Symboles Anciens
Symboles Anciens
Symboles Alchimiques
Symboles Celtiques
Nœuds Celtiques
Symboles Chinois
Symboles Chrétiens
Symboles Égyptiens
Symboles de Chance
Symboles Grecs
Symboles Japonais
Symboles Maya
Symboles Amérindiens
Symboles Païens
Symboles Païens
Symboles Religieux
Symboles Romains
Symboles Géométrie Sacrée
Symboles de Force
Images Symboliques
Symboles de Tatouages Symboles Bouddhistes Symboles Irlandais Symboles Hindous Symboles dans l'Histoire Symboles d'Amitié Le Symbole Perdu Symboles de Puissance Symboles des Rêves Symboles d'Étoile Symboles de Maternité

Ressources Liées

Ancient Symbols (English)

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Antike Symbole (Deutsch)

Древние символы (Russian)

古代符号 (Chinese)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

 Symboles de L'Égypte Ancienne

Les gens à travers le monde connaissent beaucoup de symboles égyptiens quand ils les voient. Ils semblent presque magiques et les gens sont captivés par leur beauté et leur importance. De nombreux symboles égyptiens étaient représentés par des hiéroglyphes, ces symboles étaient souvent appelés "Les mots de Dieu", et ces symboles étaient souvent utilisés par les prêtres.

Il y a beaucoup de symboles égyptiens anciens représentés à travers l'Égypte. Cette section de notre site internet couvre bon nombre des symboles égyptiens anciens les plus populaires. De nombreux symboles égyptiens anciens étaient utilisés comme des amulettes de protection, ou ils étaient utilisés pour apporter la bonne fortune. Beaucoup de symboles égyptiens anciens étaient aussi utilisés dans les rituels religieux et magiques pour les vivants et aussi pour les morts.





ankh1.jpg (2961 bytes)Ankh

Symbole de la vie éternelle. Les dieux étaient souvent vus tenant une croix de ankh sur les lèvres de quelqu'un, c'est considéré comme étant un don du "Souffle de Vie". Le souffle dont vous aurez besoin dans l'au-delà.
ankh egyptian symbol

La croix de Ankh apparait fréquemment sur les peintures des tombes égyptiennes et sur d'autres oeuvres, souvent au bout des doigts d'un dieu ou d'une déesse dans les images qui représentent les déités de l'après-vie conférant le cadeau de la vie sur la momie de la personne décédée ; on pense que cela symbolise l'acte de  la conception. En plus, une croix de ankh était souvent portée par les Égyptiens en tant qu'amulette, soit seule, soit en connexion avec deux autres hiéroglyphes qui signifient "force" et "santé". Les Miroirs en métal martelé étaient aussi souvent fabriqués en forme d'ankh, soit pour des raisons décoratives soit pour symboliser une vue perçue dans un autre monde.

La croix de ankh n'était quasiment jamais dessinée en argent ; en tant que symbole solaire, les Égyptiens en fabriquaient presque invariablement des exemples importants (pour les tombes ou à d'autres fins) à partir du métal qu'ils associaient le plus avec le soleil, l'or. Un métal similaire  tel que le cuivre, poli pour une grande brillance, était parfois utilisé.

amenta.jpg (1950 bytes)Amenta

Ce symbole représente les Enfers ou le Royaume des Morts. À l'origine cela signifiait l'horizon du coucher du soleil. Plus tard, cela devint le symbole de la rive ouest du Nil, où le soleil se couche et aussi où les Égyptiens enterraient traditionnellement leurs morts.


Cartouche Égyptien

egyptian cartoucheDans les hiéroglyphes égyptiens, un cartouche est un rectangle avec une ligne horizontale à une extrémité, indiquant que le texte inclus est un nom royal, entré en utilisation durant le début de la Quatrième Dynastie sous le Pharaon Snéfrou, remplaçant le serekh antérieur. Le nom cartouche était d'abord appliqué par les soldats qui s'imaginaient que le symbole qu'ils voyaient si fréquemment répété sur les ruines pharaoniques qu'ils rencontraient ressemblaient à une cartouche en papier de poudre pour les armes à feu.

Bijouterie Égyptienne

Par l'Artiste - David Weiztman et Ka Gold Jewelry

Emerald tablet
Eye of Horus Ankh and lotus necklace
Tablette d'Émeraude
avec l'Oeil d'Horus
Collier d'Ankh et de lotus

Ancient-symbols.com et l'artiste de bijouterie cosmique David Weitzman se sont associés pour vous offrir une authentique bijouterie égyptienne basée sur les connaissances et les recherches concernant sur l'Égypte Ancienne. Nous espérons que vous la trouverez belle et attrayante.


ba.jpg (2275 bytes)Ba
Le Ba est ce que l'on pourrait appeler la personnalité de quelqu'un. Elle quitterait le corps au moment de la mort. Durant le jour le Ba se rendrait utile, la nuit il retournerait dans la tombe. À ce moment, il rechercherait la personne à qui il appartenait. Cela aurait du être la momie, toutefois, souvent les Égyptiens fournissaient au Ba une statue ressemblant au décédé au cas où la momie était perdue ou endommagée.
rdcrown.jpg (4336 bytes)Decheret

La Couronne Rouge. C'était la couronne qui représentait la Basse Égypte (au nord).
nemes.gif (2488 bytes)Némès

Une coiffe rayée portée par les Pharaons.
was.jpg (3983 bytes)Was

C'était un symbole de pouvoir et de domination. Le sceptre du Was est porté par les déités comme signe de leur pouvoir. On le voit aussi porté par les rois et plus tard par les gens de rang plus modeste dans les scènes mortuaires.
white-crown.jpg (4011 bytes)Hedjet

La Couronne Blanche. C'était la couronne de la Haute Égypte (au sud).
cartouch.jpg (5104 bytes)Shenou

Plus communément connu en tant que cartouche. La forme représente une boucle de corde dans laquelle un nom est écrit. Un protecteur de ce nom.
cobra.jpg (4156 bytes)Uraeus

  Le cobra est un emblème de la Basse Égypte. Il est associé avec le roi, et le royaume de la
Basse Égypte. Il est aussi associé avec le soleil et avec de nombreuses déités. Le cobra représentait "l'oeil ardent de Ra", dans lequel on peut voir deux uraei de chaque côté d'un disque solaire ailé. Débutant dans l'Empire du Milieu de l'Égypte l'uraeus apparait comme un symbole porté sur la couronne ou la coiffe de la royauté. Il est utilisé comme un symbole protecteur, les Égyptiens croyaient que le cobra cracherait du feu vers les ennemis approchant.

uraeusL'Uraeus, utilisé comme symbole de souveraineté, de royauté, de déité et d'autorité divine dans l'Égypte ancienne.

L'Uraeus est un symbole de la déesse Ouadjet, l'une des premières déités égyptiennes, qui était souvent représentée en tant que cobra. Le centre de son culte était à Per-Wadjet, appelé plus tard Buto par les Grecs. Elle devint la patronne du Delta du Nil et la protectrice de toute la Basse Égypte, donc son image était portée par les pharaons en tant qu'ornement de la tête, avec le corps de Ouadjet au-dessus de la tête ou en tant  que couronne encerclant la tête, faisant toujours en effet partie de leur couronne, indiquant sa protection et en tant que revendication de la terre. Le pharaon était reconnu uniquement par le port de l'uraeus, qui transmettait la légitimité au  souverain.


maat1.jpg (2173 bytes)Maat

Représente la vérité, la justice, la moralité et l'équilibre. On voit souvent les déités se tenant sur ce symbole, comme si elles se tenaient sur les fondements de Maat.



Sphinx

Un sphinx est une créature mythique avec un corps de lion et une tête humaine.

Généralement le rôle des sphinx est associé avec des structures architecturales telles que des tombes royales ou des temples religieux. Le plus ancien sphinx connu a été découvert à Gobekli Tepe, en Turquie et il a été daté de 9 500 av. J.-C.

sphynx egypt



scarab.jpg (4546 bytes)Scarabée

Appelé le bousier parce qu'il fait rouler une boule de bouse sur le sol. Les Égyptiens observaient son comportement et l'assimilaient avec le globe solaire en train d'être roulé à travers le ciel. Ils confondaient cette source de nourriture en forme de boule avec le sac d'oeufs que la femelle bousier pondait et enterrait dans le sable. Lors de l'éclosion des oeufs les bousiers semblaient apparaitre de nulle part, en faisant un symbole de création spontanée. Dans ce rôle il était associé avec le lever du soleil. Khépri était le dieu à tête de scarabée.

egyptian scarab
djed.gif (1836 bytes)Djed

On croyait que le Djed était un rendu d'une colonne vertébrale humaine. Il représente la stabilité et la force. Il était associé à l'origine avec le dieu de la création Ptah. Lui-même étant appelé le "Noble Djed". Quand le culte d'Osiris s'installa il devint connu en tant que colonne vertébrale d'Osiris. Une colonne djed est souvent peinte au fond des cercueils, là où reposerait la colonne vertébrale du défunt, cela identifiait la personne avec le roi du monde souterrain, Osiris. Il agit aussi en tant que signe de stabilité pour le voyage du défunt dans l'au-delà.
sema1.gif (2647 bytes)Sema

C'est un rendu des poumons attachés à la trachée. En tant que hiéroglyphe ce symbole représente l'unification de la Haute et de la Basse Égypte. D'autres symboles sont souvent ajoutés pour approfondir l'illustration de l'unification. 
maat.jpg (4049 bytes)Plume de Maat

Représente la vérité, la justice, la moralité et l'équilibre. C'était le travail du pharaon de maintenir Maat. Quand un pharaon mourrait, Maat était perdue et le monde jeté dans le chaos, seul le couronnement d'un nouveau pharaon pouvait restaurer Maat.


egyptian obeliskUn obélisque est un grand monument étroit, avec quatre côtés et effilé qui se termine avec une forme de pyramide au sommet, qui est censé ressembler à un "rayon pétrifié" du disque solaire. Une paire d'obélisques se tenait habituellement devant un pylône. Les obélisques anciens étaient souvent monolithiques, alors que les obélisques plus modernes sont faits de plusieurs pierres et peuvent avoir des espaces intérieurs.


Page 1 2


Share the Symbols on this page:




More Symbols:

Symboles Africains
Symboles Astrologiques
Symboles de Guérison
Symboles Juifs
Symboles de l'Amour
Symboles Maçonniques
Symboles Nordiques
Symboles Sacrés
Symboles Sumériens
Symboles du Tarot
Symboles des Couleurs






Copyright © 2014 Ancient-Symbols.com  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of Ancient-Symbols.com  is prohibited.

ancient symbols
Ancient Symbols
Alchemy Symbols
Celtic Symbols
Celtic Knots
Chinese Symbols
Zodiac Symbols
Christian Symbols
Egyptian Symbols
Good Luck Symbols
Greek Symbols
Japanese Symbols
Mayan Symbols
Native American Symbol
Pagan Symbols
Peace Symbols
Religious Symbols
Roman Symbols
Sacred Geometry Symbols
Strength Symbols
Symbolic Pictures
Tattoo Symbols Buddhist Symbols Irish Symbols Hindu Symbols Symbols Influence on History Friendship Symbols The Lost Symbol Power Symbols Dream Symbols Star Symbols Motherhood Symbols

Related Resources

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Antike Symbole (Deutsch)

Древние символы (Russian)

Symboles Anciens (French)

古代符号 (Chinese)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

 Ancient Egyptian Symbols

People all around the world know many egyptian symbols when they see them. They seem almost magical and people are captivated by their beauty and significance. Many egyptian symbols were depicted in hieroglyphs, these symbols were often called "The words of God", and these symbols were often used by priests.

There are many ancient egyptian symbols depicted throughout Egypt. This section of our website covers many of the most popular ancient Egyptian symbols. Many ancient egyptian symbols were used as amulets of protection, or they were used to bring good fortune. Many ancient egyptian symbols were also used in religious and magical rituals for the living and also for the dead.




Share the Symbols on this page:

ankh1.jpg (2961 bytes)Ankh

Symbol of eternal life. The gods are often seen holding an ankh to someone's lips this is considered to be an offering of "The Breath of Life". The breath you will need in the afterlife.
ankh egyptian symbol

The Ankh appears frequently in Egyptian tomb paintings and other art, often at the fingertips of a god or goddess in images that represent the deities of the afterlife conferring the gift of life on the dead person's mummy; this is thought to symbolize the act of conception. Additionally, an ankh was often carried by Egyptians as an amulet, either alone, or in connection with two other hieroglyphs that mean "strength" and "health". Mirrors of beaten metal were also often made in the shape of an ankh, either for decorative reasons or to symbolize a perceived view into another world.

The ankh was almost never drawn in silver; as a sun-symbol, the Egyptians almost invariably crafted important examples of it (for tombs or other purposes) from the metal they most associated with the sun, gold. A similar metal such as copper, burnished to a high sheen, was also sometimes used.

amenta.jpg (1950 bytes)Amenta

This symbol represents the Underworld or Land of the Dead. Originally it meant the horizon of the sun set. Later, it became the symbol of the west bank of the Nile, where the sun set and also where the Egyptians traditionally buried their dead.


Egyptian Cartouche

egyptian cartouche In Egyptian hieroglyphs, a cartouche is a rectangle with a horizontal line at one end, indicating that the text enclosed is a royal name, coming into use during the beginning of the Fourth Dynasty under Pharaoh Sneferu, replacing the earlier serekh. The name cartouche was first applied by soldiers who fancied that the symbol they saw so frequently repeated on the pharaonic ruins they encountered resembled a muzzle-loading firearm's paper powder cartridge, (cartouche in French).

Egyptian Jewelry

By the Artist - David Weiztman and Ka Gold Jewelry

Emerald tablet
Eye of Horus Ankh and lotus necklace
Emerald Tablet
Eye of Horus article
Ankh and lotus necklace

Ancient-symbols.com and the cosmic jewelry artist David Weitzman have partnered to offer you authentic egyptian jewelry based on ancient egyptian knowledge and research. We hope you will find them beautiful and attractive.


ba.jpg (2275 bytes)Ba
The Ba is what we might call someones personality. It would leave the body at the time of death. During the days the Ba would make itself useful, at night it would return to the tomb. At this time, it would look for the person to which it belonged. This would be the mummy, however, often the egyptians would supply the Ba with a statue in the likeness of the deceased in case the mummy was lost or damaged.
rdcrown.jpg (4336 bytes)Deshret

The Red Crown. This was the crown that represented Lower Egypt (northern).
nemes.gif (2488 bytes)Nemes

A striped headcloth worn by Pharaohs.
was.jpg (3983 bytes)Was

This is a symbol of power and dominion. The Was scepter is carried by deities as a sign of their power. It is also seen being carried by kings and later by people of lesser stature in mortuary scenes
white-crown.jpg (4011 bytes)Hedjet

The White Crown. This was the crown of Upper Egypt (southern).
cartouch.jpg (5104 bytes)Shenu

More commonly know as a cartouche. The shape represents a loop of rope in which a name is written. A protector of that name.
cobra.jpg (4156 bytes)Uraeus

The cobra is an emblem of Lower Egypt. It is associated with the king, and kingdom of Lower Egypt. It is also associated with the sun and with many deities. The cobra represented the "fiery eye of Re", in which two uraei can be seen on either side of a winged solar disk. Starting in Middle Kingdom The uraeus appears as a symbol worn on the crown or headdress of royalty. It is used as a protective symbol, the Egyptians believed that the cobra would spit fire at any approaching enemies.

uraeusThe Uraeus, used as a symbol of sovereignty, royalty, deity, and divine authority in ancient Egypt.

The Uraeus is a symbol for the goddess Wadjet, one of the earliest of Egyptian deities, who often was depicted as a cobra. The center of her cult was in Per-Wadjet, later called Buto by the Greeks. She became the patroness of the Nile Delta and the protector of all of Lower Egypt, so her image was worn by the pharaohs as a head ornament, first as the body of Wadjet atop the head or as a crown encircling the head, always remaining in effect part of their crown, indicating her protection and as a claim over the land. The pharaoh was recognized only by wearing the uraeus, which conveyed legitimacy to the ruler.


maat1.jpg (2173 bytes)Maat

Represents truth, justice, morality and balance. Deities are often seen standing on this symbol, as if standing on a foundation of Maat.




A sphinx is a mythical creature with a lion's body and a human head.

Generally the role of sphinxes is associated with architectural structures such as royal tombs or religious temples. The oldest known sphinx was found in Gobekli Tepe, Turkey and was dated to 9,500 BC.

sphynx egypt



scarab.jpg (4546 bytes)Scarab

Called the dung beetle because of its practice of rolling a ball of dung across the ground. The Egyptians observed this behavior and equated it with the ball of the sun being rolled across the sky. They confused this balled food source with the egg sack that the female dung beetle laid and buried in the sand. When the eggs hatched the dung beetles would seem to appear from nowhere, making it a symbol of spontaneous creation. In this role it was associated with the sunrise. Khepri was the scarab headed god.

egyptian scarab
djed.gif (1836 bytes)Djed

It is believed that the Djed is a rendering of a human backbone. It represents stability and strength. It was originally associated with the creation god Ptah. Himself being called the "Noble Djed". As the Osiris cults took hold it became known as the backbone of Osiris . A djed column is often painted on the bottom of coffins, where the backbone of the deceased would lay, this identified the person with the king of the underworld, Osiris. It also acts as a sign of stability for the deceased' journey into the afterlife.
sema1.gif (2647 bytes)Sema

This is a rendering of the lungs attached to the windpipe. As a hieroglyph this symbol represents the unification of Upper and Lower Egypt. Other symbols are often added to further illustrate unification.
maat.jpg (4049 bytes)Feather of Maat

Represents truth, justice, morality and balance. It was pharaoh's job to uphold Maat. When a pharaoh died, Maat was lost and the world was flung into chaos, only the coronation of a new pharaoh could restore Maat.


egyptian obeliskAn obelisk is a tall, narrow, four-sided, tapering monument which ends in a pyramid-like shape at the top, said to resemble a "petrified ray" of the sundisk. A pair of obelisks usually stood in front of a pylon. Ancient obelisks were often monolithic, whereas most modern obelisks are made of several stones and can have interior spaces.


sistrum Sistrum
An important instrument in the ancient Egyptian cosmogony, the Sistrum is used in ceremonies and dances for worshipping the Goddesses Hathor, Bast and Isis. It is also known as the Sheshesht or Iba. Shaped like the ankh, the Sistrum has a handle that is topped with a wooden or metal loop having wires that are strung with metal plates.

Its constant shaking produces a jangling sound that is considered effective in appeasing Typhon, God of chaos. The instrument is closely associated with Hathor, the Goddess of festivity, joy, dance, fertility and eroticism. It also symbolizes her son, Ihy. With the mother and creator, Goddess Isis depicted as holding a pail in one hand and the Sistrum in the other, the instrument is even used for reducing the destructive effect of the flooded Nile.

One of the most prominent representations of the Sistrum is to be found in Dendera in the temple of Hathor. Even today, this instrument is an important part of worship rites in the Ethiopian and Coptic churches.


seba Seba
Seba is the Egyptian symbol for star. This simple line drawing made of 5 equidistant spokes resembles a starfish. The term ‘seba’ means discipline or learning and it is associated with gates and doorways. The early Egyptian had great interest in and extensive knowledge of the star-filled night sky. The stars had a great deal of influence on the development of their calendar and also dictated their beliefs in life after death. The ceilings of their temples were decorated with images of astral deities, constellations and stars. The Egyptian sky goddess, Nut is also shown adorned with five-pointed stars. The stars were supposed to represent the souls of the dead and considered the followers of Osiris.
The Seba in itself is representative of star and the star-gods or constellations, but when it is enclosed within a circle, it comes to represent the Duat, the otherworld or the land of afterlife to where the souls descend after death.


Page 1 2



More Symbols:

African Symbols
Astrology Symbols
Healing Symbols
Jewish Symbols
Love Symbols
Masonic Symbols
Norse Symbols
Sacred Symbols
Sumerian Symbols
Tarot Symbols
Colors Symbols
Heart Symbols
Math Symbols
Islamic Symbols
Persian Symbols
Talismans Symbols
Metal Symbolism
Four Elements Symbolism
God Symbols
Dragon Symbolism
Archetypes
Occult Symbols
Solar & Lunar Symbols
Wiccan Symbols
Gauguin Symbolism
Atheist Symbols
Bird Symbols
Water Symbols
Mythological Symbols
Kabbalah Symbols
Lotus Flower
Tibetan Symbols
Aboriginal Symbols






Copyright © 2014 Ancient-Symbols.com  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of Ancient-Symbols.com  is prohibited.