ancient symbols
Ancient Symbols
Alchemy Symbols
Celtic Symbols
Celtic Knots
Chinese Symbols
Zodiac Symbols
Christian Symbols
Egyptian Symbols
Good Luck Symbols
Greek Symbols
Japanese Symbols
Mayan Symbols
Native American Symbol
Pagan Symbols
Peace Symbols
Religious Symbols
Roman Symbols
Sacred Geometry Symbols
Strength Symbols
Symbolic Pictures
Tattoo Symbols Buddhist Symbols Irish Symbols Hindu Symbols Symbols Influence on History Friendship Symbols The Lost Symbol Power Symbols Dream Symbols Star Symbols Motherhood Symbols

Related Resources

Sםmbolos Antiguos (Spanish)

Antike Symbole (Deutsch)

Древние символы (Russian)

Symboles Anciens (French)

古代符号 (Chinese)

古代のシンボル (Japanese)

Sacred Chao Symbol

The Sacred Chao is a symbol of Discordianism or Erisianism, which is a religion that worships Goddess Eris, also called Discordia, the Greek deity of chaos, discord and strife. Eris is the sister of the Goddess of order and harmony, Aneris (also known as Harmonia or Concordia) and they have a brother, Spirituality. The concept of Discordianism and its founding as a religion traces its history to the year 1958-59 when its holy book, The Principia Discordia was published.

The Sacred Chao symbol resembles the yin-yang symbol and consists of an image of circle divided into two parts, with a pentagon in one side and a golden apple in the other. The pentagon represents the Aneristic principle of order, while the golden apple of discord stands for disorder or chaos that is the Eristic principle. Together, the symbol represents Hodge-Podge, the balance between order and chaos that make up the entire universe.

As a symbol of Discordianism, the Sacred Chao represents the religion’s underlying philosophy that chaos is as valid an aspect of reality or existence as harmony is. Order and disorder are both man-made concepts that are often influenced by the preconceptions and beliefs of the observer. Enlightened Discordians claim that the world, in general, favors and promotes order without realizing that doing so only leads to more disorder and its catastrophic manifestations. Therefore, they stimulate chaos to maintain the crucial balance between order and disorder.

The symbol Sacred Chao was introduced as the key to illumination by the Apostle Hung Mung, an ancient Chinese sage. ‘Chao’ is pronounced as ‘cow’; so, the term ‘sacred chao’ may be seen as a pun on the ‘sacred cow’ status (unquestioned reverence) that the world gives to the principles of order and harmony, while it vilifies disorder.

Sacred Chao

Symbols Menu:
» Gordian Knot
» Flower of Life
» Vesica Pisces
» Merkaba
» The Labyrinth
» Hung
» Sri Yantra
» Yin Yang
» Chinese Fu
» Jerusalem Cross
» Triple Moon
» bindi
» IK Onkar
» Hammer Sickle
» Khanda
» Tree of Life
» Rod of Asclepius
» Shield of the Trinity
» Genesa Crystal
» Star of David
» Lotus Flower
» Nautilus Shell
» Halo
» Hand of Fatima
» jiahu
» World Triad
» The Morning Star
» Tau
» Oshe Shango
» Seal of Shamash
» Camunian Rose
» IHS Monogram
» Alpha & Omega
    » Hunab Ku
» Borromean Rings
» Caduceus
» Infinity
» Ichthus
» Hedjet
» Sun Wheel
» Fleur De Lis
» Eye of God
» Happy Human
» Lauburu
» Pentagram
» Sacred Chao
» Emerald Tablet of Thoth
» Eye of Horus
» Buddhi Leaf
» Om
» Ankh
» Chalice
» Triquetra
» Pentacle
» Maat
» Ogham
» Mandala
» Theosophy
» Rub el Hizb
» Day Night Symbols
» The Golden Bough
» The Valknut
» Kartika
» Cross of Tau
» Ouroboros
» Khamsa
    » Uraues
» Globus Cruciger
» Holy Grail
» Medicine Wheel
» Menorah
» Papal Cross
» Quincunx
» Red Cross
» Tetractys
» Tilaka
» Taijitu
» Vajra
» Chai
» Chi Rho
» Dharmacakra
» Bagua
» Dragon
» Heart
» Eye of Providence
» Golden Spiral
» Labrys
» Amulet
» Sun Face
» Faravahar
» Thor's Hammer
» Healer's Hand
» Raven
» Keys of St. Peter
» Triskele
» Ajna
» Arsenic
» three-legged frog
» Phoenix - Bennu

More Symbols:

African Symbols
Astrology Symbols
Healing Symbols
Jewish Symbols
Love Symbols
Masonic Symbols
Norse Symbols
Sacred Symbols
Sumerian Symbols
Tarot Symbols
Colors Symbols
Heart Symbols
Math Symbols
Islamic Symbols
Persian Symbols
Talismans Symbols
Metal Symbolism
Four Elements Symbolism
God Symbols
Dragon Symbolism
Occult Symbols
Solar & Lunar Symbols
Wiccan Symbols
Gauguin Symbolism
Atheist Symbols
Bird Symbols
Water Symbols
Mythological Symbols
Kabbalah Symbols
Lotus Flower
Tibetan Symbols
Aboriginal Symbols
Thelema Symbols
Sigil Symbols

Copyright © 2018  All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in
any form or medium without express written permission of  is prohibited.