Symboles Anciens
Symboles Anciens
Symboles Alchimiques
Symboles Celtiques
Nœuds Celtiques
Symboles Chinois
Symboles Chrétiens
Symboles Égyptiens
Symboles de Chance
Symboles Grecs
Symboles Japonais
Symboles Maya
Symboles Amérindiens
Symboles Païens
Symboles Païens
Symboles Religieux
Symboles Romains
Symboles Géométrie Sacrée
Symboles de Force
Images Symboliques
Symboles de Tatouages Symboles Bouddhistes Symboles Irlandais Symboles Hindous Symboles dans l'Histoire Symboles d'Amitié Le Symbole Perdu Symboles de Puissance Symboles des Rêves Symboles d'Étoile Symboles de Maternité

Ressources Liées

Ancient Symbols (English)

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Antike Symbole (Deutsch)

Древние символы (Russian)

古代符号 (Chinese)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

 Symboles Romains

Collection de Symboles Romains anciens et modernes




the greek minotaurLe Minotaure Dans la mythologie Grecque, le Minotaure était une créature mi-humaine mi-taureau. [1] Il habitait au centre du Labyrinthe, qui était une construction complexe en forme de labyrinthe [2] construite pour le Roi Minos de Crète et conçue par l'architecte Dédale et son fils Icare qui ont reçu l'ordre de le construire pour retenir le Minotaure. Le site historique de Cnossos est habituellement considéré comme le site du labyrinthe. Le Minotaure a finalement été tué par Thésée.

<



"Minotaure" est la formule Grecque pour "Taureau de Minos." Le taureau était connu en Crête en tant qu'Astérion, un nom partagé avec le père adoptif de Minos.
labrysLe Labrys est le terme pour une double hache, connue chez les Grecs Classiques en tant que pelekys ou sagaris, et chez les Romains en tant que bipennis.

On trouve le symbolisme du labrys dans la religion, la mythologie et l'art Minoen, Thrace, Grec et Byzantin datant du milieu de l'âge du Bronze. Le labrys apparait aussi dans le symbolisme religieux et la mythologie Africaine (voir Shango).

Le labrys était autrefois un symbole du fascisme Grec. Aujourd'hui il est parfois utilisé comme un symbole du Néopaganisme Hellénique. En tant que symbole du LGBT il représente le lesbianisme et le pouvoir féminin ou matriarcal.

Bijouterie de Symboles Romains Liée

Par l'Artiste - David Weiztman et Ka Gold Jewelry

The Labyrinth
Alchemical Wedding Talisman Vesica Pisces silver
Le Labyrinthe
Mariage Alchimique Vesica Pisces en argent



manofico.jpg (4127 bytes)La Mano Fico La mano fico, aussi appelée figa, est une amulette Italienne d'origine ancienne. On a trouvé des exemples datant de l'Époque Romaine, et elle a également été utilisée par les Étrusques. Mano signifie "main" et fico ou figa signifie "figue", avec la connotation argotique idiomatique des organes génitaux de la femme. (Un équivalent en argot anglais pourrait aussi bien être "la main vagin"). Elle représente un geste de la main dans lequel le pouce est poussé entre l'index et le majeur pliés dans une imitation évidente des rapports hétérosexuels.
asclepiuswand-4.jpg (7762 bytes)Le bâton d'Asclépios, ou tige d'Esculape est un symbole Grec ancien associé à l'astrologie et à la guérison des malades par la médecine. La tige d'Esculape symbolise les arts de la guérison en combinant le serpent qui, en perdant sa peau, est un symbole de renaissance et de la fertilité,  avec le bâton, un  symbole d'autorité digne du dieu de la Médecine. Le  serpent enroulé autour du bâton est largement revendiqué comme une espèce de  couleuvre, Elaphe longissima, aussi connue en tant que couleuvre d'Esculape ou d'Asclépios.  Elle est originaire de l'Europe du Sud, d'Asie Mineure et de certaines régions d'Europe Centrale, apparemment apportée par les Romains pour ses propriétés curatives.
solar crossLa Croix Solaire ou Croix du Soleil présente un cercle autour d'une croix, la croix solaire a de nombreuses variations y compris celle sur cette page. C'est un symbole ancient ; des gravures ont été trouvées  en 1980 sur les pieds d'urnes funéraires de l'Âge du Bronze à Southworth Hall Barrow, Croft, Cheshire, en Angleterre et les urnes remontent à environ 1440 avant J.-C. Ce symbole a été utilisé à travers l'histoire par différentes religions, groupes et familles (comme l'écusson d'une famille Japonaise de samouraïs), faisant finalement son chemin dans l'iconographie Chrétienne.
fascesFasces, une forme plurielle du mot Latin fascis, symbolise le pouvoir et la juridiction sommaires, et/ou "la force à travers l'unité".[2]

Les fasces romaines traditionnelles se composait d'un fagot de tiges de bouleaux blancs, attachées ensemble en cylindre avec un ruban de cuir rouge, et comprenant souvent une hache en bronze (ou parfois deux) parmi les tiges, avec la(les) lame(s) sur le côté, en saillie hors du fagot.

Il était utilisé comme un symbole de la République Romaine en de nombreuses circonstances, y compris en étant porté dans des processions, de la manière dont un drapeau pourrait être porté aujourd'hui.

delphi omphalosL'Omphalos - Un omphalos est un ancien artéfact religieux en pierre, ou baetylus. En Grec, le mot omphalos signifie "nombril" (comparez le nom de la Reine Omphale). Selon les Grecs anciens, Zeus envoya deux aigles voler à travers le monde pour se rencontrer en son centre, le "nombril" du monde. Les pierres d'Omphalos désignaient ce point où furent érigés plusieurs domaines entourant la Mer Méditerranée ; le plus célèbre de ceux-ci était l'oracle de Delphes.
gorgon.jpg (7063 bytes)La Gorgone Dans la mythologie Grecque, une soi-disant gorgone, traduction de gorgo ou gorgon, "terrible" ou, selon certains, "rugissant fort", était un monstre féminin vicieux avec des crocs acérés qui était une déité protectrice issue des premiers concepts religieux. Son pouvoir était si puissant que quiconque tentait de la regarder était transformé en pierre ; par conséquent, de telles images étaient mises sur des éléments issus de temples aux cratères de vin pour leur protection. La Gorgone portait une ceinture de serpents qui étaient entrelacés comme un fermoir, s'affrontant les uns-les autres. Il y en avait trois : Méduse, Sthéno et Euryalé. Seule Méduse était mortelle, les deux autres étaient immortelles.
labrynth.jpg (6296 bytes)Le labyrinthe Dans la mythologie Grecque, le Labyrinthe (du Grec labyrinthos) était une structure élaborée conçue et construite par le légendaire artificier Dédale pour le Roi Minos de Crête à Cnossos. Sa fonction était de retenir le Minotaure, une créature mi-humaine mi-taureau et qui fut finalement tuée par le héros Athénien Thésée. Dédale avait créé le Labyrinthe si savamment que lui-même pu à peine y échapper quand il l'eut construit. Thésée était aidé par Ariane, qui lui fournit un fil fatidique, littéralement "l'indice" pour retrouver son chemin.
hygeia.jpg (11450 bytes)La coupe d'Hygie Le symbole de la “Coupe d'Hygie” est le symbole international de la pharmacie le plus largement reconnu. Dans la mythologie Grecque, Hygie était la fille et l'assistante d'Esculape (parfois orthographié Asclépios), le Dieu de la Médecine et de la Guérison. Le symbole classique d'Hygie était une coupe contenant une potion médicinale avec le serpent de la Sagesse (ou de la protection) la partageant. C'est le même serpent de la Sagesse qui apparait sur le caducée, le bâton d'Esculape, qui est le symbole de la médecine.

Share the Symbols on this page:




More Symbols:

Symboles Africains
Symboles Astrologiques
Symboles de Guérison
Symboles Juifs
Symboles de l'Amour
Symboles Maçonniques
Symboles Nordiques
Symboles Sacrés
Symboles Sumériens
Symboles du Tarot
Symboles des Couleurs






Copyright © 2014 Ancient-Symbols.com  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of Ancient-Symbols.com  is prohibited.

ancient symbols
Ancient Symbols
Alchemy Symbols
Celtic Symbols
Celtic Knots
Chinese Symbols
Zodiac Symbols
Christian Symbols
Egyptian Symbols
Good Luck Symbols
Greek Symbols
Japanese Symbols
Mayan Symbols
Native American Symbol
Pagan Symbols
Peace Symbols
Religious Symbols
Roman Symbols
Sacred Geometry Symbols
Strength Symbols
Symbolic Pictures
Tattoo Symbols Buddhist Symbols Irish Symbols Hindu Symbols Symbols Influence on History Friendship Symbols The Lost Symbol Power Symbols Dream Symbols Star Symbols Motherhood Symbols

Related Resources

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Antike Symbole (Deutsch)

Древние символы (Russian)

Symboles Anciens (French)

古代符号 (Chinese)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

 Roman Symbols

Collection of ancient and modern Roman Symbols

Share the Symbols on this page:

the greek minotaurThe Minotaur In Greek mythology, the Minotaur was a creature that was part man and part bull.[1] It dwelt at the center of the Labyrinth, which was an elaborate maze-like construction[2] built for King Minos of Crete and designed by the architect Daedalus and his son Icarus who were ordered to build it to hold the Minotaur. The historical site of Knossos is usually identified as the site of the labyrinth. The Minotaur was eventually killed by Theseus.






"Minotaur" is Greek for "Bull of Minos." The bull was known in Crete as Asterion, a name shared with Minos's foster father.
labrysLabrys is the term for a doubleheaded axe, known to the Classical Greeks as pelekys or sagaris, and to the Romans as a bipennis.

The labrys symbolism is found in Minoan, Thracian, Greek, and Byzantine religion, mythology, and art, dating from the Middle Bronze Age onwards. The labrys also appears in African religious symbolism and mythology (see Shango).

The labrys was formerly a symbol of Greek fascism. Today it is sometimes used as a symbol of Hellenic Neopaganism. As an LGBT symbol it represents lesbianism and female or matriarchal power.

Related Roman Symbols Jewelry

By the Artist - David Weiztman and Ka Gold Jewelry

The Labyrinth
Alchemical Wedding Talisman Vesica Pisces silver
The Labyrinth
Alchemical Wedding Vesica Pisces silver



manofico.jpg (4127 bytes)The Mano Fico The mano fico, also called figa, is an Italian amulet of ancient origin. Examples have been found from the Roman era, and it was also used by the Etruscans. Mano means "hand" and fico or figa means "fig," with the idiomatic slang connotation of a woman's genitals. (An English slang equivalent might as well be "vagina hand.") It represents a hand gesture in which the thumb is thrust between the curled index and middle fingers in obvious imitation of hetorsexual intercourse.
asclepiuswand-4.jpg (7762 bytes)The asclepius wand, or asclepius rod is is an ancient Greek symbol associated with astrology and with healing the sick through medicine. The rod of Asclepius symbolizes the healing arts by combining the serpent, which in shedding its skin is a symbol of rebirth and fertility, with the staff, a symbol of authority befitting the god of Medicine. The snake wrapped around the staff is widely claimed to be a species of rat snake, Elaphe longissima, also known as the Aesculapian or Asclepian snake. It is native to southeastern Europe, Asia Minor, and some central European spa regions, apparently brought there by Romans for their healing properties.
solar crossThe Solar Cross or Sun Cross features a circle around a cross, the solar cross has many variations including the one on this page. It is an ancient symbol; carvings of which were found in 1980 on the bases of Bronze-age burial urns at Southworth Hall Barrow, Croft, Cheshire, England and the urns date back to circa 1440 BC. This symbol has been used throughout history by different religions, groups and families (as a Japanese samurai family crest), eventually working its way into Christian iconography.
fascesFasces, a plurale tantum, from the Latin word fascis, symbolizes summary power and jurisdiction, and/or "strength through unity".[2]

The traditional Roman fasces consisted of a bundle of white birch rods, tied together with a red leather ribbon into a cylinder, and often including a bronze axe (or sometimes two) amongst the rods, with the blade(s) on the side, projecting from the bundle.

It was used as a symbol of the Roman Republic in many circumstances, including being carried in processions, much the way a flag might be carried today.
delphi omphalosThe Omphalos - An omphalos is an ancient religious stone artifact, or baetylus. In Greek, the word omphalos means "navel" (compare the name of Queen Omphale). According to the ancient Greeks, Zeus sent out two eagles to fly across the world to meet at its center, the "navel" of the world. Omphalos stones used to denote this point were erected in several areas surrounding the Mediterranean Sea; the most famous of those was at the oracle in Delphi.
gorgon.jpg (7063 bytes)The Gorgon In Greek mythology, a so called gorgon, transl. gorgo or gorgon, "terrible" or, according to some, "loud-roaring" was a vicious female monster with sharp fangs who was a protective deity from early religious concepts. Her power was so strong that anyone attempting to look upon her would be turned to stone; therefore, such images were put upon items from temples to wine kraters for protection. The Gorgon wore a belt of serpents that intertwined as a clasp, confronting each other. There were three of them: Medusa, Stheno and Euryale. Only Medusa was mortal, the other two are immortal.
labrynth.jpg (6296 bytes)The labyrinth In Greek mythology, the Labyrinth (Greek   labyrinthos) was an elaborate structure designed and built by the legendary artificer Daedalus for King Minos of Crete at Knossos. Its function was to hold the Minotaur, a creature that was half man and half bull and was eventually killed by the Athenian hero Theseus. Daedalus had made the Labyrinth so cunningly that he himself could barely escape it after he built it. Theseus was aided by Ariadne, who provided him with a fateful thread, literally the "clew", or "clue", to wind his way back again.
hygeia.jpg (11450 bytes)The bowl of Hygeia The “Bowl of Hygeia” symbol is the most widely recognized international symbol of pharmacy. In Greek mythology, Hygeia was the daughter and assistant of Aesculapius (sometimes spelled Asklepios), the God of Medicine and Healing. Hygeia's classical symbol was a bowl containing a medicinal potion with the serpent of Wisdom (or guardianship) partaking it. This is the same serpent of Wisdom, which appears on the caduceus, the staff of Aesculapius, which is the symbol of medicine.
cimaruta.jpg (11450 bytes)Cimaruta This is an ancient Italian amulet that is typically hung over an infant’s crib or worn around the neck. It is supposed to offer protection from the evil eye. It means the ‘sprig of rue’ and refers to the one of the most sacred Italian plants. The charm is made from silver and shaped as a rue sprig with 3 main branches. These symbolize the triple aspect of moon goddess (Diana Triformis) as a maiden, mother & crone. Several small charms hang on the tips of the branches, such as key that represents access to knowledge and power; fish that is symbolic of fertility and abundance; hand to fend off evil effect; flower for protection; and crescent moon representing the horns of God.
Knot of HerculesKnot of Hercules Also known as Heracles Knot, Love Knot and Marriage Knot, the Knot of Hercules is a famous Roman and Greek protective charm. This strong knot, made with two intertwined ropes, was considered an important part of a Roman bride's wedding dress. Hercules was regarded as the guardian of married life and so, the Knot of Hercules became symbolic of a happy and fruitful marriage. It was tied around the bride's waist and could be untied only by her husband. As the Knot of Hercules symbolized lasting love and commitment, it came to be used as love tokens during the medieval times.


More Symbols:

African Symbols
Astrology Symbols
Healing Symbols
Jewish Symbols
Love Symbols
Masonic Symbols
Norse Symbols
Sacred Symbols
Sumerian Symbols
Tarot Symbols
Colors Symbols
Heart Symbols
Math Symbols
Islamic Symbols
Persian Symbols
Talismans Symbols
Metal Symbolism
Four Elements Symbolism
God Symbols
Dragon Symbolism
Archetypes
Occult Symbols
Solar & Lunar Symbols
Wiccan Symbols
Gauguin Symbolism
Atheist Symbols
Bird Symbols
Water Symbols
Mythological Symbols
Kabbalah Symbols
Lotus Flower
Tibetan Symbols






Copyright © 2014 Ancient-Symbols.com  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of Ancient-Symbols.com  is prohibited.