ancient symbols
Antike Symbole
Alchemiesymbole
Keltische Symbole aus antiken Zeiten
Keltische Knoten: Geschichte und Symbolismus
Chinesische Symbole
Christliche Symbole
Antike ?gyptische Symbole
Gluckssymbole
Griechische Symbole
Japanische Symbole
Maya Symbole
Indianische Symbole
Heidnische Symbole
Friedenssymbol
Religiose Symbole
Römische Symbole
Heilige Geometriesymbole
Stärkesymbole
Symbolische Bilder
Tattoo Symbole Buddhistische Symbole Irische Symbole Hindu Symbole Einfluss der Symbole auf die Geschichte Freundschaftssymbole Das Buch des verlorenen Symbols Machtsymbole Traumsymbole Sternsymbole

Ancient Symbols (English)

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Древние символы (Russian)

Symboles Anciens (French)

古代符号 (Chinese)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

 Römische Symbole

Sammlung antiker und moderner römischer Symbole

der griechische MinotaurDer Minotaur In der griechischen Mythologie war der Minotaur eine Kreatur, die halb Mensch und halb Stier war. [1] Er wohnte im Zentrum des Labyrinthes, einer ausgeklügelten Irrgarten-artigen Konstruktion, die der Architekt Daedalus und sein Sohn Ikarus auf Befehl König Minos von Kreta als Heim für den Minotaurus entwarfen und bauten. Die historische Stätte Knossos wird normalerweise als Standort des Labyrinth identifiziert. Der Minotaur wurde letztlich von Theseu getötet.

"Minotaur" ist griechisch für "Bulle von Minos". Der Bulle war auf Kreta als Asterion bekannt, ein Name, der mit Minos Pflegevater geteilt wurde.



labrysLabrys ist der Ausdruck für eine doppelseitige Axt, die bei den klassischen Griechen als Pelekys oder Sagaris und bei den Römern als Bipennis bekannt war.

Das Labrys Symbol kann man seit dem mittleren Bronzezeitalter in der minoischen, thrakischen, griechischen und byzantinischen Religion, Mythologie und Kunst finden. Das Labrys erscheint auch in religiösem afrikanischem Symbolismu und der dortigen Mythologie (sihe Shango).

Ein Labrys symbolisierte früher griechischen Faschismus. Heute wird es manchmal als Symbol für hellenischen Neopaganismus verwendet. Als ein LGBT Symbol repräsentiert es Lesbianismus und weibliche oder matriarchalische Kraft.

Verwandter römischer Symbolschmuck

Vom Künstler - David Weiztman und der Ka Gold Jewelry

Das Labyrinth
Alchemistischer Hochzeitsanhänder Vesica Pisces silber
Das Labyrinth
Alchemistische Hochzeit Vesica Pisces silber



manofico.jpg (4127 bytes)Das Mano Fico Das Mano Fico, auch bekannt als Figa, ist ein italienisches Amulett mit Ursprüngen in der Antike. Beispiele wurden aus römischen Zeitalter gefunden und es wurde auch von den Etruskern verwendet. Mano bedeutet "Hand" und fico oder figa bedeutet Feige mit der umgangssprachlichen, idiomatischen Konnotation der weiblichen Genitalien. Es repräsentiert eine Handgeste, in dem der Daumen zwischen die gekrümmten Zeite- und Mittelfinger gesteckt wird in der offensichtlichen Immitation heterosexuellen Geschlechtsverkehrs.
asclepiuswand-4.jpg (7762 bytes)Der Asklepiusstab ist ein antikes griechisches Symbol, das mit Astrologie assoziiert wurde und mit der Heilung der Kranken mit Medizin.Der Asklepiusstab symbolisiert die Kunst des Heilens durch die Kombination einer Schlange, die durch das Sich-Schuppen ein Symbol der Wiedergeburt und Fruchtbarkeit ist, und dem Stab, einem Symbol der Autorität, das dem Gott der Medizin würdig ist. Die Schlange, die sich um den Stab windet, wird weithin als eine Rattenschlange angesehen, Elaphe Longissima, auch bekannt als Äskulap- oder Asklepiusschlange. Sie lebt einheimisch im südöstlichen Europa und im nahen Osten, sowie in einigen Kurregionen in Zentraleuropa, wohin sie offensichtlich von den Römern aufgrund ihrer Heilfähigkeiten gebracht wurden.
solar crossDas Sonnenkreuz besteht aus einem Kreis um ein Kreuz. Das Sonnenkreuz gibt es in vielen Varianten, unter anderem der auf dieser Seite. Es ist ein antikes Symbol; es wurde 1980 gefunden, eingemeißelt auf Begräbniurnen aus der Bronzezeit im Southworth Hügelgrab in Croft, Chesshire in England. Die Urnen werden auf ungefähr 1440 v.Chr. datiert. Dieses Symbol wurde über die ganze Geschichte hinweg von unterschiedlichen Religionen, Gruppen und Familien (wie in einem Familienwappen japanischer Samurai) verwendet und wurde schließlich zu einer christlichen Ikonographie.
fascesFasces, ein plurale tantum, vom lateinischen Wort Fascis, das symbolisch vereinte Macht und Gesetzgebung bedeutet, und/oder "Stärke durch Einheit".[2]

Die traditionellen römischen Fasces bestanden aus einem Bündel weißen Birkenruten, die mit einem goten Lederband zu einem Zylinder zusammengebunden wurden und oft einer bronzenen Axt (oder manchmal zweien) unter den Ruten, mit den Blättern zur Seite, aus dem Bündel herausstehend.

Sie wurden zu vielen Gelegenheiten als Symbol der römischen Republik verwendet, unter anderem wurden sie auf Prozessionen getragen wie heutzutage vielleicht eine Flagge getragen werden würde.
delphi omphalosDas Omphalos - Ein Omphalos ist ein antikes religiöses Steinartifakt oder Baetylus. Auf Griechisch bedeutet das Wort Omphalos "Nabel". Laut den antiken Griechen entsandte Zeus zwei Adler, über die Welt zu fliegen und sich an ihrem Zentrum, dem "Nabel" der Welt zu treffen. Omphalos Steine, die diesen Punkt markieren sollten, wurden in mehreren Regionen um das Mittelmeer errichtet; der Berühmteste war im Orakel von Delphi.
gorgon.jpg (7063 bytes)Die Gorgon In der griechischen Mythologie war eine sogenannte Gorgon oder Gorgo, übersetzt "schrecklich" oder laut anderen "laut-röhrend" ein bösartiges webliches Monster mit scharfen Fängen, die eine Schutzgottheit aus frühen religiösen Konzepten war. Ihre Macht war so stark, dass jeder, der sie ansah in Stein verwandelt wurde. Deshalb wurden solche Bilder auf die Gegenstände von Tempeln gezeichnet, um Schutz herbeizubeschwören. Eine Gorgon trug einen Gürtel aus Schlangen, die sich ineinander verflochten anblickten. Es gab drei von ihnen: die Medusa, Stheno und Euryale. Nur Medusa war sterblich, die anderen beiden sind unsterblich.
labrynth.jpg (6296 bytes)Das Labyrinth In griechischer Mythologie war das Labyrinth (griechisch Labyrinthos) eine ausgeklügelte Konstruktion, die vom legendären Architekten Daedalus für König Minos von Kreta auf Knossos entworfen und gebaut wurde. Seine Funtion war es, den Minotaurus zu beherbergen, eine Kreatur, die halb Mann und halb Stier war und letztlich vom athenischen Helden Theseus getötet wurde. Daedalus machte das Labyrinth so ausgeklügelt, dass er, nachdem er es gebaut hatte, selbst kaum daraus entfliehen konnte. Theseus hatte Hilfe von Ariadne, die ihm einen Schickschalsfaden gab, an dem er seinen Weg zurückfinden konnte.
hygeia.jpg (11450 bytes)strong>Die Schale der Hygeia Die “Schale der Hygeia” ist das weltweit anerkannteste Symbol der Pharmazie. In der griechischen Mythologie war Hygeia die Tochter und Assistentin des Äskulap (manchmal auch als Asklepios geschrieben), dem Gott der Medizin und der Heilung. Hygeias klassische Symbol war eine Schale, die einen medizinischen Trank enthielt mit einer Weisheits- (oder Schutz-) Schlange daran. Das ist die selbe Schlange der Weisheit, die auf dem Caduceus, dem Stab des Äskulap, in Erscheinung tritt, einem Symbol der Medizin.

Share the Symbols on this page:








Copyright © 2014 Ancient-Symbols.com  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of Ancient-Symbols.com  is prohibited.

ancient symbols
Ancient Symbols
Alchemy Symbols
Celtic Symbols
Celtic Knots
Chinese Symbols
Zodiac Symbols
Christian Symbols
Egyptian Symbols
Good Luck Symbols
Greek Symbols
Japanese Symbols
Mayan Symbols
Native American Symbol
Pagan Symbols
Peace Symbols
Religious Symbols
Roman Symbols
Sacred Geometry Symbols
Strength Symbols
Symbolic Pictures
Tattoo Symbols Buddhist Symbols Irish Symbols Hindu Symbols Symbols Influence on History Friendship Symbols The Lost Symbol Power Symbols Dream Symbols Star Symbols Motherhood Symbols

Related Resources

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Antike Symbole (Deutsch)

Древние символы (Russian)

Symboles Anciens (French)

古代符号 (Chinese)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

 Roman Symbols

Collection of ancient and modern Roman Symbols

Share the Symbols on this page:

the greek minotaurThe Minotaur In Greek mythology, the Minotaur was a creature that was part man and part bull.[1] It dwelt at the center of the Labyrinth, which was an elaborate maze-like construction[2] built for King Minos of Crete and designed by the architect Daedalus and his son Icarus who were ordered to build it to hold the Minotaur. The historical site of Knossos is usually identified as the site of the labyrinth. The Minotaur was eventually killed by Theseus.






"Minotaur" is Greek for "Bull of Minos." The bull was known in Crete as Asterion, a name shared with Minos's foster father.
labrysLabrys is the term for a doubleheaded axe, known to the Classical Greeks as pelekys or sagaris, and to the Romans as a bipennis.

The labrys symbolism is found in Minoan, Thracian, Greek, and Byzantine religion, mythology, and art, dating from the Middle Bronze Age onwards. The labrys also appears in African religious symbolism and mythology (see Shango).

The labrys was formerly a symbol of Greek fascism. Today it is sometimes used as a symbol of Hellenic Neopaganism. As an LGBT symbol it represents lesbianism and female or matriarchal power.

Related Roman Symbols Jewelry

By the Artist - David Weiztman and Ka Gold Jewelry

The Labyrinth
Alchemical Wedding Talisman Vesica Pisces silver
The Labyrinth
Alchemical Wedding Vesica Pisces silver



manofico.jpg (4127 bytes)The Mano Fico The mano fico, also called figa, is an Italian amulet of ancient origin. Examples have been found from the Roman era, and it was also used by the Etruscans. Mano means "hand" and fico or figa means "fig," with the idiomatic slang connotation of a woman's genitals. (An English slang equivalent might as well be "vagina hand.") It represents a hand gesture in which the thumb is thrust between the curled index and middle fingers in obvious imitation of hetorsexual intercourse.
asclepiuswand-4.jpg (7762 bytes)The asclepius wand, or asclepius rod is is an ancient Greek symbol associated with astrology and with healing the sick through medicine. The rod of Asclepius symbolizes the healing arts by combining the serpent, which in shedding its skin is a symbol of rebirth and fertility, with the staff, a symbol of authority befitting the god of Medicine. The snake wrapped around the staff is widely claimed to be a species of rat snake, Elaphe longissima, also known as the Aesculapian or Asclepian snake. It is native to southeastern Europe, Asia Minor, and some central European spa regions, apparently brought there by Romans for their healing properties.
solar crossThe Solar Cross or Sun Cross features a circle around a cross, the solar cross has many variations including the one on this page. It is an ancient symbol; carvings of which were found in 1980 on the bases of Bronze-age burial urns at Southworth Hall Barrow, Croft, Cheshire, England and the urns date back to circa 1440 BC. This symbol has been used throughout history by different religions, groups and families (as a Japanese samurai family crest), eventually working its way into Christian iconography.
fascesFasces, a plurale tantum, from the Latin word fascis, symbolizes summary power and jurisdiction, and/or "strength through unity".[2]

The traditional Roman fasces consisted of a bundle of white birch rods, tied together with a red leather ribbon into a cylinder, and often including a bronze axe (or sometimes two) amongst the rods, with the blade(s) on the side, projecting from the bundle.

It was used as a symbol of the Roman Republic in many circumstances, including being carried in processions, much the way a flag might be carried today.
delphi omphalosThe Omphalos - An omphalos is an ancient religious stone artifact, or baetylus. In Greek, the word omphalos means "navel" (compare the name of Queen Omphale). According to the ancient Greeks, Zeus sent out two eagles to fly across the world to meet at its center, the "navel" of the world. Omphalos stones used to denote this point were erected in several areas surrounding the Mediterranean Sea; the most famous of those was at the oracle in Delphi.
gorgon.jpg (7063 bytes)The Gorgon In Greek mythology, a so called gorgon, transl. gorgo or gorgon, "terrible" or, according to some, "loud-roaring" was a vicious female monster with sharp fangs who was a protective deity from early religious concepts. Her power was so strong that anyone attempting to look upon her would be turned to stone; therefore, such images were put upon items from temples to wine kraters for protection. The Gorgon wore a belt of serpents that intertwined as a clasp, confronting each other. There were three of them: Medusa, Stheno and Euryale. Only Medusa was mortal, the other two are immortal.
labrynth.jpg (6296 bytes)The labyrinth In Greek mythology, the Labyrinth (Greek   labyrinthos) was an elaborate structure designed and built by the legendary artificer Daedalus for King Minos of Crete at Knossos. Its function was to hold the Minotaur, a creature that was half man and half bull and was eventually killed by the Athenian hero Theseus. Daedalus had made the Labyrinth so cunningly that he himself could barely escape it after he built it. Theseus was aided by Ariadne, who provided him with a fateful thread, literally the "clew", or "clue", to wind his way back again.
hygeia.jpg (11450 bytes)The bowl of Hygeia The “Bowl of Hygeia” symbol is the most widely recognized international symbol of pharmacy. In Greek mythology, Hygeia was the daughter and assistant of Aesculapius (sometimes spelled Asklepios), the God of Medicine and Healing. Hygeia's classical symbol was a bowl containing a medicinal potion with the serpent of Wisdom (or guardianship) partaking it. This is the same serpent of Wisdom, which appears on the caduceus, the staff of Aesculapius, which is the symbol of medicine.
cimaruta.jpg (11450 bytes)Cimaruta This is an ancient Italian amulet that is typically hung over an infant’s crib or worn around the neck. It is supposed to offer protection from the evil eye. It means the ‘sprig of rue’ and refers to the one of the most sacred Italian plants. The charm is made from silver and shaped as a rue sprig with 3 main branches. These symbolize the triple aspect of moon goddess (Diana Triformis) as a maiden, mother & crone. Several small charms hang on the tips of the branches, such as key that represents access to knowledge and power; fish that is symbolic of fertility and abundance; hand to fend off evil effect; flower for protection; and crescent moon representing the horns of God.
Knot of HerculesKnot of Hercules Also known as Heracles Knot, Love Knot and Marriage Knot, the Knot of Hercules is a famous Roman and Greek protective charm. This strong knot, made with two intertwined ropes, was considered an important part of a Roman bride's wedding dress. Hercules was regarded as the guardian of married life and so, the Knot of Hercules became symbolic of a happy and fruitful marriage. It was tied around the bride's waist and could be untied only by her husband. As the Knot of Hercules symbolized lasting love and commitment, it came to be used as love tokens during the medieval times.


More Symbols:

African Symbols
Astrology Symbols
Healing Symbols
Jewish Symbols
Love Symbols
Masonic Symbols
Norse Symbols
Sacred Symbols
Sumerian Symbols
Tarot Symbols
Colors Symbols
Heart Symbols
Math Symbols
Islamic Symbols
Persian Symbols
Talismans Symbols
Metal Symbolism
Four Elements Symbolism
God Symbols
Dragon Symbolism
Archetypes
Occult Symbols
Solar & Lunar Symbols
Wiccan Symbols
Gauguin Symbolism
Atheist Symbols
Bird Symbols
Water Symbols
Mythological Symbols
Kabbalah Symbols
Lotus Flower
Tibetan Symbols






Copyright © 2014 Ancient-Symbols.com  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of Ancient-Symbols.com  is prohibited.