Symboles Anciens
Symboles Anciens
Symboles Alchimiques
Symboles Celtiques
Nœuds Celtiques
Symboles Chinois
Symboles Chrétiens
Symboles Égyptiens
Symboles de Chance
Symboles Grecs
Symboles Japonais
Symboles Maya
Symboles Amérindiens
Symboles Païens
Symboles Païens
Symboles Religieux
Symboles Romains
Symboles Géométrie Sacrée
Symboles de Force
Images Symboliques
Symboles de Tatouages Symboles Bouddhistes Symboles Irlandais Symboles Hindous Symboles dans l'Histoire Symboles d'Amitié Le Symbole Perdu Symboles de Puissance Symboles des Rêves Symboles d'Étoile Symboles de Maternité

Ressources Liées

Ancient Symbols (English)

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Antike Symbole (Deutsch)

Древние символы (Russian)

古代符号 (Chinese)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

 Symboles Religieux

Le symbolisme religieux est l'utilisation de symboles, y compris les archétypes, les actes, les oeuvres d'art, les événements ou les phénomènes naturels, par une religion. Les religions voient les textes religieux, les rituels et les œuvres d'art comme des symboles d'idées ou d'idéaux irréfutables. Les symboles aident à créer des mythologies évocatrices exprimant les valeurs morales de la société ou les enseignements de la religion, à favoriser la solidarité entre les adhérents et à rapprocher les adhérents de leur objet de culte.







L'étude du symbolisme religieux est soit universaliste, en tant que composante de la religion et de la mythologie comparée, soit de portée locale, aux confins des limites et des frontières d'une religion.

Voici quelques-uns des symboles religieux les plus populaires issus de notre passé.



bahai-symbol.jpg (5235 bytes)

Symbole Bahai

christianity-cross.jpg (3071 bytes)

Symbole de la Croix du Christianisme

buddhism-symbol.jpg (5646 bytes)

Symbole du Bouddhisme

shinto-symbol.jpg (3806 bytes)

Symbole Shinto

ankh1.jpg (2961 bytes)

Symbole Religieux de l'Ankh Égyptienne

sikhism-symbol.jpg (4770 bytes)

Symbole du Sikhisme


Bijouterie Religieuse Liée

Par l'Artiste - David Weiztman et Ka Gold Jewelry

Star of David
Shinto (Torii gate) ring Ankh and lotus necklace
Étoile de David
Bague Shinto (porte Torii) Collier Ankh et lotus



starofdavid100.png (1549 bytes)

Symbole Religieux Juif

islam-symbol.jpg (3581 bytes)

Symbole Religieux Islamique

upright-pentacle.jpg (1742 bytes)

Pentacle à l'endroit - Les pentacles et les pentagrammes à l'endroit font partie des symboles religieux les plus largement utilisés. Ils ont été utilisés à de nombreuses périodes et par de nombreuses cultures et religions du monde : par les anciens Païens, les anciens Israelites, les Chrétiens, les magiciens, les Wiccans et autres.




happyman symbolL'Humain Heureux

(à l'origine l'Homme Heureux) est une icône laïque et le symbole officiel de l'Union Internationale Humaniste et Éthique (IHEU), un organisme mondial de l'Humanisme, et il a été adopté par de nombreuses organisations Humanistes et particuliers à travers le monde. Son origine était un concours organisé en 1965 par l'Association Humaniste Britannique pour se trouver un symbole. Le design gagnant a été créé par Denis Barrington.

ouroboros symbolL'Ouroboros

représente souvent l'autoréflexivité ou la cyclicité, en particulier dans le sens de quelque se recréant constamment, l'éternel retour, et d'autres choses perçues comme des cycles qui recommencent dès qu'ils prennent fin.

sun crossCroix Solaire

La croix solaire, plus communément connue sous le nom de roue solaire, une croix dans un cercle, est un symbole commun dans les artefacts de l'Europe Préhistorique, en particulier durant les périodes du Néolithique jusqu'à l'Âge du Bronze.

triskelionTriskèle

Un triskèle ou triskel ou triskell est un motif constitué de trois  spirales entrelacées, ou de trois jambes humaines fléchies, ou de tout symbole similaire avec trois protrusions et une symétrie de rotation triple. Un triskelion est le symbole de la Bretagne, ainsi que de l'Île de Man et de la Sicile (où il est appelé trinacria).

buddha eyesYeux de Bouddha

En théorie sur tous les stupa (sanctuaire Bouddhiste) au Népal, il y a des paires d'yeux géantes regardant depuis les quatre côtés de la tour principale.

Ce sont les Yeux de Bouddha (également connus sous le nom d'Yeux de la Sagesse), et ils regardent dans les quatre directions pour symboliser l'omniscience (le fait de tout voir) d'un Bouddha.

pentagramPentagramme

Voici une image d'un pentagramme inversé, le pentagramme apparaît également avec l'étoile à l'endroit. Un pentagramme est la forme d'une étoile à cinq branches dessinée avec cinq traits droits. Les pentagrammes étaient utilisés symboliquement dans la Grèce antique et à Babylone, et sont utilisés aujourd'hui comme un symbole de la foi par de nombreux Wiccans, analogue à l'utilisation de la croix par les Chrétiens et de l'Étoile de David par les Juifs. Le pentagramme a des associations magiques, et beaucoup de gens pratiquant les religions Néopaganistes portent des bijoux comprenant le symbole. Les Chrétiens encore une fois utilisaient habituellement le pentagramme pour représenter les cinq plaies de Jésus. Le pentagramme a des associations avec la Franc-maçonnerie et est également utilisé par un certain nombre d'autres systèmes de croyance.

hands of godMains de Dieu

Un symbole utilisé de manière populaire comme représentant le Néopaganisme Slave, ou plus spécifiquement le panenthéisme préconisé par le RPK, est connu en tant que "Mains de Dieu".

ankh egyptian symbolL'Ankh 

apparaît fréquemment dans les peintures et les autres arts Égyptiens, souvent au bout des doigts d'un dieu ou d'une déesse dans les images qui représentent les divinités de l'au-delà conférer le don de la vie à la momie du défunt ; on pensait que cela symbolisait l'acte de conception. De plus, une croix de ankh était souvent portée par les Égyptiens comme une amulette, soit seule, soit en connexion avec deux autres hiéroglyphes signifiant "force" et "santé". Les miroirs en métal martelé étaient également souvent fabriqués sous la forme d'ankh, que ce soit pour des raisons décoratives ou pour symboliser une vue perçue dans un autre monde.

L'ankh n'était presque jamais fabriquée en argent ; en tant que symbole du soleil, les Égyptiens fabriquaient presque invariablement des exemples importants de celle-ci (pour les tombes ou à d'autres fins) à partir du métal qu'ils associaient le plus avec le soleil, l'or. Un métal semblable tel que le cuivre, poli à un éclat élevé, était également parfois utilisé.

sacred chaoChao Sacré

Le Chao Sacré est un symbole utilisé par les Discordiens pour illustrer l'interdépendance de l'ordre et du désordre. Le Chao Sacré symbolise absolument tout ce qu'on aura jamais besoin de savoir à propos d'absolument tout, et plus encore ! Il symbolise même tout ce qu'il n'est pas la peine de savoir, désigné par l'espace vide entourant le Méli-Mélo.

moroniAnge Moroni

L'image de l'ange Moroni soufflant dans une trompette est couramment utilisée comme un symbole non officiel de l'Église de Jésus-Christ des Saints du Dernier Jour. Moroni apparaît sur la couverture de certaines éditions du Livre des Mormons, et des statues de l'ange sont érigées au sommet de nombreux temples mormons, la plupart des statues faisant face à l'est.

patriarchal crossCroix Patriarcale

Le symbole, auquel on se réfère souvent sous le nom de croix patriarcale, est apparu en grand nombre dans l'Empire Byzantin au 9ème siècle. Dans l'Empire Byzantin du 9ème siècle, la double croix n'était pas un symbole religieux mais politique utilisé par les clercs et les missionnaires Byzantins. L'une des interprétations modernes de la double croix est qu'elle représente la Slovaquie comme un héritier et un gardien de la tradition Chrétienne, portée à la région par Saint Cyrille et Saint Méthodius, deux missionnaires de l'Empire Byzantin.

the christian crossLa Croix Chrétienne

considérée comme une représentation de l'instrument de la crucifixion de Jésus-Christ, c'est le symbole religieux le plus célèbre du Christianisme. Elle est liée au crucifix (une croix qui comprend une représentation habituellement en trois dimensions du corps de Jésus) et à la famille plus générale des symboles de croix.

Le signe en forme de croix, représenté sous sa forme la plus simple par un croisement de deux lignes à angles droits, est très antérieure, à la fois en Orient et en Occident, à l'introduction du Christianisme. Elle remonte à une époque très reculée de la civilisation humaine. On suppose qu'elle à été utilisée non seulement pour sa valeur ornementale, mais aussi avec une signification religieuse.
La Croix Chrétienne a de nombreuses formes différentes.

fleur de lysFleur de Lys

Tandis que la fleur de lys est apparue sur d'innombrables blasons et drapeaux européens au fil des siècles, elle est particulièrement associée à la monarchie française dans un contexte historique, et continue à apparaître sur les blasons du Roi d'Espagne et du Grand-Duc du Luxembourg, membres de la Maison des Bourbon. Cela reste un symbole durable de la France qui apparaît sur ​​les timbres-poste français, bien qu'elle n'ait jamais été adoptée officiellement par aucune des républiques françaises. Selon l'historien français Georges Duby, les trois feuilles représentent les classes sociales médiévales : ceux qui travaillaient, ceux qui combattaient et ceux qui priaient.

lotus flowerFleur de Lotus

Depuis les temps anciens le lotus a été un symbole divin dans les traditions asiatiques en représentant les vertus de la pureté sexuelle et du non-attachement.

Les Hindous le vénèrent avec les divinités Vishnu et Lakshmi souvent représentées sur un lotus rose dans l'iconographie. Dans la représentation de Vishnu en tant que Padmanabha, un lotus sort de son nombril avec Brahma dessus.

La déesse Sarasvati est représentée sur une fleur de lotus de couleur blanche. Souvent utilisé comme un exemple de la beauté divine, Vishnu est souvent décrit comme celui aux Yeux de Lotus. Ses pétales qui s'ouvrent suggèrent l'expansion de l'âme.



nine pointed starÉtoile à Neuf Branches

Le symbole le plus couramment utilisé connecté au chiffre 9 est l'étoile à neuf branches ; il n'y a pas de design particulier de l'étoile à neuf branches qui est utilisé plus souvent que les autres.

lotus carrying namamLotus Portant un Namam

Le symbole de l'Ayyavazhi est un lotus portant un 'Namam' blanc en forme de flamme. Le lotus représente le Sahasrara aux 1008 pétales et le Namam représente l'Aanma Jyothi ou atman, parfois traduit par "âme" ou "soi".

the winged heartLe Coeur Ailé ou Tughra Inayati

Le symbole du Soufisme Universel est le Tughra Inayati ou "Coeur Ailé".

Le coeur ailé est un ancien symbole Soufi, et fut choisi par Inayat Khan comme le sceau de "l'Ordre Soufi de l'Occident" lors de sa fondation en 1910. Le rendu original de cette calligraphie de coeur ailé a été présenté à Vilayat Inayat Khan à l'occasion de son 73ème anniversaire.

La forme du tughra symbolise le fait que le cœur désire le ciel. Le croissant dans le cœur suggère la réactivité et le potentiel du cœur.

unicursal hexagramHexagramme Unicursal

L'hexagramme unicursal est un hexagramme ou étoile à six branches qui peut être tracé ou dessiné en une seule fois, avec une ligne continue plutôt qu'avec deux triangles superposés. L'hexagramme peut également être représenté dans un cercle avec les pointes qui le touchent.

Il est utilisé dans les mythologies Grecque et Hindoue comme un symbole de dévouement aux souverains divins.

ying yangSymbole du Yin Yang

Dans la philosophie Chinoise, le concept du yin yang, auquel en Occident on se réfère plutôt en tant que yin et yang, est utilisé pour décrire la façon dont les forces polaires ou apparemment contraires sont interconnectées et interdépendantes dans le monde naturel, et comment elles s'élèvent l'une vers l'autre en retour. Les opposés n'existent ainsi que dans leur relation l'un par rapport à l'autre. Le concept est à l'origine de nombreuses branches de la science et de la philosophie classique Chinoise, en plus d'être une ligne directrice principale dans la médecine traditionnelle Chinoise, et un principe central de différentes formes d'arts martiaux et d'exercices Chinois, tels que le baguazhang, le taijiquan (tai chi) et le qigong (Chi Kung) et de la divination I Ching. De nombreuses dualités naturelles - par exemple l'ombre et la lumière, le féminin et le masculin, le bas et le haut, le froid et le chaud - sont considérés comme des manifestations du yin et du yang (respectivement).

torii symbolSymbole du Torii

Un torii est une porte traditionnelle Japonaise qu'on trouve habituellement à l'entrée ou dans un temple Shinto, où il marque symboliquement la transition du profane au sacré.

khanda symbolSymbole du Khanda

Dans le symbole l'épée de gauche représente la vérité et l'épée de droite représente la volonté de se battre pour ce qui est juste- le Dharma (la religion). Le cercle au milieu signifie qu'il n'y a qu'un seul Dieu, qui ne commence et ne finit jamais.

Le Khanda représente la connaissance de Dieu, le Chakkar représente la nature éternelle de Dieu et l'unité de l'humanité, les deux épées représentent Miri (la souveraineté politique) et Piri (la souveraineté spirituelle).

Rub el HizbRub el Hizb

Une étoile à huit branches était utilisée comme un symbole de Tartessos, une ancienne civilisation basée en Andalousie. Comme la région était gouvernée par des dynasties Islamiques pendant huit siècles, cela pourrait suggérer une origine possible du symbole Rub el Hizb. Le symbole est utilisé comme marqueur de la fin d'un chapitre dans la calligraphie Arabe.

star and crescentÉtoile et Croissant

L'étoile et le croissant apparaissent ensemble sur des découvertes faites dans et autour de l'ancienne Israël. Il a été associé avec les Moabites (14ème ou début du 13ème jusqu'au 6ème siècle avant JC), car le symbole ou les symboles apparaissent sur ce qu'on pensait être des sceaux de nom Moabites. Pendant le 19ème siècle, il représentait l'Empire Ottoman, figurant sur le drapeau Ottoman à partir de 1793. Le drapeau Ottoman de 1844 continue à être utilisé comme drapeau de la République de Turquie.

Share the Symbols on this page:




More Symbols:

Symboles Africains
Symboles Astrologiques
Symboles de Guérison
Symboles Juifs
Symboles de l'Amour
Symboles Maçonniques
Symboles Nordiques
Symboles Sacrés
Symboles Sumériens
Symboles du Tarot
Symboles des Couleurs






Copyright © 2014 Ancient-Symbols.com  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of Ancient-Symbols.com  is prohibited.

ancient symbols
Ancient Symbols
Alchemy Symbols
Celtic Symbols
Celtic Knots
Chinese Symbols
Zodiac Symbols
Christian Symbols
Egyptian Symbols
Good Luck Symbols
Greek Symbols
Japanese Symbols
Mayan Symbols
Native American Symbol
Pagan Symbols
Peace Symbols
Religious Symbols
Roman Symbols
Sacred Geometry Symbols
Strength Symbols
Symbolic Pictures
Tattoo Symbols Buddhist Symbols Irish Symbols Hindu Symbols Symbols Influence on History Friendship Symbols The Lost Symbol Power Symbols Dream Symbols Star Symbols Motherhood Symbols

Related Resources

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Antike Symbole (Deutsch)

Древние символы (Russian)

Symboles Anciens (French)

古代符号 (Chinese)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

 Religious Symbols

Religious symbolism is the use of symbols, including archetypes, acts, artwork, events, or natural phenomena, by a religion. Religions view religious texts, rituals, and works of art as symbols of compelling ideas or ideals. Symbols help create a resonant mythos expressing the moral values of the society or the teachings of the religion, foster solidarity among adherents, and bring adherents closer to their object of worship.


The study of religious symbolism is either universalist, as a component of comparative religion and mythology, or in localized scope, within the confines of a religion's limits and boundaries.

Here are some of the most popular religious symbols from our past.







bahai-symbol.jpg (5235 bytes)

Bahai Symbol

christianity-cross.jpg (3071 bytes)

Christianity Cross Symbol

buddhism-symbol.jpg (5646 bytes)

Buddhism Symbol

shinto-symbol.jpg (3806 bytes)

Shinto Symbol

Share the Symbols on this page:

ankh1.jpg (2961 bytes)

Egyptian Ankh Religious Symbol

sikhism-symbol.jpg (4770 bytes)

Sikhism Symbol


Related Religious Jewelry

By the Artist - David Weiztman and Ka Gold Jewelry

Star of David
Shinto (Torii gate) ring Ankh and lotus necklace
Star of David
Shinto (Torii gate) ring Ankh and lotus necklace



starofdavid100.png (1549 bytes)

Jewish Religious Symbol

islam-symbol.jpg (3581 bytes)

Islamic Religious Symbol

upright-pentacle.jpg (1742 bytes)

Upright Pentacle- Upright pentacles and pentagrams are among the most widely used religious symbols. They have been used in many eras and by many cultures and religions of the world: by ancient Pagans, ancient Israelites, Christians, magicians, Wiccans and others.




happyman symbolThe Happy Human

(originally the Happy Man) is a secular icon and the official symbol of the International Humanist and Ethical Union (IHEU), a world body for Humanism, and has been adopted by many Humanist organisations and individuals worldwide. Its origin was a competition organised in 1965 by the British Humanist Association to find a symbol for itself. The winning design was created by Denis Barrington.

ouroboros symbolThe Ouroboros

often represents self-reflexivity or cyclicality, especially in the sense of something constantly re-creating itself, the eternal return, and other things perceived as cycles that begin anew as soon as they end.

sun crossSun Cross

The sun cross, or more commonly known as the sun wheel, a cross inside a circle, is a common symbol in artifacts of Prehistoric Europe, particularly during the Neolithic to Bronze Age periods.

triskelionTriskelion

A triskelion or triskele is a motif consisting of three interlocked spirals, or three bent human legs, or any similar symbol with three protrusions and a threefold rotational symmetry. A triskelion is the symbol of Brittany, as well as the Isle of Man and Sicily (where it is called trinacria).

buddha eyesBuddha Eyes

On virtually every stupa (Buddhist shrine) in Nepal, there are giant pairs of eyes staring out from the four sides of the main tower.

These are Buddha Eyes (otherwise known as Wisdom Eyes), and they look out in the four directions to symbolize the omniscience (all-seeing) of a Buddha.

pentagramPentagram

Here is an image of an upside down pentagram, the pentagram also appears with the star right side up. A pentagram is the shape of a five-pointed star drawn with five straight strokes. Pentagrams were used symbolically in ancient Greece and Babylonia, and are used today as a symbol of faith by many Wiccans, akin to the use of the cross by Christians and the Star of David by Jews. The pentagram has magical associations, and many people who practice Neopagan faiths wear jewelry incorporating the symbol. Christians once more commonly used the pentagram to represent the five wounds of Jesus. The pentagram has associations with Freemasonry and is also utilized by a number of other belief systems.

hands of godHands of God

A symbol popularly used as representing Slavic Neopaganism, or more specifically the panentheism advocated by the RPK, is known as "Hands of God".

ankh egyptian symbolThe Ankh 

appears frequently in Egyptian tomb paintings and other art, often at the fingertips of a god or goddess in images that represent the deities of the afterlife conferring the gift of life on the dead person's mummy; this is thought to symbolize the act of conception. Additionally, an ankh was often carried by Egyptians as an amulet, either alone, or in connection with two other hieroglyphs that mean "strength" and "health". Mirrors of beaten metal were also often made in the shape of an ankh, either for decorative reasons or to symbolize a perceived view into another world.

The ankh was almost never drawn in silver; as a sun-symbol, the Egyptians almost invariably crafted important examples of it (for tombs or other purposes) from the metal they most associated with the sun, gold. A similar metal such as copper, burnished to a high sheen, was also sometimes used.

sacred chaoSacred Chao

The Sacred Chao is a symbol used by Discordians to illustrate the interrelatedness of order and disorder.The Sacred Chao symbolizes absolutely everything anyone need ever know about absolutely anything, and more! It even symbolizes everything not worth knowing, depicted by the empty space surrounding the Hodge-Podge.

moroniAngel Moroni

The image of the angel Moroni blowing a trumpet is commonly used as an unofficial symbol of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Moroni appears on the cover of some editions of the Book of Mormon, and statues of the angel stand atop many LDS temples, most statues facing eastward.

patriarchal crossPatriarchal Cross

The symbol, often referred to as the patriarchal cross, appeared in the Byzantine Empire in large numbers in the 9th century. In the Byzantine Empire of the 9th century, the double cross was not a religious, but a political symbol used by Byzantine clerks and missionaries. One of the modern interpretations of the double cross is that it represents Slovakia as an heir and guardian of Christian tradition, brought to the region by St. Cyril and St. Methodius, two missionaries from the Byzantine Empire.

the christian crossThe Christian cross

seen as a representation of the instrument of the crucifixion of Jesus Christ, is the best-known religious symbol of Christianity. It is related to the crucifix (a cross that includes a usually three-dimensional representation of Jesus' body) and to the more general family of cross symbols.

The cross-shaped sign, represented in its simplest form by a crossing of two lines at right angles, greatly antedates, in both East and West, the introduction of Christianity. It goes back to a very remote period of human civilization. It is supposed to have been used not just for its ornamental value, but also with religious significance.
The Christian Cross comes in many different forms.

fleur de lysFleur de Lys

While the fleur-de-lis has appeared on countless European coats of arms and flags over the centuries, it is particularly associated with the French monarchy in a historical context, and continues to appear in the arms of the King of Spain and the Grand Duke of Luxembourg, members of the House of Bourbon. It remains an enduring symbol of France that appears on French postage stamps, although it has never been adopted officially by any of the French republics. According to French historian Georges Duby, the three leaves represent the medieval social classes: those who worked, those who fought and those who prayed.

lotus flowerLotus Flower

From ancient times the lotus has been a divine symbol in Asian traditions representing the virtues of sexual purity and non-attachment.

Hindus revere it with the divinities Vishnu and Lakshmi often portrayed on a pink lotus in iconography. In the representation of Vishnu as Padmanabha, a lotus issues from his navel with Brahma on it.

Goddess Sarasvati is portrayed on a white-colored lotus. Often used as an example of divine beauty, Vishnu is often described as the Lotus-Eyed One. Its unfolding petals suggest the expansion of the soul.



nine pointed starNine Pointed Star

The most commonly used symbol connected to the number 9 is the nine-pointed star; there is no particular design of the nine-pointed star that is used more often than others.

lotus carrying namamLotus Carrying Namam

The symbol of the Ayyavazhi is a lotus carrying a flame-shaped white 'Namam'. The lotus represents the 1,008-petalled Sahasrara and the Namam represents the Aanma Jyothi or atman, sometimes translated as "soul" or "self".

the winged heartThe Winged Heart or Tughra Inayati

The symbol of Universal Sufism is the Tughra Inayati or the "Winged Heart".

The winged heart is an old Sufi symbol, and was chosen by Inayat Khan as the seal of the 'Sufi Order of the West' at its founding in 1910. The original rendering of this winged heart calligraphy was presented to Vilayat Inayat Khan on the occasion of his 73rd birthday.

The shape of the tughra symbolises that the heart desires heaven. The crescent in the heart suggests the responsiveness and potential of the heart.

unicursal hexagramUnicursal Hexagram

The unicursal hexagram is a hexagram or six-pointed star that can be traced or drawn unicursally, in one continuous line rather than by two overlaid triangles. The hexagram can also be depicted inside a circle with the points touching it.

It is used in the Greek and Hindu mythologies as a symbol of dedication to the divine rulers.

ying yangYing Yang Symbol

In Chinese philosophy, the concept of yin yang, normally referred to in the West as (yin and yang) is used to describe how polar or seemingly contrary forces are interconnected and interdependent in the natural world, and how they give rise to each other in turn. Opposites thus only exist in relation to each other. The concept lies at the origins of many branches of classical Chinese science and philosophy, as well as being a primary guideline of traditional Chinese medicine, and a central principle of different forms of Chinese martial arts and exercise, such as baguazhang, taijiquan (tai chi), and qigong (Chi Kung) and of I Ching divination. Many natural dualities - e.g. dark and light, female and male, low and high, cold and hot - are thought of as manifestations of yin and yang (respectively).

torii symbolTorii Symbol

A torii is a traditional Japanese gate most commonly found at the entrance of or within a Shinto shrine, where it symbolically marks the transition from the profane to the sacred.

khanda symbolKhanda Symbol

In the symbol the sword to the left represents truth, and the sword to the right represents the willingness to fight for what is right- dharma (religion). The circle in the middle means that there is only one God, never beginning and never ending.

The Khanda represents knowledge of God, the Chakkar represents the eternal nature of God and oneness of humanity, the two swords represent Miri (political sovereignty) and Piri (spiritual sovereignty).

Rub el HizbRub el Hizb

An eight-pointed star was used as a symbol of Tartessos, an ancient civilization based in Andalusia. As the region was ruled by Islamic dynasties for eight centuries, this may suggest a possible origin of the Rub el Hizb.The symbol is used as a marker for the end of a chapter in Arabic calligraphy.

star and crescentStar and Crescent

The star and crescent appear in combination in finds from in and around ancient Israel. It has been associated with the Moabites (14th or early 13th – 6th century BC), as the symbol or symbols appear on what are thought to be Moabite name seals. During the 19th century, it represented the Ottoman Empire, figuring on the Ottoman flag from 1793. The Ottoman flag of 1844 continues to be in use as the flag of the Republic of Turkey.

Om AumAum or Om

Aum (Om) is the most sacred of Hindu symbols that is considered representative of both the manifest and hidden aspects of the omnipresent, omniscient and omnipotent God. It is symbolic of several significant triads – the 3 worlds (earth, heaven and atmosphere); the 3 holy Vedic scriptures (Yajur, Sama and Rig); the 3 main Hindu Gods (Brahma, Vishnu and Mahesh or Shiva). Om is also considered to be the most sacred of sounds that is the root from which the universe and entire existence arose and that holds everything together. It is a mystical mantra that is chanted at the start and end of all Hindu prayers, meditations and rituals.

Alpha and OmegaAlpha and Omega

The combination of two Greek letters, Alpha and Omega makes a powerful Christian symbol that represents the eternal existence of God. Alpha is the first letter of the Greek alphabet, while omega is the last one. Therefore, together they symbolize that God is the beginning as well as the end. The use of Alpha and Omega symbol of eternity has been traced to early Christianity and the symbol has been found in the ancient Roman catacombs.
The Alpha and Omega are sometimes combined with other Christian symbols such as the Cross and Chi-rho.


More Symbols:

African Symbols
Astrology Symbols
Healing Symbols
Jewish Symbols
Love Symbols
Masonic Symbols
Norse Symbols
Sacred Symbols
Sumerian Symbols
Tarot Symbols
Colors Symbols
Heart Symbols
Math Symbols
Islamic Symbols
Persian Symbols
Talismans Symbols
Metal Symbolism
Four Elements Symbolism
God Symbols
Dragon Symbolism
Archetypes
Occult Symbols
Solar & Lunar Symbols
Wiccan Symbols
Gauguin Symbolism
Atheist Symbols
Bird Symbols
Water Symbols
Mythological Symbols
Kabbalah Symbols
Lotus Flower
Tibetan Symbols






Copyright © 2014 Ancient-Symbols.com  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of Ancient-Symbols.com  is prohibited.