Symboles Anciens
Symboles Anciens
Symboles Alchimiques
Symboles Celtiques
Nœuds Celtiques
Symboles Chinois
Symboles Chrétiens
Symboles Égyptiens
Symboles de Chance
Symboles Grecs
Symboles Japonais
Symboles Maya
Symboles Amérindiens
Symboles Païens
Symboles Païens
Symboles Religieux
Symboles Romains
Symboles Géométrie Sacrée
Symboles de Force
Images Symboliques
Symboles de Tatouages Symboles Bouddhistes Symboles Irlandais Symboles Hindous Symboles dans l'Histoire Symboles d'Amitié Le Symbole Perdu Symboles de Puissance Symboles des Rêves Symboles d'Étoile Symboles de Maternité

Ressources Liées

Ancient Symbols (English)

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Antike Symbole (Deutsch)

Древние символы (Russian)

古代符号 (Chinese)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

 Symboles Bouddhistes


Le Bouddhisme démarra dès le 4ème ou 6ème siècle av. J.-C., quand Siddharta Gautama commença à disperser ses enseignements sur la souffrance, le nirvana et la renaissance en Inde. Siddharta lui-même était opposé à accepter des images de lui-même, et il utilisait de nombreux symboles différents pour illustrer ses enseignements. Il y a huit symboles de bon augure différents dans le Bouddhisme, et beaucoup disent que ceux-ci représentent les cadeaux que Dieu a fait à Bouddha quand il a atteint l'illumination.

On se sait pas quel était le rôle de l'image aux débuts du Bouddhisme, même si on peut trouver de nombreuses images rescapées, car leur symbolique ou leur nature représentative n'était pas clairement expliquée dans les premiers textes. Parmi les premiers et plus communs symboles du Bouddhisme il y a le stupa, la roue du Dharma et la fleur de lotus. La roue du dharma, traditionnellement représentée avec huit rayons, peut avoir une diversité de significations. Initialement elle ne signifiait que la royauté (concept du "Monarque de la Roue, ou Chakravatin), mais elle commença à être utilisée dans un contexte Bouddhiste sur les Piliers d'Ashoka durant le 3ème siècle av. J.-C. La roue du Dharma est généralement vue comme une référence au processus historique d'enseignement du bouddhadharma ; les huit rayons font référence au Noble Sentier Octuple. Le lotus, de même, peut avoir plusieurs significations, faisant souvent référence au potentiel intrinsèquement pur de l'esprit.





Les autres premiers symboles incluent le trisula, un symbole utilisé environ depuis le 2ème siècle av. J.-C. qui combine le lotus, la baguette de diamant vajra et une symbolisation des trois joyaux (Le Bouddha, le dharma, le sangha). La swastika était traditionnellement utilisée en Inde par les Bouddhistes et les Hindous comme signe de chance. En Asie de l'Est, la swastika est souvent utilisée comme un symbole général du Bouddhisme. Les swastikas utilisées dans ce contexte peuvent être tournées soit vers la gauche soit vers la droite.

Le début du Bouddhisme ne représentait pas le Bouddha lui-même et peut avoir été aniconique. La première trace d'une représentation humaine dans le symbolisme Bouddhiste apparait avec l'empreinte de Bouddha.


Le parasol ou ombrelle

The parasol or umbrella
Une ombrelle peut protéger les gens contre les différents éléments, comme le soleil ou la pluie. Dans ce contexte, un parasol ou une ombrelle peut signifier la protection contre la souffrance et les forces néfastes. Elle peut aussi signifier la joie de l'ombre fraiche qu'elle fournit.

 

Les Deux Poissons Dorés

Two golden Fish
En des temps plus anciens, les deux poissons étaient dessinés pour symboliser le Gange et le fleuve Yamuna. Ils en sont, à travers leurs interprétations, venus à signifier la chance et la fortune. Ils signifient aussi le courage et l'intrépidité pour faire face à l'océan de souffrance et pour être capable de nager librement comme un poisson dans l'eau.


La Conque

The Conch shell
Ce grand coquillage a été utilisé dans de nombreux pays comme une corne de bataille traditionnelle. Dans le Bouddhisme, la Conque Blanche qui s'enroule vers la droite peut signifier le son profond et joyeux des enseignements du Dharma. Elle est représentative de l'éveil que les disciples reçoivent quand ils entendent ces enseignements. La Conque peut aussi signifier le réveil des gens de l'ignorance.


La fleur de lotus

The Lotus Flower

Lotus Flower Jewelry
En savoir plus sur la Fleur de Lotus
Le lotus a été utilisé dans de nombreux enseignements du Bouddhisme pour faire connaitre la véritable nature de toute l'humanité. Les racines du lotus sont collées profondément dans la boue, mais il croit toujours au-dessus de l'eau boueuse et fleurit en une magnifique fleur au doux parfum. Le lotus peut être une analogie de la manière dont nous nous élevons au-dessus de nos souffrances pour atteindre l'illumination, la beauté et la clarté. Les lotus de différentes couleurs signifient différentes choses dans le Bouddhisme. Le blanc signifie la pureté spirituelle et mentale, le rose signifie le Bouddha traditionnel, le violet signifie le mysticisme, le rouge signifie l'amour et la compassion, tandis que le bleu signifie la sagesse.
 

La Bannière de Victoire

The Banner of Victory
Ce symbole représente comment Bouddha gagna contre le démon Mara. Ce démon, dans le Bouddhisme, est synonyme de passion, de désir et d'orgueil. La Bannière de Victoire est utilisée pour rappeler aux gens qu'on doit vaincre son propre orgueil, son désir et ses passions pour être capable d'atteindre l'illumination.


Le vase

The vase
Un vase peut être rempli avec différentes choses. Le vase, dans le Bouddhisme, peut signifier la douche de santé, de richesse, de prospérité et de toutes les bonnes choses qui arrivent avec l'illumination.


La roue du Dharma

The Dharma wheel
Cette roue est aussi appelée dharma chakra ou dhamma chakka et elle est souvent utilisée pour représenter Bouddha lui-même. Elle est aussi universellement devenue le symbole du Bouddhisme. La roue du dharma a huit rayons, qui représentent le Sentier Octuple de Bouddha.

wheel of law


Le noeud éternel

The eternal knot
On dit que l'entrelacement de lignes du noeud éternel symbolise la manière dont tout est connecté. Il peut aussi représenter comment la religion et les affaires séculières, ainsi que la compassion et la sagesse sont unies et connectées les unes aux autres.


bodhi treeL'Arbre de la Bodhi, également connu en tant que  Bo (de Sinhalese Bo), était un grand et très vieux Figuier Sacré situé à Bodh Gaya (à environ 100 km de Patna dans l'état indien de Bihar), sous lequel Siddhartha Gautama, le professeur spirituel et fondateur du Bouddhisme plus tard connu en tant que Gautama Bouddha, est censé avoir atteint l'illumination, ou Bodhi. Dans l'iconographie religieuse, l'arbre de la Bodhi est reconnaissable de par ses feuilles en forme de coeur, qui sont habituellement bien visibles. Il faut 100 à 3000 ans à un arbre de la bodhi pour s'épanouir.

Le terme "Arbre de la Bodhi" est également largement appliqué à des arbres existant actuellement, particulièrement le Figuier Sacré poussant au Temple Mahabodhi, qui est un descendant direct du spécimen original. Cet arbre est une destination fréquente pour les pèlerins, étant le plus important des quatre principaux sites de pèlerinage Bouddhistes. D'autres arbres Bodhi sacrés ayant une grande importance dans l'histoire du Bouddhisme sont l'arbre Anandabodhi à Sravasti et l'arbre Bodhi à Anuradhapura, au Sri Lanka. On croit que ces deux arbres sont issus de l'arbre Bodhi original.

 

buddha footprintL'empreinte de Bouddha est une empreinte de l'un ou des deux pieds de Gautama Buddha. Il y a deux formes : les naturelles, comme celles trouvées dans la pierre ou la roche, et celles faites artificiellement. Beaucoup des "naturelles", bien sûr, sont reconnues comme n'étant pas les vraies empreintes du Bouddha, mais des répliques ou des représentations de celles-ci, qui peuvent être considérées comme des cetiya (des reliques Bouddhistes) et aussi  l'une des premières représentations aniconiques et symboliques du Bouddha. Les empreintes de Bouddha abondent à travers l'Asie, datant de diverses périodes. Elles portent souvent des marques distinctives, telles que le Dharmachakra au centre du pied, ou les 32, 108 ou 132 signes de bon augure du Bouddha, gravés ou peints sur le pied.

empty throneDans un Trône Vide repose le concept de 'vide', un élément important du mysticisme. Cela symbolisait aussi la royauté de Siddharta Gautama.

begging bowlSébile. La sébile est l'objet le plus simple mais l'un des plus importants de la vie quotidienne des moines Bouddhistes. Cela a été le symbole principal de la vie choisie du moine Bouddhiste.

buddhist lionLe Lion - est l'un des symboles les plus importants du Bouddhisme. Le lion est le symbole de la royauté qui symbolisait ce dont faisait partie le Bouddha avant d'atteindre l'illumination. C'est aussi le pouvoir de l'enseignement de Bouddha et il est assez souvent comparé au rugissement d'un lion.

auspicious symbolsLes Huit Symboles de Bon Augure - (ou Ashtamangala) sont une suite sacrée de Huit Signes de Bon Augure endémiques d'un certain nombre de Traditions Dharmiques telles que l'Hindouisme, le Jaïnisme, le Bouddhisme et le Sikhisme. Les symboles ou 'attributs symboliques' sont le yidam et les outils d'enseignement. Non seulement ces attributs, ces signatures énergétiques, montrent les qualités du courant de pensée illuminé, mais ce sont les investitures qui ornent ces 'qualités' de l'illuminé. Il existe de nombreuses énumérations et variations culturelles des Ashtamangala.

Des groupes de huit symboles de bon augure étaient utilisées à l'origine en Inde lors de cérémonies telles qu'une investiture ou un couronnement de roi. Un des premiers groupe de symboles comprenaient : un trône, une swastika, une empreinte, un noeud au crochet, un vase de joyaux, une flasque d'eau de libation, une paire de poissons, un bol muni d'un couvercle. Dans le Bouddhisme, ces huit symboles de bonne fortune représentent les offrandes faites par les dieux à Shakyamuni Buddha immédiatement après qu'il ait gagné l'illumination.

L'Ombrelle ou le parasol (chhatra) incarne les notions de richesse ou de royauté, car on devait être assez riche pour posséder un tel objet, et encore plus pour avoir quelqu'un qui le porte. Il montre l'"aisance royale" et la puissance dont on fait l'expérience dans la vie de détachement Bouddhiste.

Les deux poissons représentaient à l'origine les deux principales rivières sacrées de l'Inde : le Gange et la Yamuna. Ces fleuves sont associés avec les canaux lunaires et solaires qui prennent naissance dans les narines et portent les rythmes alternants de la respiration ou prana. Ils ont une signification religieuse dans les traditions Hindouistes, Jaïnistes et Bouddhistes mais aussi dans la Chrétienté (le signe du poisson, l'alimentation des cinq milles). Dans le Bouddhisme, les poissons symbolisent le bonheur car ils ont une complète liberté de mouvement dans l'eau. Ils représentent la fertilité et l'abondance. Ils sont souvent dessiné sous la forme d'une carpe qui est considérée en Orient comme sacrée par rapport à leur beauté élégante, leur taille et leur durée de vie.

Le vase au Trésor ou Urne de Sagesse représente la santé, la longévité, la richesse, la prospérité, la sagesse et le phénomène d'espace.

La fleur de lotus, représentant la 'pureté originale' du corps, de la parole et de l'esprit, flottant au-dessus des eaux boueuses de l'attachement et du désir ; représente le plein épanouissement des actes salutaires dans la libération bienheureuse.

La Conque - La conque blanche enroulée vers la droite, représentant le son magnifique, profond, mélodieux, interpénétrant et envahissant du Buddhadharma qui éveille les disciples du profond sommeil de l'ignorance et les presse d'achever leur propre bien-être et le bien-être des autres.

Le Noeud - Le 'noeud infini' ou 'noeud éternel' représente l'entrelacement de la sagesse et de la compassion ; représente la dépendance mutuelle de la doctrine religieuse et des affaires séculières.

Bannière de Victoire - La bannière Dhvaja était un standard militaire de l'ancienne guerre indienne. Le Makara Dhvaja est devenu plus tard un emblème du dieu Védique de l'amour et du désir : Kamadeva. Dans la tradition tibétaine une liste de onze formes différentes de la bannière de victoire est donnée pour représenter onze méthodes spécifiques pour surmonter les souillures. On peut voir de nombreuses variations du design de la dhvaja sur les toits des monastères tibétains pour symboliser la victoire de Bouddha sur les quatre maras.

La Roue du Dharma (Dharmachakra) - La Roue de la Loi, représentant parfois  le Sakyamuni Bouddha et l'enseignement du Dharma ; représentant également le mandala et le chakra. Ce symbole est communément utilisé par les Bouddistes Tibétains où il inclut parfois la roue intérieure du Gankyil (Tibétain).

swastikaSwastika - Dans la tradition Bouddhiste, la swastika symbolise le pied ou l'empreinte du Bouddha et elle est souvent utilisée pour marquer le début des textes. Le Bouddhisme Tibétain Moderne l'utilise comme une décoration de vêtement. Avec la propagation du Bouddhisme, elle est passée dans l'iconographie de la Chine et du Japon où elle a été utilisée pour désigner la pluralité, l'abondance, la prospérité et la longue vie.

four guardian kings

Les Quatre Rois Gardiens - Dans la foi Bouddhiste, les Quatre Rois Célestes sont quatre dieux gardiens, chacun d'eux surveille une direction cardinale du monde.

 




Share the Symbols on this page:




More Symbols:

Symboles Africains
Symboles Astrologiques
Symboles de Guérison
Symboles Juifs
Symboles de l'Amour
Symboles Maçonniques
Symboles Nordiques
Symboles Sacrés
Symboles Sumériens
Symboles du Tarot
Symboles des Couleurs






Copyright © 2014 Ancient-Symbols.com  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of Ancient-Symbols.com  is prohibited.

ancient symbols
Ancient Symbols
Alchemy Symbols
Celtic Symbols
Celtic Knots
Chinese Symbols
Zodiac Symbols
Christian Symbols
Egyptian Symbols
Good Luck Symbols
Greek Symbols
Japanese Symbols
Mayan Symbols
Native American Symbol
Pagan Symbols
Peace Symbols
Religious Symbols
Roman Symbols
Sacred Geometry Symbols
Strength Symbols
Symbolic Pictures
Tattoo Symbols Buddhist Symbols Irish Symbols Hindu Symbols Symbols Influence on History Friendship Symbols The Lost Symbol Power Symbols Dream Symbols Star Symbols Motherhood Symbols

Related Resources

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Antike Symbole (Deutsch)

Древние символы (Russian)

Symboles Anciens (French)

古代符号 (Chinese)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

 Buddhist Symbols


Buddhism started as early as 4th or 6th BCE, when Siddharta Gautama started spreading his teachings of suffering, nirvana and rebirth in India. Siddharta himself was averse to accept images of himself, and used many different symbols to illustrate his teachings. There are eight different auspicious symbols of Buddhism, and many say that these represent the gifts that God made to Budhha when he achieved enlightenment.




It is not known what the role of the image was in Early Buddhism, although many surviving images can be found, because their symbolic or representative nature was not clearly explained in early texts. Among the earliest and most common symbols of Buddhism are the stupa, Dharma wheel, and the lotus flower. The dharma wheel, traditionally represented with eight spokes, can have a variety of meanings. It initially only meant royalty (concept of the "Monarch of the Wheel, or Chakravatin), but started to be used in a Buddhist context on the Pillars of Ashoka during the 3rd century BC. The Dharma wheel is generally seen as referring to the historical process of teaching the buddhadharma; the eight spokes refer to the Noble Eightfold Path. The lotus, as well, can have several meanings, often referring to the inherently pure potential of the mind.

Share the Symbols on this page:

Other early symbols include the trisula, a symbol use since around the 2nd century BC that combine the lotus, the vajra diamond rod and a symbolization of the three jewels (The Buddha, the dharma, the sangha). The swastika was traditionally used in India by Buddhists and Hindus as a good luck sign. In East Asia, the swastika is often used as a general symbol of Buddhism. Swastikas used in this context can either be left or right-facing.

Early Buddhism did not portray the Buddha himself and may have been aniconic. The first hint of a human representation in Buddhist symbolism appear with the Buddha footprint.


The parasol or umbrella

The parasol or umbrella
An umbrella can protect people from the different elements, like the sun or the rain. In this context, a parasol or umbrella can mean protection from suffering and harmful forces. It can also mean the enjoyment of the cool shade it provides.

 

The two golden fish

Two golden Fish
In older times, the two fish were drawn to symbolize the Ganges and the Yamuna rivers. It has, through interpretation, come to mean luck and fortune. It also means the courage and fearlessness to face the ocean of sufferings and to be able to swim freely like fish through water.


The Conch shell

The Conch shell
This large shell has been used in many countries as a traditional battle horn. In Buddhism, the white Conch shell that spirals to the right can mean the deep and joyful sound of the Dharma teachings. It is representative of the awakening disciples receive when they hear these teachings. The Conch shell can also mean the rousing of people from ignorance.


The lotus flower

The Lotus Flower

Lotus Flower Jewelry
Read more about the Lotus Flower
The lotus has been used in many teachings of Buddhism to impart the true nature of all mankind. The roots of the lotus plant are stuck deep in the mud, but it still grows above murky water and blossoms into a beautiful, sweet-smelling flower. The lotus can be analogous to how we rise up from our sufferings to reach enlightenment, beauty and clarity. Different-colored lotus plants mean different things in Buddhism. White means spiritual and mental purity, pink means the traditional Buddha, purple is for mysticism, red means love and compassion, while blue means wisdom.
 

The Banner of Victory

The Banner of Victory
This symbol represents how Buddha won over the demon Mara. This demon, in Buddhism, is synonymous to passion, lust and pride. The Banner of Victory is used to remind people that one must win over their own pride, lust and passions to be able to reach enlightenment.


The vase

The vase
A vase can be filled with many different things. The vase, in Buddhism, can mean the showering of health, wealth, prosperity and all the good things that come with enlightenment.


The Dharma wheel

The Dharma wheel
This wheel is also called the dharma chakra or the dhamma chakka and is often used to represent Buddha himself. It has also universally become the symbol for Buddhism. The dharma wheel has eight spokes, which represent Buddha’s Eightfold Path.

wheel of law


The eternal knot

The eternal knot
The intertwining of lines in the eternal knot is said to symbolize how everything is connected. It can also represent how religion and secular affairs, as well as compassion and wisdom are united and connected to each other.


bodhi treeThe Bodhi Tree, also known as Bo (from the Sinhalese Bo), was a large and very old Sacred Fig tree located in Bodh Gaya (about 100 km from Patna in the Indian state of Bihar), under which Siddhartha Gautama, the spiritual teacher and founder of Buddhism later known as Gautama Buddha, is said to have achieved enlightenment, or Bodhi. In religious iconography, the Bodhi tree is recognizable by its heart-shaped leaves, which are usually prominently displayed. It takes 100 to 3,000 years for a bodhi tree to fully grow.

The term "Bodhi Tree" is also widely applied to currently existing trees, particularly the Sacred Fig growing at the Mahabodhi Temple, which is a direct descendant of the original specimen. This tree is a frequent destination for pilgrims, being the most important of the four main Buddhist pilgrimage sites. Other holy Bodhi trees which have a great significance in the history of Buddhism are the Anandabodhi tree in Sravasti and the Bodhi tree in Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka. Both are believed to have been propagated from the original Bodhi tree.

 

buddha footprintThe footprint of the Buddha is an imprint of Gautama Buddha's one or both feet. There are two forms: natural, as found in stone or rock, and those made artificially. Many of the "natural" ones, of course, are acknowledged not to be actual footprints of the Buddha, but replicas or representations of them, which can be considered cetiya (Buddhist relics) and also an early aniconic and symbolic representation of the Buddha. The footprints of the Buddha abound throughout Asia, dating from various periods. They often bear distinguishing marks, such as a Dharmachakra at the centre of the sole, or the 32, 108 or 132 auspicious signs of the Buddha, engraved or painted on the sole.

empty throneAn Empty Throne lies in the concept of 'empty', an important element of mysticism. This was also symbolizing the royalty of Siddharta Gautama.

begging bowlBegging Bowl The begging bowl is the simplest but one of the most important objects in the daily lives of Buddhist monks. This has been the primary symbol of the chosen life of the Buddhist monk.

buddhist lionThe Lion - is one of buddhism`s most important symbols. The lion is the symbol of royalty that symbolized what the Buddha was a part of before attaining enlightenment. It is also the power of the Buddha's teaching and is quiet often compared with the roar of a lion.

auspicious symbolsThe Eight Auspicious Symbols - or (Ashtamangala) are a sacred suite of Eight Auspicious Signs endemic to a number of Dharmic Traditions such as Hinduism, Jainism, Buddhism, and Sikhism. The symbols or 'symbolic attributes' are yidam and teaching tools. Not only do these attributes, these energetic signatures, point to qualities of enlightened mindstream, but they are the investiture that ornaments these enlightened 'qualities'. Many cultural enumerations and variations of the Ashtamangala are extant.

Groupings of eight auspicious symbols were originally used in India at ceremonies such as an investiture or coronation of a king. An early grouping of symbols included: throne, swastika, handprint, hooked knot, vase of jewels, water libation flask, pair of fishes, lidded bowl. In Buddhism, these eight symbols of good fortune represent the offerings made by the gods to Shakyamuni Buddha immediately after he gained enlightenment.

The Umbrella or parasol (chhatra) embodies notions of wealth or royalty, for one had to be rich enough to possess such an item, and further, to have someone carry it. It points to the "royal ease" and power experienced in the Buddhist life of detachment.

The two fishes originally represented the two main sacred rivers of India - the Ganges and Yamuna. These rivers are associated with the lunar and solar channels which originate in the nostrils and carry the alternating rhythms of breath or prana. They have religious significance in Hindu, Jain and Buddhist traditions but also in Christianity (the sign of the fish, the feeding of the five thousand). In Buddhism, the fish symbolize happiness as they have complete freedom of movement in the water. They represent fertility and abundance. Often drawn in the form of carp which are regarded in the Orient as sacred on account of their elegant beauty, size and life-span.

The treasure vase or Urn of Wisdom represents health, longevity, wealth, prosperity, wisdom and the phenomenon of space.

The lotus flower, representing 'primordial purity' of body, speech, and mind, floating above the muddy waters of attachment and desire; represents the full blossoming of wholesome deeds in blissful liberation.

Conch - The right-turning white conch shell, representing the beautiful, deep, melodious, interpenetrating and pervasive sound of the Buddhadharma which awakens disciples from the deep slumber of ignorance and urges them to accomplish their own welfare and the welfare of others.

The Knot - The 'endless knot' or 'eternal knot' it represents the inter-twining of wisdom and compassion; represents the mutual dependence of religious doctrine and secular affairs.

Victory Banner - Dhvaja banner was a military standard of ancient Indian warfare. Makara Dhvaja has become latter an emblem of the Vedic god of love and desire - Kamadeva. Within the Tibetan tradition a list of eleven different forms of the victory banner is given to represent eleven specific methods for overcoming defilements. Many variations of the dhvaja's design can be seen on the roofs of Tibetan monasteries to symbolyze the Buddha's victory over four maras.

The Dharma-Wheel (Dharmachakra) - The Wheel of Law, sometimes representing Sakyamuni Buddha and the Dharma teaching; also representing the mandala and chakra. This symbol is commonly used by Tibetan Buddhists where it sometimes also includes an inner wheel of the Gankyil (Tibetan).

swastikaSwastika - In the Buddhist tradition, the swastika symbolizes the feet or footprints of the Buddha and is often used to mark the beginning of texts. Modern Tibetan Buddhism uses it as a clothing decoration. With the spread of Buddhism, it has passed into the iconography of China and Japan where it has been used to denote plurality, abundance, prosperity and long life.

four guardian kings

Four Guardian Kings - In the Buddhist faith, the Four Heavenly Kings are four guardian gods, each of whom watches over one cardinal direction of the world.


Buddha EyesBuddha Eyes - Also called Wisdom Eyes, this pair of eyes can usually be found depicted on all four sides of the Buddhist shrines known as Stupas. The symbol denotes the all-seeing and omniscient eyes of Buddha and is representative of the Lord’s presence all around. The curly line below the eyes in the middle (where the nose is on a face) is the Sanskrit numeral one that symbolizes the unity of everything and also signifies that the only way to attain enlightenment is through Buddha’s teachings. The dot between the eyes is indicative of the third eye, which represents spiritual awakening.
 





More Symbols:

African Symbols
Astrology Symbols
Healing Symbols
Jewish Symbols
Love Symbols
Masonic Symbols
Norse Symbols
Sacred Symbols
Sumerian Symbols
Tarot Symbols
Colors Symbols
Heart Symbols
Math Symbols
Islamic Symbols
Persian Symbols
Talismans Symbols
Metal Symbolism
Four Elements Symbolism
God Symbols
Dragon Symbolism
Archetypes
Occult Symbols
Solar & Lunar Symbols
Wiccan Symbols






Copyright © 2014 Ancient-Symbols.com  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of Ancient-Symbols.com  is prohibited.