ancient symbols
Ancient Symbols
Alchemy Symbols
Celtic Symbols
Celtic Knots
Chinese Symbols
Christian Symbols
Egyptian Symbols
Good Luck Symbols
Greek Symbols
Japanese Symbols
Mayan Symbols
Native American Symbol
Pagan Symbols
Peace Symbols
Religious Symbols
Roman Symbols
Sacred Geometry Symbols
Strength Symbols
Symbolic Pictures
Tattoo Symbols Buddhist Symbols Irish Symbols Hindu Symbols Symbols Influence on History Friendship Symbols The Lost Symbol Power Symbols Dream Symbols Star Symbols Motherhood Symbols

Related Resources

Ancient Symbols (English)

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Antike Symbole (Deutsch)

Древние символы (Russian)

Symboles Anciens (French)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

 佛 教符号

佛教起源于公元前4世纪或者6世纪,也就是从释迦牟尼在印度开始传播苦难,天堂和重生的教义开始。释迦牟尼自身反对接受他自己的画像,用了许多不同过得符 号来解释他的教义。这里有佛教八大吉祥符号,很多人说这些符号代表在佛获得真悟后上帝赐给他的礼物。

虽然现在仍然可以找到很多释迦牟尼的画像,但是在早期佛教中这些画像的作用还不清楚,因为它们代表的或者象征的属性在早期的作品中解释 得不是很清楚。最早和最常见的佛教符号有舍利塔,法轮和莲花。带有八根辐条的法轮传统上有各种各样的含义。最初它仅仅象征尊贵(“帝王之轮 ”的观念),但是在公元前3世纪开始用在阿育王的佛柱上的文字中。法轮通常被用来代表传播佛法的实践过程;八根辐条指的是高尚的八条正道。莲 花也有许多含义,通常表示思想潜在的、固有的纯净。

其他早期的标志包括三叉戟,从公元前二世纪开始使用的一种符号,结合了莲花,金刚钻石棒和三宝的象征(佛,达摩,僧伽)。 印度佛教和印度教常使用卐字记号作为好运的标志。在东亚,卐字记号常用作佛的一般象征。关于它的使用,卐字记号即可朝右也可以朝左。

早期的佛教并不是用来描绘佛本身,也许那时的佛教是无偶像的。人们最先提出的佛教符号的象征和佛脚印同时出现。






阳伞或雨伞

阳伞或雨伞
一把雨伞可以保护人们不受自然力量的伤害,例如太阳或 者雨。由于这个原因,阳伞或者雨伞象征保护不受苦难折磨和有害力量的伤 害。它也可以用来代表对它所提供的清凉树荫的享受。

 

两只金鱼

两只金鱼
在很久以前,绘制的两条鱼象征着恒河和亚穆纳河。通过意思 的引申,它成为好运和财富的象征。它也代表面对苦难海洋的勇气和无畏,可以像鱼儿一样在水 中自由自在地游来游去。


海螺壳

海螺壳
 许多国家将大的海螺壳做成一种传统的战争号 角。在佛教中,这种向右螺旋的白色海螺壳代表佛法教示深沉而又欢快的声音。当觉醒的众弟子听到这些教示时,代表 他们接受了这些教示。海螺壳也可以象征对无知人们的唤醒。


莲花

莲花

莲花首饰
阅读更多关于莲花的 知识
.莲花在佛教的教示中常常被用来给予人类的所有本性。莲藕 的根深深地扎在泥土中,但是它仍然生长在浑水之上,开出美丽,清香的花。莲花常常比 作从苦难中解脱最终获得真悟、美丽的和透彻的人们。在佛教中,不同颜色的莲藕象征着不同的事物。白色代表精神和心灵的纯洁,粉色代表传统的佛教,紫色则表 示 神秘主义,红色代表爱和热情,蓝色则象征着智慧。
 

旌旗

旌旗
这个符号表示佛如何战胜魔罗。在佛教中魔罗与盛怒,贪欲和骄傲同义。旌旗用来提醒人们想 要获得真悟,必须战胜自己的骄傲,贪欲和盛怒心理。



花瓶

花瓶
花瓶可以装很多不同的东西。在佛教中,花瓶表示随真悟而来 的健康,财富,兴旺和所有好的东西的表现。


法轮

法轮
这个轮子也成为佛法之轮,常用来代表佛本身。它也普遍成 为佛的象征。法轮有八根辐条,分别代表佛的八条正道。

法轮


吉祥结

吉祥结
吉祥结中交织的绳子据说象征一切事物都是相互联系的。 它也可以代表宗教和世俗之事,热情和智慧是如何统一和相互联系的。


菩提树菩提树,也称为啵(僧伽罗语的叫法),是位于菩提伽耶(离印度比 哈尔巴特那大约100km)的一棵大又古老的、神圣的无花果树。乔达摩 -悉达多后来被称为释迦牟尼,是佛教的创始人和精神领袖,据说曾经坐在这棵树下,苦思冥想最终获得了真悟。在宗教的肖像学中,菩提树是很好 辨认的,只需观察它的心形叶子,因为这是菩提树最显著的特征。一棵菩提树完全生长需要100年到300年的时间。

“菩提树”这个词语也常常用做现在的一些树的名字,特别是摩诃菩提寺生长的菩提树,它是原始物种 的直接子代。这棵树作为佛教朝圣四大胜地中最重要的一个,是朝圣者常去的目的地。佛教历史上其他一些神圣的菩提树还有舍卫城的阿难菩提树,斯里兰卡阿奴拉达普勒的菩提树。它们被认为是菩提树原始物种繁殖的后代。

 

佛脚印佛脚印释迦牟尼一只脚或双脚的印记。石头上发现的这种脚印有两 种形 式,一种是自然的脚印,一种是手工制作的脚印。当然,自然脚印中的许多脚印并非是佛真正的脚印,它们只是复制品,或者照它们原来样子的制作的,它们也被认 为是遗塔(佛舍利),也被认为是佛的早期象征和符号代表。遍及亚洲的佛脚印源于各种不同时期。它们通常具有区别的标 志,例如,脚底中心的法轮,或者刻在或画在脚底上的佛的 32, 108 or 132吉祥标志。

空的宝座空的宝座代表‘空’的概念,这也是神秘主义一个重要方 面。它也象征着释 迦牟尼的王权。

化缘钵

  • 化缘钵是佛教僧侣日常生活中最简单又最重 要东西。这是是佛教僧侣所选人生的主要标志。
佛狮狮子-是佛教最重要的符号之一。狮子是皇室的代表,在佛获得启示之前,它象征着 佛的一部分。它也代表佛传教的力量,常和狮子的咆哮做比较。

吉祥符号八个吉祥符号是许多印度教派所特有的一组神圣的吉祥符号,包括印度教,耆 那教,佛教和锡克教。这些 符号或者‘象征属性’是本尊和传教工具。不仅仅是象征这些属性,这些能量特征也代表开明思想的特性,但是它们只是这些开明 “特性”的装饰物。许多文化例子和各种吉祥符号现在都还在。

这组八大吉祥符号最初用在印度仪式中,例如授职仪式或者国王的加冕礼。 最初这些符号组包括:王座,卍字记号,手印,钩形结,珠宝瓶,奠祭酒瓶,双鱼,有盖子的碗。在佛教中,这八个好运符号代表释迦牟尼获得真悟后神立刻给予他的布施。

阳伞或者雨伞(遮阳伞)体现了拥有它 的富人或者能够让别人拥有它的富人的财富观念或者尊贵观念,它象征着“尊 贵的享受”和超然的佛教生活的权利。

两条鱼起初代表印度两条主要的神圣河 流-恒河和亚穆纳河。人们将这两条河流与起源于鼻孔处带着交替呼吸或能量节奏的月亮和 太阳渠道联系在一起。它们在印度教、耆那教和佛教传统中有重要的宗教意义,但是在基督教中(鱼的标志,象征着喂饱五千个人)也具有意义。在佛教中,鱼代表 幸福,因为它们在水里有完全的活动自由。它们象征繁殖力和丰富。这种鱼常常以鲤鱼的形式出现,因为他们的优雅美丽,尺寸和寿命,被东方人认为很神圣。

财富之瓶或者智慧之瓮代表健康,长 寿,财富,兴旺, 智慧和空间的奇迹。

莲 花带着依恋和欲望漂浮在淤泥之上,代表身体,语言和思想的‘本初清静’,象征着带来自 由幸福的所有好事的成功。

海螺壳- 右旋的白色海螺壳代表佛法美丽,深邃,悠扬,相互渗透 和无处不在的声音,可以唤醒极度麻木的众弟子,呼吁他们获得自己的幸福和让他人幸福。

绳结- “无尽结”或者永恒结代表智慧和热情的内在联系;象 征着宗教教条和世俗事物的相互依赖。

旌旗 -驮缚若旗帜是古印度战争的军旗。摩伽罗驮 缚若后来成为吠陀神迦摩天爱和欲望的象征。在西藏的传统中,十一种不同形式的旌旗被分别用来代表克服 污秽的十一种具体方法。在西藏修道院中常常可以见到许多不同的驮缚若设计,代表佛战胜马拉什的胜利。

法轮(佛法之轮) - 法轮,有时代表释迦牟尼和佛法的实践;也代表曼荼罗和脉轮。这个符号常常被西藏佛教徒使用,他们 常常在它里面加上一个西藏之轮。

卐字标记卐 字标记-在佛教传统中,卐字标记象征佛教或者佛的脚印,它通常用来标记课本的开始。现 在藏传佛教将它作为衣服的装饰。随着佛教的传播,它也成 为中国和日本的肖像学,用来代表多数,丰度,繁荣和长寿。

四大天王

四大天王-在佛教信仰中,四大天王是四个守护神,他们中的每个人都看管着世界的一个基本方向。

 





More Symbols:

非洲符号
占星术符号
治愈符号
犹太符号
爱的符号
共济会会员符号
挪威符号
神圣的符号
闪族人符号
塔罗符号
颜色符号
心形符号
数学符号
伊斯兰符号
波斯符号
附身符符号
金属符号
四大元素符号






Copyright © 2014 Ancient-Symbols.com  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of Ancient-Symbols.com  is prohibited.

ancient symbols
Ancient Symbols
Alchemy Symbols
Celtic Symbols
Celtic Knots
Chinese Symbols
Zodiac Symbols
Christian Symbols
Egyptian Symbols
Good Luck Symbols
Greek Symbols
Japanese Symbols
Mayan Symbols
Native American Symbol
Pagan Symbols
Peace Symbols
Religious Symbols
Roman Symbols
Sacred Geometry Symbols
Strength Symbols
Symbolic Pictures
Tattoo Symbols Buddhist Symbols Irish Symbols Hindu Symbols Symbols Influence on History Friendship Symbols The Lost Symbol Power Symbols Dream Symbols Star Symbols Motherhood Symbols

Related Resources

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Antike Symbole (Deutsch)

Древние символы (Russian)

Symboles Anciens (French)

古代符号 (Chinese)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

 Buddhist Symbols


Buddhism started as early as 4th or 6th BCE, when Siddharta Gautama started spreading his teachings of suffering, nirvana and rebirth in India. Siddharta himself was averse to accept images of himself, and used many different symbols to illustrate his teachings. There are eight different auspicious symbols of Buddhism, and many say that these represent the gifts that God made to Budhha when he achieved enlightenment.




It is not known what the role of the image was in Early Buddhism, although many surviving images can be found, because their symbolic or representative nature was not clearly explained in early texts. Among the earliest and most common symbols of Buddhism are the stupa, Dharma wheel, and the lotus flower. The dharma wheel, traditionally represented with eight spokes, can have a variety of meanings. It initially only meant royalty (concept of the "Monarch of the Wheel, or Chakravatin), but started to be used in a Buddhist context on the Pillars of Ashoka during the 3rd century BC. The Dharma wheel is generally seen as referring to the historical process of teaching the buddhadharma; the eight spokes refer to the Noble Eightfold Path. The lotus, as well, can have several meanings, often referring to the inherently pure potential of the mind.

Share the Symbols on this page:

Other early symbols include the trisula, a symbol use since around the 2nd century BC that combine the lotus, the vajra diamond rod and a symbolization of the three jewels (The Buddha, the dharma, the sangha). The swastika was traditionally used in India by Buddhists and Hindus as a good luck sign. In East Asia, the swastika is often used as a general symbol of Buddhism. Swastikas used in this context can either be left or right-facing.

Early Buddhism did not portray the Buddha himself and may have been aniconic. The first hint of a human representation in Buddhist symbolism appear with the Buddha footprint.


The parasol or umbrella

The parasol or umbrella
An umbrella can protect people from the different elements, like the sun or the rain. In this context, a parasol or umbrella can mean protection from suffering and harmful forces. It can also mean the enjoyment of the cool shade it provides.

 

The two golden fish

Two golden Fish
In older times, the two fish were drawn to symbolize the Ganges and the Yamuna rivers. It has, through interpretation, come to mean luck and fortune. It also means the courage and fearlessness to face the ocean of sufferings and to be able to swim freely like fish through water.


The Conch shell

The Conch shell
This large shell has been used in many countries as a traditional battle horn. In Buddhism, the white Conch shell that spirals to the right can mean the deep and joyful sound of the Dharma teachings. It is representative of the awakening disciples receive when they hear these teachings. The Conch shell can also mean the rousing of people from ignorance.


The lotus flower

The Lotus Flower

Lotus Flower Jewelry
Read more about the Lotus Flower
The lotus has been used in many teachings of Buddhism to impart the true nature of all mankind. The roots of the lotus plant are stuck deep in the mud, but it still grows above murky water and blossoms into a beautiful, sweet-smelling flower. The lotus can be analogous to how we rise up from our sufferings to reach enlightenment, beauty and clarity. Different-colored lotus plants mean different things in Buddhism. White means spiritual and mental purity, pink means the traditional Buddha, purple is for mysticism, red means love and compassion, while blue means wisdom.
 

The Banner of Victory

The Banner of Victory
This symbol represents how Buddha won over the demon Mara. This demon, in Buddhism, is synonymous to passion, lust and pride. The Banner of Victory is used to remind people that one must win over their own pride, lust and passions to be able to reach enlightenment.


The vase

The vase
A vase can be filled with many different things. The vase, in Buddhism, can mean the showering of health, wealth, prosperity and all the good things that come with enlightenment.


The Dharma wheel

The Dharma wheel
This wheel is also called the dharma chakra or the dhamma chakka and is often used to represent Buddha himself. It has also universally become the symbol for Buddhism. The dharma wheel has eight spokes, which represent Buddha’s Eightfold Path.

wheel of law


The eternal knot

The eternal knot
The intertwining of lines in the eternal knot is said to symbolize how everything is connected. It can also represent how religion and secular affairs, as well as compassion and wisdom are united and connected to each other.


bodhi treeThe Bodhi Tree, also known as Bo (from the Sinhalese Bo), was a large and very old Sacred Fig tree located in Bodh Gaya (about 100 km from Patna in the Indian state of Bihar), under which Siddhartha Gautama, the spiritual teacher and founder of Buddhism later known as Gautama Buddha, is said to have achieved enlightenment, or Bodhi. In religious iconography, the Bodhi tree is recognizable by its heart-shaped leaves, which are usually prominently displayed. It takes 100 to 3,000 years for a bodhi tree to fully grow.

The term "Bodhi Tree" is also widely applied to currently existing trees, particularly the Sacred Fig growing at the Mahabodhi Temple, which is a direct descendant of the original specimen. This tree is a frequent destination for pilgrims, being the most important of the four main Buddhist pilgrimage sites. Other holy Bodhi trees which have a great significance in the history of Buddhism are the Anandabodhi tree in Sravasti and the Bodhi tree in Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka. Both are believed to have been propagated from the original Bodhi tree.

 

buddha footprintThe footprint of the Buddha is an imprint of Gautama Buddha's one or both feet. There are two forms: natural, as found in stone or rock, and those made artificially. Many of the "natural" ones, of course, are acknowledged not to be actual footprints of the Buddha, but replicas or representations of them, which can be considered cetiya (Buddhist relics) and also an early aniconic and symbolic representation of the Buddha. The footprints of the Buddha abound throughout Asia, dating from various periods. They often bear distinguishing marks, such as a Dharmachakra at the centre of the sole, or the 32, 108 or 132 auspicious signs of the Buddha, engraved or painted on the sole.

empty throneAn Empty Throne lies in the concept of 'empty', an important element of mysticism. This was also symbolizing the royalty of Siddharta Gautama.

begging bowlBegging Bowl The begging bowl is the simplest but one of the most important objects in the daily lives of Buddhist monks. This has been the primary symbol of the chosen life of the Buddhist monk.

buddhist lionThe Lion - is one of buddhism`s most important symbols. The lion is the symbol of royalty that symbolized what the Buddha was a part of before attaining enlightenment. It is also the power of the Buddha's teaching and is quiet often compared with the roar of a lion.

auspicious symbolsThe Eight Auspicious Symbols - or (Ashtamangala) are a sacred suite of Eight Auspicious Signs endemic to a number of Dharmic Traditions such as Hinduism, Jainism, Buddhism, and Sikhism. The symbols or 'symbolic attributes' are yidam and teaching tools. Not only do these attributes, these energetic signatures, point to qualities of enlightened mindstream, but they are the investiture that ornaments these enlightened 'qualities'. Many cultural enumerations and variations of the Ashtamangala are extant.

Groupings of eight auspicious symbols were originally used in India at ceremonies such as an investiture or coronation of a king. An early grouping of symbols included: throne, swastika, handprint, hooked knot, vase of jewels, water libation flask, pair of fishes, lidded bowl. In Buddhism, these eight symbols of good fortune represent the offerings made by the gods to Shakyamuni Buddha immediately after he gained enlightenment.

The Umbrella or parasol (chhatra) embodies notions of wealth or royalty, for one had to be rich enough to possess such an item, and further, to have someone carry it. It points to the "royal ease" and power experienced in the Buddhist life of detachment.

The two fishes originally represented the two main sacred rivers of India - the Ganges and Yamuna. These rivers are associated with the lunar and solar channels which originate in the nostrils and carry the alternating rhythms of breath or prana. They have religious significance in Hindu, Jain and Buddhist traditions but also in Christianity (the sign of the fish, the feeding of the five thousand). In Buddhism, the fish symbolize happiness as they have complete freedom of movement in the water. They represent fertility and abundance. Often drawn in the form of carp which are regarded in the Orient as sacred on account of their elegant beauty, size and life-span.

The treasure vase or Urn of Wisdom represents health, longevity, wealth, prosperity, wisdom and the phenomenon of space.

The lotus flower, representing 'primordial purity' of body, speech, and mind, floating above the muddy waters of attachment and desire; represents the full blossoming of wholesome deeds in blissful liberation.

Conch - The right-turning white conch shell, representing the beautiful, deep, melodious, interpenetrating and pervasive sound of the Buddhadharma which awakens disciples from the deep slumber of ignorance and urges them to accomplish their own welfare and the welfare of others.

The Knot - The 'endless knot' or 'eternal knot' it represents the inter-twining of wisdom and compassion; represents the mutual dependence of religious doctrine and secular affairs.

Victory Banner - Dhvaja banner was a military standard of ancient Indian warfare. Makara Dhvaja has become latter an emblem of the Vedic god of love and desire - Kamadeva. Within the Tibetan tradition a list of eleven different forms of the victory banner is given to represent eleven specific methods for overcoming defilements. Many variations of the dhvaja's design can be seen on the roofs of Tibetan monasteries to symbolyze the Buddha's victory over four maras.

The Dharma-Wheel (Dharmachakra) - The Wheel of Law, sometimes representing Sakyamuni Buddha and the Dharma teaching; also representing the mandala and chakra. This symbol is commonly used by Tibetan Buddhists where it sometimes also includes an inner wheel of the Gankyil (Tibetan).

swastikaSwastika - In the Buddhist tradition, the swastika symbolizes the feet or footprints of the Buddha and is often used to mark the beginning of texts. Modern Tibetan Buddhism uses it as a clothing decoration. With the spread of Buddhism, it has passed into the iconography of China and Japan where it has been used to denote plurality, abundance, prosperity and long life.

four guardian kings

Four Guardian Kings - In the Buddhist faith, the Four Heavenly Kings are four guardian gods, each of whom watches over one cardinal direction of the world.


Buddha EyesBuddha Eyes - Also called Wisdom Eyes, this pair of eyes can usually be found depicted on all four sides of the Buddhist shrines known as Stupas. The symbol denotes the all-seeing and omniscient eyes of Buddha and is representative of the Lord’s presence all around. The curly line below the eyes in the middle (where the nose is on a face) is the Sanskrit numeral one that symbolizes the unity of everything and also signifies that the only way to attain enlightenment is through Buddha’s teachings. The dot between the eyes is indicative of the third eye, which represents spiritual awakening.
 





More Symbols:

African Symbols
Astrology Symbols
Healing Symbols
Jewish Symbols
Love Symbols
Masonic Symbols
Norse Symbols
Sacred Symbols
Sumerian Symbols
Tarot Symbols
Colors Symbols
Heart Symbols
Math Symbols
Islamic Symbols
Persian Symbols
Talismans Symbols
Metal Symbolism
Four Elements Symbolism
God Symbols
Dragon Symbolism
Archetypes
Occult Symbols
Solar & Lunar Symbols
Wiccan Symbols






Copyright © 2014 Ancient-Symbols.com  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of Ancient-Symbols.com  is prohibited.