Symbol of love, peace, reconciliation.

The symbol of the dove has been around since the Early Bronze Age. The dove was associated with the goddess Inanna-Ishtar. Inanna-Ishtar was the goddess of love, sexuality, and war. The temples of Ishtar contained lead dove figurines. One temple showed a dove rising from a palm tree, which is believed to be one of the physical incarnations of Ishtar.

Later, the Greeks adopted the dove as a symbol. The Greek word for dove means “bird of Ishtar.” In Greece, doves were associated with the goddess Aphrodite, the goddess of love and beauty. The Roman goddesses Venus and Fortuna also were associated with doves. These goddesses are associated with love and luck.

Doves are also associated with Christianity. According to the Old Testament, Noah released a dove from the ark to look for land. It returned with an olive branch, which was a sign that the flood waters were receding. The dove is depicted as a symbol of love and reconciliation. In the New Testament, the Holy Spirit takes the form of a dove and appears over Jesus’ head when he is baptized. The dove is considered a symbol of peace in Christianity.

The Muslims believe that a dove whispered the word of God into Muhammad’s ear.

Doves also took the souls of the dead to heaven, according to Slavic folklore.

The dove has also been associated with peace and pacifism throughout the world. In April 1949, the World Peace Council chose the dove to serve as its symbol. The Royal Air Force uses a dove as the main image in its crest. Greenpeace has a dove with an olive branch as their symbol.


Available Sizes: 500px | 800px | 1000px | Full size (2000px)
Symbols Menu:

» Amulet

» Ajna

» Arsenic

» Merkaba

» Hung

» bindi

» Khanda

» Halo

» jiahu

» Tau

» Uraeus

» Menorah

» Tilaka

» Taijitu

» Vajra

» Chai

» Chi Rho

» Bagua

» Dragon

» Ichthus

» Hedjet

» Lauburu

» Om

» Ankh

» Chalice

» Maat

» Ogham

» Mandala

» Kartika

» Khamsa

» Heart

» Labrys

» Raven

» Scarab

» Dove

» Hanukia

» Anubis

» Durga

» Mezuzah

» Geruda

» Kinnara

» Quito

» Condor

» Falcon

» Makara

» Rosary

» Uluru

» Apsaras

» Hanuman

» Serpent

» Mercury

» Apex

» Vestra

» Yoni

» Astarte

» dakini

» Rebis

» Typhon