Symboles Anciens
Symboles Anciens
Symboles Alchimiques
Symboles Celtiques
Nœuds Celtiques
Symboles Chinois
Symboles Chrétiens
Symboles Égyptiens
Symboles de Chance
Symboles Grecs
Symboles Japonais
Symboles Maya
Symboles Amérindiens
Symboles Païens
Symboles Païens
Symboles Religieux
Symboles Romains
Symboles Géométrie Sacrée
Symboles de Force
Images Symboliques
Symboles de Tatouages Symboles Bouddhistes Symboles Irlandais Symboles Hindous Symboles dans l'Histoire Symboles d'Amitié Le Symbole Perdu Symboles de Puissance Symboles des Rêves Symboles d'Étoile Symboles de Maternité

Ressources Liées

Ancient Symbols (English)

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Antike Symbole (Deutsch)

Древние символы (Russian)

古代符号 (Chinese)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

Symboles Juifs et Leurs Significations

La vie juive abonde en symboles et en objets religieux - les représentations visuelles et tangibles de ses nombreuses nobles valeurs et idéaux que les mots seuls ne peuvent pas décrire de manière adéquate. Ces symboles ne sont pas tous égaux en sainteté. Parce que le contenu de la mezouza est issu de la Torah et est préparé de manière identique à celle d'un rouleau de la Torah, ils nous aident non seulement à reconstituer les rituels séculaires mais aussi à ramener des aspects de la longue histoire du peuple Juif à la vie.




Voici quelques-uns des symboles juifs les plus populaires et leurs significations.

menorahMenorah - La menorah est décrite dans la Bible comme le chandelier à sept branches fait en or et utilisé dans le sanctuaire portable mis en place par Moïse dans le désert et plus tard dans le Temple à Jérusalem. De l'huile d'olive fraiche de la qualité la plus pure était brulée quotidiennement pour éclairer ses lampes. La menorah a été un symbole du Judaïsme depuis les temps anciens et c'est l'emblème sur le blason de l'état moderne d'Israël. L'historien Romain-Juif Flavius Josephus déclare que trois des sept lampes ne sont autorisées à brûler que le jour ; toutefois, selon le Talmud, on laissait brûler uniquement la lampe centrale durant toute la journée, dans laquelle on mettait autant d'huile que dans les autres. Bien que toutes les autres lumières s'étaient éteintes, cette lumière enterrait l'huile, malgré le fait qu'elle avait été allumée la première.

yarmulkeUne kippah ou kipa, également connue sous le nom de yarmoulka, ou chapeau de hech, est une calotte hémisphérique ou en forme de plateau, faite habituellement en tissu, souvent portée par les hommes Juifs Orthodoxes pour répondre à l'exigence  coutumière que leur tête doit être couverte tout le temps, et parfois elle est portée à la fois par les hommes et, moins fréquemment, par les femmes dans les communautés Conservatrices et Réformatrices au moment de la prière.

star of davidÉtoile de David - Sa forme est celle d'un hexagramme, composé de deux triangles équilatéraux. L'hexagramme a été utilisé comme un symbole du Judaïsme depuis le  17ème siècle, avec des précédents aux 14ème et 16ème siècles en Europe Centrale, où le Bouclier de David était en partie utilisé en conjonction avec le Sceau de Salomon (l'hexagramme) sur les drapeaux Juifs. L'hexagramme apparait occasionnellement dans les contextes Juifs depuis l'Antiquité, apparemment en tant que motif décoratif. Par exemple, en Israël, il y a une pierre portant un hexagramme issue de l'arche d'une synagogue du 3ème ou 4ème siècle en Galilée.
chai jewish symbolChai - Ce symbole, communément vu sur les colliers et autres bijoux et ornements, est simplement le mot Hébreu Chai (vie), avec les deux lettres Hébraïques Cheit et Yod attachées l'une à l'autre.
hamesh handMain de Hamesh - La main de hamesh ou main de hamsa est un motif populaire dans la bijouterie Juive. Dans de nombreuses cultures du monde entier, ce motif de main représente une protection contre le mauvais oeil, et le mauvais oeil était historiquement une superstition populaire parmi les Juifs.

La valeur symbolique des nombres

Le chiffre trois était le symbole de la sainteté. Le Saint des Saints occupait un tiers, et la Sainte Place les deux tiers du Temple tout entier. Les tapisseries avaient dix fois trois aunes de long, et il y avait trois récipients chacun pour  l'offrande à l'autel du feu, l'autel des encens, et l'Arche. Le chandelier faisait deux fois trois bras (à côté de l'arbre, qui tenait aussi une lampe), et chaque bras avait trois boutons. La bénédiction du prêtre était constituée de trois parties, et dans l'invocation de Dieu le mot "saint" était répété trois fois.

Le symbolisme du chiffre quatre était basé sur la contemplation de la quaternité comme on la trouve dans l'univers, qui comprenait à la fois le ciel et la terre. Le chiffre quatre connotait le ciel comme le trône de Dieu.

Le Saint des Saints avait la forme d'un cube, et la sainte Place était un double cube en longueur. Tous les récipients du Temple à Jérusalem (excepte le chandelier) étaient rectangulaire. Selon Ezekiel i. 26-28, le chiffre quatre symbolisait la révélation divine, tandis que d'après le point de vue de Philo c'était le chiffre de l'harmonie parfaite.

Le chiffre cinq caractérise le semi-achèvement. Les dimensions du rideau du Saint des Saints faisaient quatre aunes sur cinq ; l'autel dans la cour couvrait une surface de cinq aunes carré ; et il y avait cinq piliers à l'entrée du Tabernacle.

Le chiffre six symbolise l'imperfection.

Le chiffre sept était le symbole général pour toute association avec Dieu, et c'était le chiffre religieux préféré du Judaïsme, caractérisant l'engagement de sainteté et de sanctification, et aussi tout ce qui était saint et sanctificateur dans son objectif. Le chandelier avait sept lampes, et les actes d'expiation et de purification étaient accompagnés par sept aspergements. Les établissements du Sabbat, de l'année Sabbatique et de l'année du jubilée étaient basés sur le chiffre sept, comme l'étaient les périodes de purification et de deuil. Le chiffre 7 est le chiffre Divin de l'accomplissement.

Le chiffre huit symbolise les nouveaux départs. Selon la Kabbale dans le Zohar le chiffre huit signifie ceci car le huitième jour était le premier jour après la création quand Dieu se remis au travail ; la semaine recommença à nouveau.

Le nombre dix symbolise la perfection absolue. La cour vers le Tabernacle avait une longueur de dix fois dix aunes, et une largeur de cinq fois dix aunes, et dans le Saint des Saints étaient préservés les Dix Commandements.

Le nombre douze, étant le produit de trois fois quatre, caractérisait l'union du peuple avec Dieu. Sur la table il y avait douze miches de pain, et le pectoral du souverain sacrificateur contenait douze pierres précieuses comme emblèmes des douze tribus d'Israël, qui campaient autour du Sanctuaire.

Le nombre treize symbolise les principes de foi et de miséricorde divine.

Le nombre dix-huit est considéré comme important car le mot Hébreux pour "vie" est (chai), qui a une valeur numérique de 18.

Le nombre vingt-six symbolise le nom de Dieu.

 



Ressources :
Bijouterie Juive - Par l'artist David Weitzman


 



More Symbols:

Symboles Africains
Symboles Astrologiques
Symboles de Guérison
Symboles Juifs
Symboles de l'Amour
Symboles Maçonniques
Symboles Nordiques
Symboles Sacrés
Symboles Sumériens
Symboles du Tarot
Symboles des Couleurs






Copyright © 2014 Ancient-Symbols.com  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of Ancient-Symbols.com  is prohibited.

ancient symbols
Ancient Symbols
Alchemy Symbols
Celtic Symbols
Celtic Knots
Chinese Symbols
Zodiac Symbols
Christian Symbols
Egyptian Symbols
Good Luck Symbols
Greek Symbols
Japanese Symbols
Mayan Symbols
Native American Symbol
Pagan Symbols
Peace Symbols
Religious Symbols
Roman Symbols
Sacred Geometry Symbols
Strength Symbols
Symbolic Pictures
Tattoo Symbols Buddhist Symbols Irish Symbols Hindu Symbols Symbols Influence on History Friendship Symbols The Lost Symbol Power Symbols Dream Symbols Star Symbols Motherhood Symbols

Related Resources

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Antike Symbole (Deutsch)

Древние символы (Russian)

Symboles Anciens (French)

古代符号 (Chinese)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

Jewish Symbols and Their Meanings

Jewish life abounds in symbols and religious objects - visual and tangible representations of its many lofty values and ideals which words alone cannot adequately describe. Not all of these symbols are equal in sanctity. Because the content of the mezuzah is from the Torah and is prepared in the identical manner as a Torah scroll, they help us not only to reenact time-honored rituals but to bring aspects of the Jewish people's long history to life.

Share the Symbols on this page:

Here are some of the most popular jewish symbols and their meanings.

menorahMenorah - The menorah is described in the Bible as the seven-branched candelabrum made of gold and used in the portable sanctuary set up by Moses in the wilderness and later in the Temple in Jerusalem. Fresh olive oil of the purest quality was burned daily to light its lamps. The menorah has been a symbol of Judaism since ancient times and is the emblem on the coat of arms of the modern state of Israel. The Roman-Jewish historian Flavius Josephus states that three of the seven lamps were allowed to burn during the day also; however, according to the Talmud, only the center lamp was left burning all day, into which as much oil was put as into the others. Although all the other lights were extinguished, that light buried oil, in spite of the fact that it had been kindled first.




yarmulkeA kippah or kipa, also known as a yarmulke, or hech cap, is a hemispherical or platter-shaped skullcap, usually of cloth, often worn by Orthodox Jewish men to fulfill the customary requirement that their head be covered at all times, and sometimes worn by both men and, less frequently, women in Conservative and Reform communities at times of prayer.

star of davidStar of David - Its shape is that of a hexagram, the compound of two equilateral triangles. The hexagram has been in use as a symbol of Judaism since the 17th century, with precedents in the 14th to 16th centuries in Central Europe, where the Shield of David was partly used in conjunction with the Seal of Solomon (the hexagram) on Jewish flags. The hexagram does appear occasionally in Jewish contexts since antiquity, apparently as a decorative motif. For example, in Israel, there is a stone bearing a hexagram from the arch of a 3-4th century synagogue in the Galilee.
chai jewish symbolChai - This symbol, commonly seen on necklaces and other jewelry and ornaments, is simply the Hebrew word Chai (living), with the two Hebrew letters Cheit and Yod attached to each other.
hamesh handHamesh Hand - The hamesh hand or hamsa hand is a popular motif in Jewish jewelry. In many cultures around the world, this hand pattern represents a protection against the evil eye, and the evil eye has historically been a popular superstition among Jews.
dreidel Dreidel: The Dreidel is a popular Jewish symbol associated with the religious holiday of Hanukkah. The term is a Yiddish derivation of the German word ‘Dreden’, meaning ‘to turn’. Its Hebrew name is ‘Sevivon’, which traces its roots to ‘savov’ that also denotes ‘to turn’.
The Dreidel is a 4-sided spinning top, a gambling toy that is a Jewish variant of the European ‘totum’ or ‘teetotum’. It is usually used during Hanukkah by children to play for gelt, which may comprise of coins, chocolate coins, candy, nuts, etc. The Dreidel is inscribed with 4 Hebrew letters, one on each side. These are Nun, Gimel, Hei and Shin, where nun stands for ‘nothing’, Gimel for ‘all’, Hei for ‘half’ and Shin for ‘put in’ and these terms govern the flow of the gambling game. It is believed that the four letters are an acronym for ‘nes gadoi haya sham’ that means ‘a great miracle happened there’, thereby signifying the importance of the Hanukkah festival.
tallit-tzitzit Tallit and Tzitzit : Tallit is a four-cornered Jewish prayer shawl that men and women wear during the morning service. Ideally, the garment should be big enough to be draped over the shoulders and should not be made from a mix of wool and linen. The religious significance of the Tallit lies in the Tzizit, the detailed fringes that are tied to each corner of the Tallit in accordance with commandments in the Torah. The Tallit and the Tzizit are meant as reminders of the Mitzvot, for preparing the mind and the heart for prayer, and for inspiring reverence for God.

The symbolic values of numbers

The number three was the symbol of holiness. The Holy of Holies occupied one-third, and the Holy Place two-thirds, of the entire Temple. The tapestries were ten times three ells in length, and there were three vessels each for the altar of burnt offering, the altar of incense, and the Ark. The candlestick had twice three arms (besides the shaft, which also held a lamp), and each arm had three knobs. The blessing of the priest consisted of three sections, and in the invocation of God the word "holy" was repeated thrice.

The symbolism of the number four was based on the contemplation of the quaternity as found in the universe, which included both heaven and earth. The number four connoted heaven as the throne of God.

The Holy of Holies was in the form of a cube, and the Holy Place was a double cube in length. All the vessels of the Temple in Jerusalem (except the candlestick) were rectangular. According to Ezekiel i. 26-28, the number four symbolized the divine revelation, while in the view of Philo it was the number of complete harmony.

The number five typified semicompletion. The dimensions of the curtain of the Holy of Holies were four ells by five; the altar in the court covered a surface of five square ells; and there were five pillars at the entrance to the Tabernacle.

The number six symbolizes imperfection.

The number seven was the general symbol for all association with God, and was the favorite religious number of Judaism, typifying the covenant of holiness and sanctification, and also all that was holy and sanctifying in purpose. The candlestick had seven lamps, and the acts of atonement and purification were accompanied by a sevenfold sprinkling. The establishment of the Sabbath, the Sabbatical year, and the year of jubilee was based on the number seven, as were the periods of purification and of mourning. The number 7 is the Divine number of completion.

The number eight symbolizes new beginnings. According to Kaballah in the Zohar the number eight number signifies this because the eight day was the first day after creation when God returned to work; the week began again.

The number ten symbolized absolute completeness. The court to the Tabernacle was ten times ten ells long, and five times ten ells wide, and in the Holy of Holies the Ten Commandments were preserved.

The number twelve, being the product of three and four, typified the union of the people with God. On the table were twelve loaves of show-bread, and the breastplate of the priest contained twelve precious stones as emblems of the twelve tribes of Israel, which camped round about the Sanctuary.

The number thirteen symbolizes the principles of faith and God's mercy.

The number eighteen is considered significant because the Hebrew word for "life" is (chai), which has a numerical value of 18.

The number twenty six symbolizes God's name.

 



Resources:
Jewish Jewelry - By the artist David Weitzman


 



More Symbols:

African Symbols
Astrology Symbols
Healing Symbols
Jewish Symbols
Love Symbols
Masonic Symbols
Norse Symbols
Sacred Symbols
Sumerian Symbols
Tarot Symbols
Colors Symbols
Heart Symbols
Math Symbols
Islamic Symbols
Persian Symbols
Talismans Symbols
Metal Symbolism
Four Elements Symbolism
God Symbols
Dragon Symbolism
Archetypes
Occult Symbols
Solar & Lunar Symbols
Wiccan Symbols
Gauguin Symbolism
Atheist Symbols
Bird Symbols
Water Symbols
Mythological Symbols
Kabbalah Symbols
Lotus Flower
Tibetan Symbols






Copyright © 2014 Ancient-Symbols.com  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of Ancient-Symbols.com  is prohibited.