ancient symbols
Ancient Symbols
Alchemy Symbols
Celtic Symbols
Celtic Knots
Chinese Symbols
Christian Symbols
Egyptian Symbols
Good Luck Symbols
Greek Symbols
Japanese Symbols
Mayan Symbols
Native American Symbol
Pagan Symbols
Peace Symbols
Religious Symbols
Roman Symbols
Sacred Geometry Symbols
Strength Symbols
Symbolic Pictures
Tattoo Symbols Buddhist Symbols Irish Symbols Hindu Symbols Symbols Influence on History Friendship Symbols The Lost Symbol Power Symbols Dream Symbols Star Symbols Motherhood Symbols

Related Resources

Ancient Symbols (English)

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Antike Symbole (Deutsch)

Древние символы (Russian)

Symboles Anciens (French)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

  宗教符号

宗教象征主义指的是一个宗教对符号的使用,包括原型,动作,艺术,时间或者自然现象的符号。宗教将宗教课本,礼仪和艺术作品视为引人注目的想法符号或者理 想符 号。符号帮助人们创造一个表达社会道德观或者宗教实践的共鸣主题,促进信徒的团结,让他们更紧密围绕 在所崇拜的对象周围。

宗教象征主义的研究那么是对作为相对宗教学和神话学的组成部分的普救派教徒的研 究, 要么是对宗教限制或者界限之内的局部研究。




这里有一些过去最流行的宗教符号。



巴哈教符号.jpg (5235 字节)

巴哈教符号

基督教十字架符号.jpg (3071 字节)

基督教十字架符号

佛教符号.jpg (5646 字节)

佛教符号

神道教符号.jpg (3806 字节)

神道教符号

古埃及十字架宗教符号1.jpg (2961 符号)

古埃及十字架宗教符号

锡克教符号.jpg (4770 字节)

锡克教符号


相关的宗教首饰

由大卫.韦茨曼和卡金首饰提供

大卫之星
神道教(鸟居)戒指 古埃及十字架和莲花项链
大卫之星
神 道教(鸟居)戒指 古 埃及十字架和莲花项链



犹太宗教符号100.png (1549 字节)

犹太宗教符号

伊斯兰宗教符号.jpg (3581 字节)

伊斯兰宗教符号

直立五芒星.jpg (1742 字节)

直立五芒星- 直 立的五芒星和五角星是最广泛使用的宗教符号之 一。在许多时代许多世界文化和宗教一直使用它们,其中有古代的异教徒,古代以色列人,基督教徒,法师,巫师和其
他人。




幸福的人符号幸福的人

(最初称为幸福的男人) 是以人文主义为核心的世界组织国际人道与伦理联合会的官方标志,也是一个不朽的符号。许多世界范围内的人道 主义组织和个人都采用它。它来源于1965年英国人道主义协会组织的一场征集组织标志的竞赛。这个最后获胜的符号由丹尼斯巴林顿设计。

衔尾蛇符号衔尾蛇

常常代表自我反省, 周期,特别代表那些可以不断再造自身的事物,永恒轮回和其他一切被认为结束后又可以重新开始的具有周期性的事物。



十字晕十字晕

 十字晕,它还有一个更广为认知的名称太阳轮,内置圆圈中的十字架是史前欧洲古 器物最常用的符号,特 别是新石器时代和青铜器时代的古器物。

三曲枝图三曲枝图

三曲腿图或者三曲枝图是由三根连结在一起的螺旋线,或三条弯曲的腿或者任何带有三条类似突出物和三重旋转对称轴构成的图形。三曲枝 图是布列塔尼的象征,也是英国属地曼岛和西西里岛(在当地称为特里纳基亚岛)的象征。



佛眼佛眼

在尼泊尔几乎每座佛塔(佛教圣地 )都有两只巨大的眼睛从主 塔向 四周凝视 。

这些佛眼(或被称为智慧之眼)凝望四周,象征佛主无所不知(全视)。

五芒星五芒星

这里是一个倒置的五芒星图案,它也以正面朝上的形式出现。五芒星是一个五角星形,由五条直线绘制而 成。在古 希腊和巴比伦尼亚,这种五芒星常常被用作一种象征符号。而在当今,它被许多巫士用作信仰的符号,类似基督教使用的十字架和犹太人使用的犹太之星。五芒星具 有神奇的象征意义,许多异教信仰者将这个符号和首饰一起佩戴。基督教徒曾经常使用这个符号表示耶稣的五处创伤。五芒星和共济会联系在一起,也被其他一系列 信仰体系所使用。


上帝之手上帝之手

是一种最流行的斯拉夫新异教主义的象征符号,或者更具体地说,是一种RPK提倡的万有在神论的象征符 号,被成为“上帝之手”。

古埃及十字架符号古埃及十字架

古埃及十字架常常出现在埃及坟墓图案和其他艺术中,在图片中常常位于神或者女神的指尖位置,代表恩赐木乃伊死人来世生命的 神灵;它也认为是怀 孕的象征。古埃及十字架是埃及最神圣的符号。此外,古埃及十字架常常做为护身符单独佩戴在埃及人身上或者和其他两个象征力量和健康的符号一起佩戴。用金属 制作的镜子也常常做成古埃及十字架的形状,要么出于装饰的原因,要么为了象征对另一个世界的认知。

古埃及十字架几乎从来不被画成银色;作为太阳的符号,古埃及人几乎总是用与太阳联系在一起的元素金精心制作它的重要例子(在坟墓上或者其他用 途上)。类似的金属还有铜,它常常被抛光到一定的光泽度,有时候也被用来制作这种十字架符号。

神圣的混沌神圣的混沌

神圣的混沌是狄斯科耳狄亚用来解释有序和混乱之间相互联系的符号。神圣的混乱象征着每个人需要知道的每个绝对事物, 以及更多其他 事物!它甚至象征着一切不值得知道的事情,这种象征的含义通过大混乱周围的空白区域表现出来。

天使莫罗尼天使莫罗尼

天使莫罗尼 吹号的这幅画面常常用作耶稣基督后期圣徒教会非正式的符号。莫罗尼出现在摩门经的某些版本的封面上,这座天使的雕像站立在许多后期圣徒教会寺庙中,它们中 的大多数向东而立。




大主教十字架大主教十字架

这个符号,也常被称为牧首十字,大量出现在九世纪拜占庭帝国时期。在那时,这个双十字架符号并不是一个宗教标志,而 是拜占庭官员和 传教士使用的一种政治符号。它的现代解释之一是象征着作为基督传统继承者和守护者的斯洛伐克,它被 来自拜占庭帝国的圣 西里尔和圣麦托丢这两位传教士带到当地。

基督教十字架基督教十字架

基督十字架,作为耶稣基督的绞刑工具象征,是基督教最注明的宗教符号。它和绞刑架(一个带有耶稣身体三围象征的十字架)、 更广泛的十字架 符号集关联在一起。

这个十字状的标志,以两条垂直相交线的最简单形式呈现。在东方和西方,这种标志早早先于基督教的引入。它要追溯到人类文明 非常遥远的时期。由 于它不仅仅具有装饰价值,也具有宗教的意义,因此它被用作很多用途。基督教十字架具有多种不同的形式。

百合花百合花

几个世纪以来,当百合花出现在无数欧洲盾章和旗帜上时,它特别与历史背景下的法国君主政体联系在一起,并且至今仍然 出现西 班牙国王和卢森堡大公以及波旁王朝的纹章上。它仍然是法国一个不朽的符号。虽然它从未被法兰西共和国的任何成员正式采用,但是在法国邮票上印有它的图案。 根据法国历史学家乔治杜拜的观点,三片叶子象征中世纪的社会阶层:工作的人,战斗的人和祷告的人。

莲花莲花

从远古时代开始,莲花就已成为亚洲传统中的一个神圣的符号,象征性纯洁的美德和不迷恋。

印度教徒将莲花尊为神。在画像中,毗湿奴和吉祥天女常常被画在粉色的莲花之上。为了展现拯救危难世界的毗湿奴形象,人们 在他的肚脐上画了一株莲花,梵天由此莲花而生。

辩才天女常被描绘成白色的莲花,通常用来象征神圣的美丽。毗湿奴常被描绘为一只莲花眼, 张开的花瓣表示精神的延伸。




九角星九角星

最常用的、和九有联系的符号就是九角星;它没有独特的设计,但是与其他符号相比,它被使用的更多。

带着白色火焰的莲花带 着白色火焰的莲花

阿雅瓦兹符号是一个带着白色火焰形状的莲花。莲花代表具有1008个花瓣的顶轮,白色火焰象征“灵魂 ”或者“自我”。

翅膀之心或者图格拉伊那雅迪翅膀之心 或者图格拉伊那雅迪

苏非派禁欲神秘主义的象征符号就是图格拉伊那雅迪或 者翅膀之心。

翅膀之心是一种古老的苏非派符号,在1910年被印纳雅·堪选作 ‘西方苏菲派的秩序'印章符号。 这颗翅膀之心的书法最初出现在维拉耶伊那雅迪汗的73岁生日之际。

 图格拉的形状象征向往天堂的心。心形上的新月代表心所具有的响应能力和潜力。

六芒星六芒 星

六芒星是一个可以一笔连续化成的六线形或者六角星,无需多余的第二笔。这个六线形也可以画在一个圆圈中,所有的顶点 都在圆上。

I希腊和印度教的神话中将它作为对神圣统治者的奉献的象征。

阴阳符号阴阳符号

在中国的哲学中,阴阳(在西方国家称为阴和阳)的概念用来描述自然界中正好相反或者看起来似乎 相反的力量如何相互联系,相 互依存,以及它们是如何此消彼长的。对立双方只能在相互联系中存在,在中国科学和哲学的传统分支中早就存在这种观点。它成为中国中医的主要方针,也成为中 国不同形式的武术和锻炼的中心原则,例如八卦掌,太极拳(太极),气功和易经占卜。许多自然的二象性-例如暗和明,女和男,低和高,冷和热-也分别被认为 是阴和阳的表现。

鸟居符号鸟居符号

鸟居符号是日本一种传统的大门,常出现在神社的入口处或者里面,象征性地标记从世俗到神圣的过渡。

坎达长剑符号坎达长剑符号

这个符号中的左边的那把剑代表真理,右边的那把剑代表为正义而战的意愿--德(宗教);中间的圆圈表示世界只有一位 神,永远没有开始 也永远不会结束。

坎达长剑代表上帝的知识, 查卡代表神永恒的本质和人类的同一性,两把剑则象征米乐(政治统治权)和皮瑞(精神统治权)。

鲁伯艾尔希兹布鲁伯艾尔希兹布

这个八角星过去是安达鲁西远古文化亚塔尔提索斯的一种符号。由于在八世纪的时候,这个地区被伊斯兰王朝统治,这也成 为这个符号可能的起源之一。在阿拉伯书 法中,这个符号用来标记每章的末尾。

星星和新月星星和 新月

在古代以色列或其周围可以发现一起出现的星星和新月。它和摩押人联系在一起(公元前十四世纪或者更早的六世纪到十三 世纪之间),作为出现在摩 押人名字印章上的符号。在十九世纪时期,它象征奥斯曼帝国,从1793年开始出现在奥斯曼帝国国旗上。1844年奥斯曼帝国国旗作为土耳其共和国国旗继续 被使用。


More Symbols:

非洲符号
占星术符号
治愈符号
犹太符号
爱的符号
共济会会员符号
挪威符号
神圣的符号
闪族人符号
塔罗符号
颜色符号
心形符号
数学符号
伊斯兰符号
波斯符号
附身符符号
金属符号
四大元素符号






Copyright © 2014 Ancient-Symbols.com  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of Ancient-Symbols.com  is prohibited.

ancient symbols
Ancient Symbols
Alchemy Symbols
Celtic Symbols
Celtic Knots
Chinese Symbols
Zodiac Symbols
Christian Symbols
Egyptian Symbols
Good Luck Symbols
Greek Symbols
Japanese Symbols
Mayan Symbols
Native American Symbol
Pagan Symbols
Peace Symbols
Religious Symbols
Roman Symbols
Sacred Geometry Symbols
Strength Symbols
Symbolic Pictures
Tattoo Symbols Buddhist Symbols Irish Symbols Hindu Symbols Symbols Influence on History Friendship Symbols The Lost Symbol Power Symbols Dream Symbols Star Symbols Motherhood Symbols

Related Resources

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Antike Symbole (Deutsch)

Древние символы (Russian)

Symboles Anciens (French)

古代符号 (Chinese)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

 Religious Symbols

Religious symbolism is the use of symbols, including archetypes, acts, artwork, events, or natural phenomena, by a religion. Religions view religious texts, rituals, and works of art as symbols of compelling ideas or ideals. Symbols help create a resonant mythos expressing the moral values of the society or the teachings of the religion, foster solidarity among adherents, and bring adherents closer to their object of worship.


The study of religious symbolism is either universalist, as a component of comparative religion and mythology, or in localized scope, within the confines of a religion's limits and boundaries.

Here are some of the most popular religious symbols from our past.







bahai-symbol.jpg (5235 bytes)

Bahai Symbol

christianity-cross.jpg (3071 bytes)

Christianity Cross Symbol

buddhism-symbol.jpg (5646 bytes)

Buddhism Symbol

shinto-symbol.jpg (3806 bytes)

Shinto Symbol

Share the Symbols on this page:

ankh1.jpg (2961 bytes)

Egyptian Ankh Religious Symbol

sikhism-symbol.jpg (4770 bytes)

Sikhism Symbol


Related Religious Jewelry

By the Artist - David Weiztman and Ka Gold Jewelry

Star of David
Shinto (Torii gate) ring Ankh and lotus necklace
Star of David
Shinto (Torii gate) ring Ankh and lotus necklace



starofdavid100.png (1549 bytes)

Jewish Religious Symbol

islam-symbol.jpg (3581 bytes)

Islamic Religious Symbol

upright-pentacle.jpg (1742 bytes)

Upright Pentacle- Upright pentacles and pentagrams are among the most widely used religious symbols. They have been used in many eras and by many cultures and religions of the world: by ancient Pagans, ancient Israelites, Christians, magicians, Wiccans and others.




happyman symbolThe Happy Human

(originally the Happy Man) is a secular icon and the official symbol of the International Humanist and Ethical Union (IHEU), a world body for Humanism, and has been adopted by many Humanist organisations and individuals worldwide. Its origin was a competition organised in 1965 by the British Humanist Association to find a symbol for itself. The winning design was created by Denis Barrington.

ouroboros symbolThe Ouroboros

often represents self-reflexivity or cyclicality, especially in the sense of something constantly re-creating itself, the eternal return, and other things perceived as cycles that begin anew as soon as they end.

sun crossSun Cross

The sun cross, or more commonly known as the sun wheel, a cross inside a circle, is a common symbol in artifacts of Prehistoric Europe, particularly during the Neolithic to Bronze Age periods.

triskelionTriskelion

A triskelion or triskele is a motif consisting of three interlocked spirals, or three bent human legs, or any similar symbol with three protrusions and a threefold rotational symmetry. A triskelion is the symbol of Brittany, as well as the Isle of Man and Sicily (where it is called trinacria).

buddha eyesBuddha Eyes

On virtually every stupa (Buddhist shrine) in Nepal, there are giant pairs of eyes staring out from the four sides of the main tower.

These are Buddha Eyes (otherwise known as Wisdom Eyes), and they look out in the four directions to symbolize the omniscience (all-seeing) of a Buddha.

pentagramPentagram

Here is an image of an upside down pentagram, the pentagram also appears with the star right side up. A pentagram is the shape of a five-pointed star drawn with five straight strokes. Pentagrams were used symbolically in ancient Greece and Babylonia, and are used today as a symbol of faith by many Wiccans, akin to the use of the cross by Christians and the Star of David by Jews. The pentagram has magical associations, and many people who practice Neopagan faiths wear jewelry incorporating the symbol. Christians once more commonly used the pentagram to represent the five wounds of Jesus. The pentagram has associations with Freemasonry and is also utilized by a number of other belief systems.

hands of godHands of God

A symbol popularly used as representing Slavic Neopaganism, or more specifically the panentheism advocated by the RPK, is known as "Hands of God".

ankh egyptian symbolThe Ankh 

appears frequently in Egyptian tomb paintings and other art, often at the fingertips of a god or goddess in images that represent the deities of the afterlife conferring the gift of life on the dead person's mummy; this is thought to symbolize the act of conception. Additionally, an ankh was often carried by Egyptians as an amulet, either alone, or in connection with two other hieroglyphs that mean "strength" and "health". Mirrors of beaten metal were also often made in the shape of an ankh, either for decorative reasons or to symbolize a perceived view into another world.

The ankh was almost never drawn in silver; as a sun-symbol, the Egyptians almost invariably crafted important examples of it (for tombs or other purposes) from the metal they most associated with the sun, gold. A similar metal such as copper, burnished to a high sheen, was also sometimes used.

sacred chaoSacred Chao

The Sacred Chao is a symbol used by Discordians to illustrate the interrelatedness of order and disorder.The Sacred Chao symbolizes absolutely everything anyone need ever know about absolutely anything, and more! It even symbolizes everything not worth knowing, depicted by the empty space surrounding the Hodge-Podge.

moroniAngel Moroni

The image of the angel Moroni blowing a trumpet is commonly used as an unofficial symbol of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Moroni appears on the cover of some editions of the Book of Mormon, and statues of the angel stand atop many LDS temples, most statues facing eastward.

patriarchal crossPatriarchal Cross

The symbol, often referred to as the patriarchal cross, appeared in the Byzantine Empire in large numbers in the 9th century. In the Byzantine Empire of the 9th century, the double cross was not a religious, but a political symbol used by Byzantine clerks and missionaries. One of the modern interpretations of the double cross is that it represents Slovakia as an heir and guardian of Christian tradition, brought to the region by St. Cyril and St. Methodius, two missionaries from the Byzantine Empire.

the christian crossThe Christian cross

seen as a representation of the instrument of the crucifixion of Jesus Christ, is the best-known religious symbol of Christianity. It is related to the crucifix (a cross that includes a usually three-dimensional representation of Jesus' body) and to the more general family of cross symbols.

The cross-shaped sign, represented in its simplest form by a crossing of two lines at right angles, greatly antedates, in both East and West, the introduction of Christianity. It goes back to a very remote period of human civilization. It is supposed to have been used not just for its ornamental value, but also with religious significance.
The Christian Cross comes in many different forms.

fleur de lysFleur de Lys

While the fleur-de-lis has appeared on countless European coats of arms and flags over the centuries, it is particularly associated with the French monarchy in a historical context, and continues to appear in the arms of the King of Spain and the Grand Duke of Luxembourg, members of the House of Bourbon. It remains an enduring symbol of France that appears on French postage stamps, although it has never been adopted officially by any of the French republics. According to French historian Georges Duby, the three leaves represent the medieval social classes: those who worked, those who fought and those who prayed.

lotus flowerLotus Flower

From ancient times the lotus has been a divine symbol in Asian traditions representing the virtues of sexual purity and non-attachment.

Hindus revere it with the divinities Vishnu and Lakshmi often portrayed on a pink lotus in iconography. In the representation of Vishnu as Padmanabha, a lotus issues from his navel with Brahma on it.

Goddess Sarasvati is portrayed on a white-colored lotus. Often used as an example of divine beauty, Vishnu is often described as the Lotus-Eyed One. Its unfolding petals suggest the expansion of the soul.



nine pointed starNine Pointed Star

The most commonly used symbol connected to the number 9 is the nine-pointed star; there is no particular design of the nine-pointed star that is used more often than others.

lotus carrying namamLotus Carrying Namam

The symbol of the Ayyavazhi is a lotus carrying a flame-shaped white 'Namam'. The lotus represents the 1,008-petalled Sahasrara and the Namam represents the Aanma Jyothi or atman, sometimes translated as "soul" or "self".

the winged heartThe Winged Heart or Tughra Inayati

The symbol of Universal Sufism is the Tughra Inayati or the "Winged Heart".

The winged heart is an old Sufi symbol, and was chosen by Inayat Khan as the seal of the 'Sufi Order of the West' at its founding in 1910. The original rendering of this winged heart calligraphy was presented to Vilayat Inayat Khan on the occasion of his 73rd birthday.

The shape of the tughra symbolises that the heart desires heaven. The crescent in the heart suggests the responsiveness and potential of the heart.

unicursal hexagramUnicursal Hexagram

The unicursal hexagram is a hexagram or six-pointed star that can be traced or drawn unicursally, in one continuous line rather than by two overlaid triangles. The hexagram can also be depicted inside a circle with the points touching it.

It is used in the Greek and Hindu mythologies as a symbol of dedication to the divine rulers.

ying yangYing Yang Symbol

In Chinese philosophy, the concept of yin yang, normally referred to in the West as (yin and yang) is used to describe how polar or seemingly contrary forces are interconnected and interdependent in the natural world, and how they give rise to each other in turn. Opposites thus only exist in relation to each other. The concept lies at the origins of many branches of classical Chinese science and philosophy, as well as being a primary guideline of traditional Chinese medicine, and a central principle of different forms of Chinese martial arts and exercise, such as baguazhang, taijiquan (tai chi), and qigong (Chi Kung) and of I Ching divination. Many natural dualities - e.g. dark and light, female and male, low and high, cold and hot - are thought of as manifestations of yin and yang (respectively).

torii symbolTorii Symbol

A torii is a traditional Japanese gate most commonly found at the entrance of or within a Shinto shrine, where it symbolically marks the transition from the profane to the sacred.

khanda symbolKhanda Symbol

In the symbol the sword to the left represents truth, and the sword to the right represents the willingness to fight for what is right- dharma (religion). The circle in the middle means that there is only one God, never beginning and never ending.

The Khanda represents knowledge of God, the Chakkar represents the eternal nature of God and oneness of humanity, the two swords represent Miri (political sovereignty) and Piri (spiritual sovereignty).

Rub el HizbRub el Hizb

An eight-pointed star was used as a symbol of Tartessos, an ancient civilization based in Andalusia. As the region was ruled by Islamic dynasties for eight centuries, this may suggest a possible origin of the Rub el Hizb.The symbol is used as a marker for the end of a chapter in Arabic calligraphy.

star and crescentStar and Crescent

The star and crescent appear in combination in finds from in and around ancient Israel. It has been associated with the Moabites (14th or early 13th – 6th century BC), as the symbol or symbols appear on what are thought to be Moabite name seals. During the 19th century, it represented the Ottoman Empire, figuring on the Ottoman flag from 1793. The Ottoman flag of 1844 continues to be in use as the flag of the Republic of Turkey.

Om AumAum or Om

Aum (Om) is the most sacred of Hindu symbols that is considered representative of both the manifest and hidden aspects of the omnipresent, omniscient and omnipotent God. It is symbolic of several significant triads – the 3 worlds (earth, heaven and atmosphere); the 3 holy Vedic scriptures (Yajur, Sama and Rig); the 3 main Hindu Gods (Brahma, Vishnu and Mahesh or Shiva). Om is also considered to be the most sacred of sounds that is the root from which the universe and entire existence arose and that holds everything together. It is a mystical mantra that is chanted at the start and end of all Hindu prayers, meditations and rituals.

Alpha and OmegaAlpha and Omega

The combination of two Greek letters, Alpha and Omega makes a powerful Christian symbol that represents the eternal existence of God. Alpha is the first letter of the Greek alphabet, while omega is the last one. Therefore, together they symbolize that God is the beginning as well as the end. The use of Alpha and Omega symbol of eternity has been traced to early Christianity and the symbol has been found in the ancient Roman catacombs.
The Alpha and Omega are sometimes combined with other Christian symbols such as the Cross and Chi-rho.


More Symbols:

African Symbols
Astrology Symbols
Healing Symbols
Jewish Symbols
Love Symbols
Masonic Symbols
Norse Symbols
Sacred Symbols
Sumerian Symbols
Tarot Symbols
Colors Symbols
Heart Symbols
Math Symbols
Islamic Symbols
Persian Symbols
Talismans Symbols
Metal Symbolism
Four Elements Symbolism
God Symbols
Dragon Symbolism
Archetypes
Occult Symbols
Solar & Lunar Symbols
Wiccan Symbols
Gauguin Symbolism
Atheist Symbols
Bird Symbols
Water Symbols
Mythological Symbols
Kabbalah Symbols
Lotus Flower
Tibetan Symbols






Copyright © 2014 Ancient-Symbols.com  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of Ancient-Symbols.com  is prohibited.