurs—le blanc, l'orange et le vert. Thomas Francis Meagher, un nationaliste et révolutionnaire Irlandais qui combattit pour l'indépendance de son pays contre les Britanniques, présenta ce drapeau en 1848. Il dit que le blanc au centre du drapeau représente la paix entre le peuple Irlandais (représenté par la couleur verte) et les partisans Anglais de Guillaume III d'Angleterre, communément connu en tant que “Guillaume Henry d'Orange.”


irish harpLa harpe

du type portable de laquelle jouaient les ménestrels Celtiques, est le plus ancien symbole officiel de l'Irlande. Bien qu'elle ne soit pas aussi reconnaissable que le trèfle, la harpe est largement utilisée. Elle apparaît sur ​​les pièces Irlandaises, le drapeau présidentiel, les sceaux de l'État, les uniformes et les documents officiels. Mais la harpe est le plus souvent associée à la Guinness, qui adopta la harpe comme sa marque de fabrique en 1862.

rainbowsArc-en-ciel 

Est-ce que débusquer un leprechaun et son trésor caché a l'air au mieux improbable ? Beaucoup de gens croient que le lutin conserve son pot d'or à l'extrémité d'un arc-en-ciel. Avez-vous déjà vu la fin d'un arc en ciel ? Fait intéressant, l'une des définitions d'arc-en-ciel est "un objectif, un espoir, ou un idéal qui ne sera probablement pas atteint ou réalisé".

La Banshee

La Banshee, de l'Irlandais Bean Sidh, est un esprit féminin de la mythologie Irlandaise, généralement considéré comme un présage de mort et un messager de l'Autre Monde. Dans la légende Irlandaise, une banshee se lamente aux alentours si quelqu'un est sur ​​le point de mourir. Il y a des familles particulières qu'on soupçonne d'avoir des banshees qui y sont attachées, et dont les cris annoncent le décès d'un membre de cette famille.

merrowMerrows

La Merrow ou Murrough (Gallois) est l'équivalent Écossais et Gaélique Irlandais de la sirène des autres cultures. On dit que ces être apparaissent comme humains jusqu'à la taille mais ont le corps d'un poisson en dessous de la taille. Elles ont un tempérament gentil, modeste, affectueux et bienveillant.

Grogochs

Les Grogochs étaient à l'origine mi-humains, mi-fées aborigènes venues de Kintyre en Écosse pour plus tard s'établir en Irlande. Le grogoch est bien connu dans le nord d'Antrim, sur l'Île Rathlin et dans certaines parties de Donegal, on peut aussi trouver les grogochs sur l'île de Man, où ils sont appelés "phynnodderee". Ressemblant à un tout petit homme âgé, bien que couvert d'épais et denses cheveux roux ou de fourrure, il ne porte pas de vêtements, mais porte une diversité de brindilles et de saletés de ses voyages. Les Grogochs sont pas réputés pour leur hygiène personnelle : il n'existe aucune archive de femelles grogochs.

Changelins

Un changelin est une créature qu'on trouve dans le folklore d'Europe Occidentale et dans la religion populaire. Elle est généralement décrite comme étant la progéniture d'une fée, d'un troll, d'un elfe ou d'une autre créature légendaire qui a été secrètement laissée à la place d'un enfant humain. Parfois, le terme est aussi utilisé pour faire référence à l'enfant qui a été pris.

Pooka

Le Puca ou Pooka (Irlandais pour lutin) est une créature du folklore Celtique, en particulier en Irlande, dans l'Ouest de l'Écosse et au Pays de Galles. Il fait partie de la myriade de fées du folklore et comme beaucoup de fées du folklore, il est à la fois respecté et craint par ceux qui y croient.

Selon la légende, le puca peut habilement changer de forme, il est capable de prendre une diversité de formes terrifiantes ou agréables, et il peut apparaitre en tant que cheval, lapin, chèvre, lutin ou chien. Peu importe quelle forme prend le puca, sa fourrure est quasiment toujours sombre. Il prend habituellement la forme d'un élégant cheval noir avec une crinière flottant au vent et des yeux dorés luminescents

Le dullahan Irlandais

est un type de fée. Il est décapité, habituellement on le voit chevaucher un cheval noir et portant sa tête sous un bras. Les yeux de la tête sont massifs et sont constamment en mouvement comme des mouches, tandis que la bouche fait constamment une grimace hideuse qui va d'un côté à l'autre de la tête. On dit que la chair de la tête a la couleur et la consistance du fromage moisi. Le fouet du dullahan est en fait la colonne vertébrale d'un corps humain, et les chariots qu'il utilise parfois sont faits d'objets funéraires similaires. Quand le dullahan arrête sa chevauchée, c'est là que quelqu'un doit mourir. Le dullahan appelle son nom, à ce moment cette personne périt immédiatement.



Share the Symbols on this page:




More Symbols:

Symboles Africains
Symboles Astrologiques
Symboles de Guérison
Symboles Juifs
Symboles de l'Amour
Symboles Maçonniques
Symboles Nordiques
Symboles Sacrés
Symboles Sumériens
Symboles du Tarot
Symboles des Couleurs






Copyright © 2014 Ancient-Symbols.com  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of Ancient-Symbols.com  is prohibited.

ancient symbols
Ancient Symbols
Alchemy Symbols
Celtic Symbols
Celtic Knots
Chinese Symbols
Zodiac Symbols
Christian Symbols
Egyptian Symbols
Good Luck Symbols
Greek Symbols
Japanese Symbols
Mayan Symbols
Native American Symbol
Pagan Symbols
Peace Symbols
Religious Symbols
Roman Symbols
Sacred Geometry Symbols
Strength Symbols
Symbolic Pictures
Tattoo Symbols Buddhist Symbols Irish Symbols Hindu Symbols Symbols Influence on History Friendship Symbols The Lost Symbol Power Symbols Dream Symbols Star Symbols Motherhood Symbols

Related Resources

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Antike Symbole (Deutsch)

Древние символы (Russian)

Symboles Anciens (French)

古代符号 (Chinese)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

 Irish Symbols



The civilization of Ireland (or the Celtic people) is an old one, dating as far back as 8000BC. It’s no surprise, therefore that the country has a rich heritage and very old traditions and symbols. From leprechauns to shamrocks and Claddaghs to the Celtic Cross, Irish symbols speak of a creative, delightful people. Below are some of the most popular Irish or Celtic symbols that have found their way through history, myths, legends and folk tales.
 

Share the Symbols on this page:


The Claddagh

The Claddagh
This romantic symbol is composed of two hands holding a crowned heart. The Claddagh symbol is used to show the bonds of love, friendship and loyalty. Some believe that the right hand of the symbol represents the father of Celtic Gods, called Dagda, while the left represents the mother goddess, Anu. The mystical, universal Celtic spirit Beathauile is believed to be the crown. The Christian version of this legend says that the crowned heart is a symbol of God the Father and the two hands are his son Jesus Christ and the Holy Spirit.
 




The shamrock

The shamrock
Anyone who sees this three-leafed plant automatically thinks of Ireland. The shamrock is a three-leafed clover that grows abundantly in Ireland. Some people say that St. Patrick, the patron saint of Ireland, used the shamrock to spread Christianity in Ireland, since the three leaves of the plant could represent the Holy Trinity. Other people say that the shamrock and the number three were considered magical in Celtic tradition, so this plant was believed to bring good luck.


Related Irish Jewelry

By the Artist - David Weiztman and Ka Gold Jewelry

Gordian Knot
Irish Wit Ring
Inlaid Victory Ring
Gordian Knot
Irish Wit Ring
Inlaid Victory Ring




The Celtic Cross

The Celtic Cross
This symbol is a variation of the traditional Christian cross. The circle that circumnavigates the intersection of the cross is often believed to represent a fusion of the old ways and the new. It is said that St. Patrick combined the Christian cross with the sun cross that is used by Pagans. Many historians, though, say that Irish monks already used Celtic crosses made of stone as far back as the 7th century.


The Leprechaun

The Leprechaun
The legend of the leprechaun and his pot of gold are known by many people all over the world. A leprechaun is a fairy-like being in traditional Irish folklore. Clad in green, the leprechaun is often drawn as a bearded old man of dwarfish proportions. He has also been said to love mischief and pranks of all sorts.


The Irish Harp

The Irish Harp
The Irish loved to entertain guests with the use of a harp during the Gaelic times. Since then, it has always been a well-loved symbol or Ireland. The harp was used in documents written by Benedictine monks in the 8th century. It was also shown in coins made during the 1500s. It was also placed in the banners that were waved at the funeral of Queen Elizabeth 1. The harp was also featured prominently in the Irish Rebellion of 1798, and became part of the national flag of Ireland from the 18th to the 19th centuries.


The Tricolor Flag of Ireland

The Tricolor Flag of Ireland
The current flag of Ireland has three colors—white, orange and green. Thomas Francis Meagher, an Irish nationalist and a revolutionary who fought for his country’s independence from the British, introduced this flag in 1848. He says that the white in the center of the flag represents the peace between the Irish people (represented by the green color) and the English supporters of William III of England, or popularly known as “William Henry of Orange.”


irish harpThe harp

of the small portable type played by Celtic minstrels, is the oldest official symbol of Ireland. Through not as recognizable as the shamrock, the harp is widely used. It appears on Irish coins, the presidential flag, state seals, uniforms, and official documents. But the harp is most often associated with Guinness, which adopted the harp as its trademark in 1862.

rainbowsRainbows 

Does tracking down a leprechaun and his hidden pot of gold sound improbable at best? Many people believe that the leprechaun keeps his gold at the end of a rainbow. Have you ever seen the end of a rainbow? Interestingly, one of the definitions of rainbow is "a goal, hope, or an ideal that is unlikely to be achieved or realized."

The Banshee

The Banshee, from the Irish bean sídhe is a feminine spirit in Irish mythology, usually seen as an omen of death and a messenger from the Otherworld. In Irish legend, a banshee wails nearby if someone is about to die. There are particular families who are believed to have banshees attached to them, and whose cries herald the death of a member of that family.

merrowMerrows

Merrow or Murrough (Galloway) is the Scottish and Irish Gaelic equivalent of the mermaid and mermen of other cultures. These beings are said to appear as human from the waist up but have the body of a fish from the waist down. They have a gentle, modest, affectionate and benevolent disposition.

Grogochs

were originally half human, half-fairy aborigines who came from Kintyre in Scotland to later settle in Ireland. The grogoch is well-known throughout north Antrim, Rathlin Island and parts of Donegal, grogochs may also to be found on the Isle of Man, where they are called "phynnodderee". Resembling a very small elderly man, though covered in coarse, dense reddish hair or fur, he wears no clothes, but sports a variety of twigs and dirt from his travels. Grogochs are not noted for their personal hygiene: there are no records of any female grogochs.

Changelings

A changeling is a creature found in Western European folklore and folk religion. It is typically described as being the offspring of a fairy, troll, elf or other legendary creature that has been secretly left in the place of a human child. Sometimes the term is also used to refer to the child who was taken.

Pooka

The Puca or Pooka (Irish for goblin) is a creature of Celtic folklore, notably in Ireland, the West of Scotland, and Wales. It is one of the myriad fairy folk, and, like many fairy folk, is both respected and feared by those who believe in it.

According to legend, the puca is a deft shape shifter, capable of assuming a variety of terrifying or pleasing forms, and may appear as a horse, rabbit, goat, goblin, or dog. No matter what shape the púca takes, its fur is almost always dark. It most commonly takes the form of a sleek black horse with a flowing mane and luminescent golden eyes.

The Irish dullahan

is a type of unseelie fairie. It is headless, usually seen riding a black horse and carrying his head under one arm. The head's eyes are massive and constantly dart about like flies, while the mouth is constantly in a hideous grin that touches both sides of the head. The flesh of the head is said to have the color and consistency of moldy cheese. The dullahan's whip is actually a human corpse's spine, and the wagons they sometimes use are made of similarly funereal objects. When the dullahan stops riding, it is where a person is due to die. The dullahan calls out their name, at which point they immediately perish.

St. Brigid’s CrossSt. Brigid’s Cross

St. Brigid’s Cross (also known as Brighid’s Cross and Bride’s Cross) is a revered Irish Christian symbol that appears to have the pagan sunwheel as its inspiration. It is usually woven from rushes, or occasionally straw, and is hung prominently by the house door or in the rafter to protect the building from fire and the evil spirits. The cross is made to commemorate St. Brigid who is one of the 3 patron saints of Ireland. Making it is a traditional ritual that is observed throughout the country on the St. Brigid’s Feast Day that falls on the 1st of February.

Wolfhound/Hound Wolfhound/Hound

The Wolfhound or Hound is associated with a number of Celtic gods, goddesses and mythological heroes. It is seen as a source of healing power and a guardian figure. With its incredible size and strength, yet a noble bearing, this Irish beast became a status symbol and was gifted to honorable men. Several Chiefs and warriors even used Hound as a title, for instance the 'Hound of Culann' for demonstrating their courage and loyalty. The Wolfhound has endured over the ages as an important Irish symbol representing Ireland's heroic past.




More Symbols:

African Symbols
Astrology Symbols
Healing Symbols
Jewish Symbols
Love Symbols
Masonic Symbols
Norse Symbols
Sacred Symbols
Sumerian Symbols
Tarot Symbols
Colors Symbols
Heart Symbols
Math Symbols
Islamic Symbols
Persian Symbols
Talismans Symbols
Metal Symbolism
Four Elements Symbolism
God Symbols
Dragon Symbolism
Archetypes
Occult Symbols
Solar & Lunar Symbols
Wiccan Symbols
Gauguin Symbolism
Atheist Symbols
Bird Symbols
Water Symbols
Mythological Symbols
Kabbalah Symbols
Lotus Flower
Tibetan Symbols
Aboriginal Symbols






Copyright © 2014 Ancient-Symbols.com  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of Ancient-Symbols.com  is prohibited.