Symboles Anciens
Symboles Anciens
Symboles Alchimiques
Symboles Celtiques
Nœuds Celtiques
Symboles Chinois
Symboles Chrétiens
Symboles Égyptiens
Symboles de Chance
Symboles Grecs
Symboles Japonais
Symboles Maya
Symboles Amérindiens
Symboles Païens
Symboles Païens
Symboles Religieux
Symboles Romains
Symboles Géométrie Sacrée
Symboles de Force
Images Symboliques
Symboles de Tatouages Symboles Bouddhistes Symboles Irlandais Symboles Hindous Symboles dans l'Histoire Symboles d'Amitié Le Symbole Perdu Symboles de Puissance Symboles des Rêves Symboles d'Étoile Symboles de Maternité

Ressources Liées

Ancient Symbols (English)

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Antike Symbole (Deutsch)

Древние символы (Russian)

古代符号 (Chinese)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

 Symboles Hindous


L'Hindouisme est rempli de symbolisme—certains disent même qu'aucune autre religion n'emploie aussi efficacement l'art du symbolisme que les Hindous. La plupart de ces symboles sont représentatifs des philosophies, des enseignements et même des dieux et déesses des Hindous eux-mêmes. Il y a deux catégories ou branches générales de symboles Hindous. La gestuelle des mains et le positionnement du corps sont appelés “mudras” tandis que les icônes et les dessins sont appelés “murti”. Certains symboles Hindous, comme le lotus et la conque, ressemblent aux symboles utilisés dans le Bouddhisme.





Om (ou Aum)

C'est le plus universel des symboles Hindous et sa sonorité est utilisée en méditation. Dans  l'Hindouisme, le mot “Om” est la première syllabe de n'importe quelle prière. Plus spécifiquement, Om est utilisé pour symboliser l'univers et la réalité ultime. Certaines personnes disent que ce symbole représente les trois aspects de Dieu : le Brahma (A), le Vishny (U) et le Shiva (M).

Om Symbol




La svastika

The swastika
Bien que ce symbole ait une connotation négative dans certaines parties du monde à cause de l'Allemagne Nazie, la svastika est en fait un signe de chance et de fortune. Cette variation de la croix était présente dans l'ancien Hindouisme et elle est utilisée pour représenter l'honnêteté, la vérité, la pureté et la stabilité. ses quatre angles ou pointes symbolisent les quatre directions, ou Vedas.





Le Sri Yantra

Aussi appelé Shri Chakra, ce symbole est caractérisé par neuf triangles entrelacés qui rayonnent à partir d'un point central. Sur les neuf, les quatre triangles à l'endroit représentent le côté masculin ou Shiva ; tandis que les cinq triangles inversés représentent le féminin, ou la Shakti (la Mère Divine). Dans l'ensemble, le Sri Yantra est utilisé pour symboliser le lien ou l'unité de la divinité masculine et féminine. Il peut aussi signifier l'unité et le lien de tout dans le cosmos.

Sri Yantra




Le tilaka

Tilaka
Ce symbole est souvent placé sur le front d'un dévot de l'Hindouisme. Il est toutefois différent du bindi porté par les femmes Hindoues. Le tilaka a beaucoup de formes différentes, en fonction de la coutume ou de l'histoire religieuse. Une dévotion à Vishnu est indiquée par un tilaka en forme de U, tandis que les lignes horizontales symbolisent une dévotion à Shiva.





Rudraksha

Le Rudraksha est un arbre que l'on trouve en Asie du Sud, au Népal, en Himalaya et même en Nouvelle-Guinée et en Australie. On dit que ses graines bleues symbolisent les larmes de Shiva, le Destructeur. La légende veut que lorsque Shiva a vu comment son peuple souffrait, il versa une larme de son oeil, qui grandi pour devenir l'arbre Rudraksha. Le nom Rudrashka vient en fait de "Rudra" (autre nom de Shiva) et "aksha", ce qui signifie les yeux. Les graines de cet arbre sont également utilisées pour faire des perles de prière ou des chapelets. Rudraksha




Le Shiva Lingam

The Shiva Lingam
En Hindouisme, plusieurs divinités représentent les forces naturelles du feu (Agni), du vent (Vayu), du soleil (Surya) et de la terre (Prithvi). Il y a plusieurs icônes utilisées pour symboliser ces divinités. Le Shiva Lingam, qui est utilisé pour représenter Shiva, est une colonne allongée qui ressemble assez à un pénis en érection.




Le lotus

Cette plante est représentative de la création et est utilisée pour symboliser Vishnu, Brahma et Lakshmi.

Lotus Flower

Pour plus d'informations cliquez sur Fleur de Lotus
 



Le Vîna

Veena
C'est un instrument à corde Indien qui représente l'art et l'apprentissage. Il est aussi utilisé pour la déesse Saraswati et le sage Narada.

bindiBindi - L'un des éléments les plus connus dans l'Hindouisme est le bindi, un point (souvent de couleur rouge) porté sur le front des femmes. C'est une forme de tilak, une marque symbolique portée par de nombreux hommes et  femmes Hindous, mais qui a un sens moins religieux que les autres tilaks. Traditionnellement, le bindi est porté sur le front des femmes mariées Hindoues. Il symbolise l'énergie féminine et on pense qu'il protège les femmes et leurs maris contre les mauvaises choses. Les bindis sont traditionnellement une simple marque faite avec de la pâte colorée de bois de santal, de sindoor ou de curcuma. Le bindi est le plus souvent un point rouge fait avec du vermillon.
brahmanBrahman - On peut dire que Brahman Lui-même/Elle-même constitue le matériau de construction essentiel de toute réalité, étant la substance à partir de laquelle toutes les choses proviennent. Brahman, tel qu'on le comprend par les écritures de l'Hindouisme, ainsi que les 'acharyas' de l'école de Vedanta, est une conception très particulière de l'absolu. Cette conception unique n'a été reproduite par aucune autre religion sur terre à ce jour, et est exclusive à l'Hindouisme.
fire altarAutel de Feu - L'autel de feu est considéré comme un symbole distinct des anciens rites Védiques. C'est à travers l'élément du feu, désignant la conscience divine, que les Hindous font des offrandes aux Dieux. Les sacrements Hindous sont solennisés avant le feu.

hindu flagDhvaja, ou 'drapeau', est la bannière orange ou rouge qui vole au-dessus des temples, lors des festivals et des processions. C'est un symbole de victoire, un signal pour tous que "Sanatana Dharma prévaudra". Sa couleur dénote la lueur vivifiante du soleil.

banyan tree

Vata, l'arbre de banian, symbolise l'Hindouisme, avec ses branches partant dans toutes les directions, tiré de nombreuses racines, diffusant l'ombre loin et largement, mais découlant pourtant d'un seul grand tronc. Siva en tant que Sage Silencieux est assis en dessous.

ganesha

Ganesh est le Seigneur des Obstacles et Souverain du Dharma. Assis sur Son trône, Il guide nos karmas à travers la création et la suppression des obstacles de notre chemin. Nous cherchons Sa permission et Sa bénédiction dans chaque entreprise.



Share the Symbols on this page:




More Symbols:

Symboles Africains
Symboles Astrologiques
Symboles de Guérison
Symboles Juifs
Symboles de l'Amour
Symboles Maçonniques
Symboles Nordiques
Symboles Sacrés
Symboles Sumériens
Symboles du Tarot
Symboles des Couleurs






Copyright © 2014 Ancient-Symbols.com  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of Ancient-Symbols.com  is prohibited.

ancient symbols
Ancient Symbols
Alchemy Symbols
Celtic Symbols
Celtic Knots
Chinese Symbols
Zodiac Symbols
Christian Symbols
Egyptian Symbols
Good Luck Symbols
Greek Symbols
Japanese Symbols
Mayan Symbols
Native American Symbol
Pagan Symbols
Peace Symbols
Religious Symbols
Roman Symbols
Sacred Geometry Symbols
Strength Symbols
Symbolic Pictures
Tattoo Symbols Buddhist Symbols Irish Symbols Hindu Symbols Symbols Influence on History Friendship Symbols The Lost Symbol Power Symbols Dream Symbols Star Symbols Motherhood Symbols

Related Resources

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Antike Symbole (Deutsch)

Древние символы (Russian)

Symboles Anciens (French)

古代符号 (Chinese)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

 Hindu Symbols


Hinduism is replete with symbolism—some even say that no other religion employs the art of symbolism as effectively as the Hindus. Most of these symbols are representative of the philosophies, teachings and even the gods and goddesses themselves of the Hindus. There are two general categories or branches of Hindui symbols. Hand gestures and the positioning of the body are called “mudras” while icons and drawings are called “murti.” Some Hindu symbols, like the lotus and the conch, are similar to the symbols used in Buddhism.





Om (or Aum)

This is the most universal of Hindu symbols and its sound is used in meditation. In Hinduism, the word “Om” is the first syllable in any prayer. More specifically, Om is used to symbolize the universe and the ultimate reality. Some people say that this symbol represents the three aspects of God: the Brahma (A), the Vishny (U) and the Shiva (M).

Om Symbol

Share the Symbols on this page:




The swastika

The swastika
Although this symbol has a negative connotation in some parts of the world because of Nazi Germany, the swastika is actually a sign of luck and fortune. This variation of the cross has been present in ancient Hinduism and is used to represent honesty, truth, purity and stability. Its four angles or points also symbolize the four directions, or Vedas.





The Sri Yantra

Also called the Shri Chakra, this symbol is characterized by nine interlocking triangles that radiate from a central point. Of the nine, the four upright triangles represent the masculine side or Shiva; while the five inverted triangles represent the feminine, or the Shakti (Divine Mother). As a whole, the Sri Yantra is used to symbolize the bond or unity of both the masculine and the feminine divinity. It can also mean the unity and bond of everything in the cosmos.

Sri Yantra




The tilaka

Tilaka
This symbol is often placed on the forehead of a devotee of Hinduism. This is different from the bindi worn by Hindu women, though. The tilaka comes in many different shapes, depending on the custom or religious affair. A devotion to Vishnu is indicated by a U-shaped tilaka, while horizontal lines symbolize a devotion to Shiva.





Rudraksha

The Rudraksha is a tree that is found in Southeast Asia, Nepal, the Himalayas and even New Guinea and Australia. Its blue seeds are said to symbolize the tears of Shiva, the Destroyer. Legend has it that when Shiva saw how his people suffered, he shed one tear from his eye, which grew into the Rudraksha tree. The name Rudrashka actually comes from “Rudra” (another name for Shiva) and “aksha,” which means eyes. The seeds from this tree are also used to make prayer beads or rosaries. Rudraksha




The Shiva Lingam

The Shiva Lingam
In Hinduism, several deities represent the natural forces fire (Agni), wind (Vayu), sun (Surya) and earth (Prithvi). There are several icons used to symbolize these deities. The Shiva Lingam, which is used to represent Shiva, is an elongated column that looks much like an erect penis.




The lotus

This plant is representative of creation and is used to symbolize Vishnu, Brahma and Lakshmi.

Lotus Flower

More information click Lotus Flower
 



The Veena

Veena
This is an Indian stringed instrument that represents art and learning. It is also used for the goddess Saraswati and the sage Narada.

bindiBindi - One of the most well known items in Hinduism is the bindi, a dot (often the color red) worn on women's foreheads. It is a form of the tilak, a symbolic mark worn by many Hindu men and women, but that has less religious meaning then other tilaks. Traditionally, the bindi is worn on the forehead of married Hindu women. It symbolizes female energy and is believed to protect women and their husbands from bad things. Bindis are traditionally a simple mark made with the paste of colored sandalwood, sindoor or turmeric. The bindi is most commonly a red dot made with vermilion.

brahmanBrahman - One can say that Brahman Itself (him/herself) constitutes the essential building material of all reality, being the substance from which all things proceed. Brahman, as understood by the scriptures of Hinduism, as well as by the 'acharyas' of the Vedanta school, is a very specific conception of the absolute. This unique conception has not been replicated by any other religion on earth to this day, and is exclusive to Hinduism.
fire altarFire Altar - The fire altar is regarded as a distinct symbol of ancient Vedic rites. It is through the fire element, denoting divine consciousness, that the Hindu make offerings to the Gods. Hindu sacraments are solemnized before the fire.

hindu flagDhvaja, or 'flag,' is the orange or red banner flown above temples, at festivals and in processions. It is a symbol of victory, signal to all that "Sanatana Dharma shall prevail." Its color betokens the sun's life-giving glow.

banyan tree

Vata, the banyan tree, symbolizes Hinduism, which branches out in all directions, draws from many roots, spreads shade far and wide, yet stems from one great trunk. Siva as Silent Sage sits beneath it.

ganesha

Ganesha is the Lord of Obstacles and Ruler of Dharma. Seated upon His throne, He guides our karmas through creating and removing obstacles from our path. We seek His permission and blessings in every undertaking.

trishula

The Trishula Trishula or the Trident is a prominent Hindu symbol that is associated with Lord Shiva. Though this three-pronged symbol is usually viewed as a weapon used by the Lord for the protection and restoration of Dharma, it actually carries deeper meanings. It is representative of the Trinity of Brahma, Vishnu and Mahesh and stands for the balance between the forces of creation, preservation and destruction. It is also considered symbolic of the three Gunas – Rajas, Tamas and Sattva. Another symbolic representation of the Trishula is that of the three facets of consciousness, namely, cognition, affection and conation.

tripundra

Tripundra The Tripundra is a prominent Hindu symbol that is used by Shaivites or the devotees of Lord Shiva. Tripundra is typically a tilak, with three horizontal lines made from bhasma or sacred ash applied on the forehead. It may have a red dot or bindu superimposed in the center. Some Shiva followers also draw the three ash strips of Tripundra on the sides of their arms.

The Tripundra represents the three godly forces of creation, sustenance and destruction through the three lines, while the ash's symbolizes purification and burning away of anava (ego), maya(illusions) and karma (actions/deeds). The dot is symbolic of the rise or quickening of spiritual insight.




More Symbols:

African Symbols
Astrology Symbols
Healing Symbols
Jewish Symbols
Love Symbols
Masonic Symbols
Norse Symbols
Sacred Symbols
Sumerian Symbols
Tarot Symbols
Colors Symbols
Heart Symbols
Math Symbols
Islamic Symbols
Persian Symbols
Talismans Symbols
Metal Symbolism
Four Elements Symbolism
God Symbols
Dragon Symbolism
Archetypes
Occult Symbols
Solar & Lunar Symbols
Wiccan Symbols
Gauguin Symbolism
Atheist Symbols
Bird Symbols
Water Symbols
Mythological Symbols
Kabbalah Symbols
Lotus Flower
Tibetan Symbols
Aboriginal Symbols






Copyright © 2014 Ancient-Symbols.com  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of Ancient-Symbols.com  is prohibited.